We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely space nearby rail way station” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Backstage Hotel Vernissage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Nara, Japan
1 review
“lovely space nearby rail way station”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

this trip-adviser winning hotel is actually deserving the big title. off course , The staff was great and really friendly. The rooms are amazing, clean and comfortable. the site of it is also good, 5 min from the railway station, in front of tennis coat, and next to lovely super market.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank えっさ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    53
    24
    5
    0
See reviews for
44
173
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We chose the hotel because it looked original, so we are not complaining. But be prepared for very original. We had the "cube" room and though I was happy to have tried it, I probably wouldn't return. One example of a downside: it gets very warm at the bed-level, while the temperature is just good at the ground level. Also the bath tub would not really fill.

On the other hand, I would have returned to their - very original too - spa experience. It's an amusing concept based on the 7-day creation. You discover one station after the other. Some you like, some less so, but it's an interesting discovery all the way. Really fun to do your with your partner. Moreover, we were almost the only ones, so we had a great time.

If you want to experience the work of the same artist in a more classic environment, pick the Focus hotel.

The location is just perfect, in the center of Zermatt. But, you have no view from the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very short walk from train station, 2 minute walk from best view of the Matterhorn. Very funky design. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, the rooms were trendy design, impecably clean, very confortable. The breakfast (you can eat inside or outside) was excellent! Get there!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CesarCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backstage2009, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Backstage Hotel Vernissage, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thanks CesarCanada! Great summary of your experience during your stay in the Backstage Hotel. :) We are glad that you enjoyed it so much. Hope to welcome you some day soon again! Sunny greetings from Zermatt, the Backstage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Am quite late posting this.....we stayed in Febuary and had a really good time. The room was awesome, although we were lucky and had a separate bathroom as I understand some are just 'pods' in the actual room. The spa was fabulous, nothing like a hot pool outside when the snow is falling. Breakfast was lovely and although the bar a little cool for us, was good for a nightcap after dinner in the town.

The hotel were also extrememly helpful when our friends left their passports, keys, kindle etc in the safe and enabled us to get a very last minute train back to Geneva to meet them.

I would definitely recommend, is in a good location and I love the decor. Thanks again for being so helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SearchingForit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backstage2009, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Backstage Hotel Vernissage, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy that we could help back in February and glad that every went well with your friends. We wish you a great summer and hope to welcome you another time in the Backstage Hotel. Sunny greetings, The Backstage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We wish if there was a category above excellent !

To start with this hotel is all about style and how to maximize the limited space to create the most wonderful, extremely modern and yet so connected to surroundings atmosphere. Having travelled around the world and seen some of the best of the lot, this hotel is undoubtedly one of the most stylish hotel I have ever seen. I should add to that style on its own is nothing until its functional and this hotels delivers on both the front. My wife being an architect herself was blown away with the amount of thought that the owner and designer Heinz Julen has put into each and every corner of this boutique hotel.

Room: We stayed at a Deluxe room facing Matterhorn and need I say, just waking up to the gorgeous view of Matterhorn was worth every single dime spend for that room. A free standing bathtub with the same Matterhorn view is a plus ;). The room was amazingly decorated and had sufficient closet space ( how often you keep your bags under your bed?). Bathroom shower was again a special mention. Heavenly bed, iPod desk , Blue ray player with music system and a gas fireplace completes the romantic setting.
Breakfast : A very good assortment of freshly baked breads, cheese, variety of cereal, eggs etc with freshly squeezed juice (DIY) and amazing coffee to start the day ? Not enough, then add the luxury of sitting outside with snow capped peaks as your view !
SPA : This to us is what just sealed the deal and make this hotel stands out. Creativity at its best and have to credit to Mr. Julen for designing this out of the world experience. 7 types of SPAs , all so different from the conventional SPA treatments we are used to see everywhere else? Personal favorite : Floating in water like Dead sea. In addition to those 7 , there is open air Jacuzzi ( again Matterhorn view) and hot seat reading room. We went almost near the season ending thus the hotel was not as full and we basically had the complete spa to yourself. Need anything more on a honeymoon ? ;)
Just in case if you are not yet sold, there is a disco, movie theater and restaurant also in the same small space.
Icing on the cake : The people. Everyone from the electric taxi porter to the hotel front desk was extremely friendly and professional. Last but not the least our interaction with Mr. Julen. Genius designer and a gentleman. He also showed us his workshop where essentially he designed and made everything that is up there in the hotel.

Only regret we have : We did not stayed there for more, 2 nights !

A must stay recommendation from our side !

Room Tip: Love birds : Ask for Matterhorn view with free standing bath tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagabond_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backstage2009, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Backstage Hotel Vernissage, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Backstage Hotel and had such a good time in Zermatt. Your kind words are very much appreciated! Best regards, The Backstage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is the third hotel during our Switzerland trip in Sept 2012....we didnt' expect it is so modern and with such nice design...we stayed in 2 Deluxe Double Room with Balcony ...both rooms are wonderful! One facing the town and one facing the mountain...both are very nice!!
Breakfast is full of selection....great location with walking distance to anywhere of the town....I will definitely choose this hotel again for my next visit to Zermatt!!

Room Tip: Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hktravelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backstage2009, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Backstage Hotel Vernissage, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! We are looking forward to pampering you the next time you are in Zermatt and stay with us! Best wishes, The Backstage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stumbled across this great place right after it had opened. I promised I would write a review and have felt bad for not doing it. The Backstage is definitely Boutique with a capital B as the owner, a famous Swiss architect, has gone all out on everything when it comes to furniture, decor and equipment. Definitely try out their different spa experience!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
backstage2009, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Backstage Hotel Vernissage, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you very much for remembering the Backstage Hotel and for your feedback. It means a lot to us. We do hope to welcome you soon again at our hotel. Sunny greetings from the mountains, the Backstage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#34 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#28 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#17 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#16 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backstage Hotel Vernissage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backstage Hotel Vernissage

Property: Backstage Hotel Vernissage
Address: Hofmattstrasse 4, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Backstage Hotel Vernissage 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Backstage Hotel Vernissage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing