We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for Everyone”

Zermatt-Matterhorn Ski Paradise
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.79*
and up
Matterhorn Glacier Paradise Entrance Ticket
Ranked #5 of 69 things to do in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ON THE PISTE, GET SET, GO! 360 KILOMETRES OF PERFECTLY PREPARED PISTES WITH GUARANTEED SNOW AWAIT YOU IN THE MATTERHORN SKI PARADISE. Enjoy the runs on endless pistes with a spectacular backdrop of mountains. At almost 4000 metres of altitude, Matterhorn ski paradise is the highest winter sports area in the Alps. Apart from guaranteed snow conditions, the region is one of the best-developed and extensive ski resorts anywhere in the world. Skiing and snowboarding 365 days a year – something this unique destination, straddling the border between Switzerland and Italy, pulls off with international flair. Come to Zermatt and enjoy Swiss hospitality coupled with Italian lifestyle. Pure skiing pleasure is just one click away: book your lift pass online today!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great ski area, check out the Klum hotel at the top of Gornergrat, avoid the 30min drag lift to Italy unless you hate cable cars!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank NorthEastScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    599
    129
    29
    14
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Marvellous Matterhorn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We returned to Zermatt in June for our 2nd. visit to this village with a little trepidation as we have always had a policy of never returning to a holiday destination.
Our fears were unfounded as Zermatt was all we remembered and more, as we were blessed with perfect weather.
If you decide to go I would suggest a package holiday staying Half Board as the food prices are high in the village, but with an excellent Breakfast and more than adequate Evening meal, plus complimentary coffee and cake in the afternoon it wasn't a problem.
Take advantage of the Swiss Card which gives 1/2 price travel, and see the area on foot and you won't need to break the bank.
There are walks in the area to suit all levels of expertise and fitness, and wherever you walk you will always have magnificent views of the Matterhorn, from the valley bottom, through the Alpine meadows to the heights above the snowline (in a cable car) I found myself constantly stopping to look at this beautiful awe inspiring mountain, and thinking about those brave, or foolhardy, depending on your point of view, people who first conquered its snow covered peak in the 19th century.
If you only visit Switzerland once in your lifetime, consider Zermatt, you will not be disappointed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Lots of Terrain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We skied at Zermatt and Cervina (the Italian side) for 4 days at the end of February, 2012. We also went to Saas Fee (next valley over) for 4 days.
Overall, all 3 places were of basic intermediate level. Very nicely groomed (maybe a few runs tended to ice up after lunch). There was not enough snow for off-piste skiing. The hardest run had some moguls but even an advanced intermediate would be fine working their way down.
The variety of lifts ("undergrounds", chairs, furniculars, trams, gondolas, trains, etc) was really fun and we made sure that we did all of them at least once. Likewise, we did all of the main runs. I am sure there are a few secret runs the maps don't show; certainly the off-piste areas would be great IF there was more snow. (Saas-Fee had an abundance of pommalifts (due to the on-glacier site). The igloo camp was fun and different too.
The part I seem to talk about most now that I have returned is that we would start in Switzerland, view of the Matterhorn looming closer as we ascended, and then ski over into Italy for the day (and certainly for lunch) and then return at the end of the day. Sort of felt like James Bond! The Italians prefer cash (of any sort) so dont depend on your credit cards for lunch. Nice menus on the slope at both sides but particularly cheaper and nice change of pace on the Italian side. Just make sure to catch the lift back up before they close (unless you want to pay for an extra hotel room ..and carry your tooth brush!)
I could easily see going to this area in the summer for hiking too. If time, money, etc were not an issue, I would watch the weather and snow reports and fly in just as a major snow dump hit. It would be incredible skiing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbTacoma_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Zermatt!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Some of the finest skiing we have ever had- many mountains, many lifts and other ways to get up to he slopes. This includes the apres part also- check out the Papperla Pub and others in the Steinmatten area.

We have been coming for 7 years missing 1 and look forward to our return in the winter (summer is also great and we are here right now). What is in winter white, is green in summer and well worth taking in- hundreds of trails and great photos await!

Check my reviews on the Hotel Daniela and Julen.

Jim Vincent

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lovely Zermatt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Wow, l loved skiing in Zermatt! What a beautiful village! But be prepared...is too expensive!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PateLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zermatt-Matterhorn Ski Paradise also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Zermatt-Matterhorn Ski Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing