We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Anniversary!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Ranked #25 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Steyning
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Special Anniversary!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We've just spent 8 days in this unique hotel in Zermatt. It is honestly one of the nicest hotels we have ever stayed in. It was our silver wedding celebration and we were joined by the "younger crew" - so had chosen Zermatt deliberately

The hotel is excellent and the team without fault. We also had one of the newly refurbished rooms and I agree totally with Meyce A - they are stunning.

The food in both restaurants is wonderful but the Chateaubriand in the Prato Borni was a special treat!

The hotel's history is also fascinating because it was built by the people of Zermatt in the 1870's themselves. It remains part of the community to this day.

The horse drawn carriage is also a great, romantic way to start and/or end

Thank you very much to everyone!

Room Tip: Try for the new rooms - be aware that the church clock tolls from 0745
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    81
    18
    15
    7
See reviews for
127
177
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The rooms immaculate, service impeccable. Everything you could want in a five star hotel. Beautiful view of the Matterhorn from the balcony. When comparing hotels with other travelers, was told repeatedly our hotel had reputation for being one of the best hotels in city. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We insisted on having the newly renovated rooms, and they were STUNNING! You should definitely try to get one of those, otherwise the hotel is super old. Service was excellent and food was delicious. The view was stunning from our room. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meyce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a magical stay! We were welcomed by the staff and asked to relax as our bags were taken up. We had lunch in the outside terrace restaurant looking on to the Matterhorn high above, and the square and church beside.

The room was spacious with king bed, nightstands; and a sitting area with love seat, two chairs and coffee table. One bathroom has a toilet and sink, the other with sink and bathtub/shower. The breakfast offers very generous selection plus cook-to-order (omelette), champagne, wonderful cheeses and meats -- all in a richly paneled dining room with views of the garden outside. Water and some minibar items were complimentary, also.

The concierge and front desk was always helpful for tours or train connections. They also have their own electric shuttle. Just use the call-board at the train station and they'll come and get you! They will also take you back, or to the Gornergrat cog-rail station as well.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for/upgrade to a balcony room with a Matterhorn view. Note: you will get afternoon s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Grand Hotel Zermatterhof says it all. We arrived on a hot July day and my elation over the lovely hotel filled with beautiful woodwork was quickly deflated by the reality that there is NO air conditioning. As someone from the deep South who is not very heat tolerant, this felt like a big obstacle for this hotel to overcome. Thankfully, in the four nights we were there (late July to early Aug) I did not have a single complaint about the lack of air conditioning. We were given an upgrade to a suite which had the most amazing view of the Matterhorn (ask for 114 or a comparable room on the upper floors). We were able to get up one morning and watch the sun rise on the Matterhorn and take a series of photos which was magical! The woodwork in the rooms was the best we have seen in our travels. Our bathroom was updated with a powerful shower, jetted tub and double vanity. The seating area had a sofa, two chairs, dining table for four and desk. If you like to sleep in, ask to be as far from the church as possible as the bells begin at 6:45 and ring every 15 minutes until well into the evening. Thankfully, you really do not notice the bells much after the first day. We booked the half board option which included breakfast and dinner. The breakfast buffet is offered in the main dining room which is extraordinary, the food was high quality and plentiful and the staff welcoming and fluent in English, French and German. We had dinner on the veranda three nights and in the main dining room one night. The outdoor restaurant has a friendly and welcoming staff and a good quality but limited menu. The main dining room is a dining experience not to be missed with five courses of beautifully presented and delicious food and an exceptional wait staff. We had the opportunity to be there on August 1st (Swiss Holiday) and there is no better place to enjoy the amazing fireworks than from the veranda of the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof. The front desk staff and concierge are extremely warm and helpful. This is a hotel experience that you will not soon forget. We look forward to returning in the very near future!

Room Tip: For amazing views of the Matterhorn, ask for room 114 or any room directly above 114. To avoid the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafael_biner, Manager at Grand Hotel Zermatterhof, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member!

We would like to thank you for your kind words and that you have taken the time to write on Tripadvisor. Positive feedback is always a great motivation for all of us in the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof. Pampering our guests is a real pleasure for us and to give a personalized service is quite easy as we are a small boutique hotel with only 80 rooms.

It was a pure pleasure to have you here with us. And we look forward to welcome and spoil you again soon.

With our best regards from the fresh mountains

Rafael Biner and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I come several times a year to Zermatterhof -in summer as well as in winter- because if you stayed there once it will pull you back over and over again. Zermatt in summer is as -if not more stunning- than it is in winter. The mountains whose natural beauty is rivalled in few other resorts, flowers in all shades of colors in fields, the perfect (unpolluted) air, the glorious hikes (or climbs), the wonderful food on and off mountain,...I could go on and on.
Zermatterhof is a throwback to a different era of gentler times while sacrificing none of the conveniences and efficiencies that are to be expected from a 5* hotel.
The complimentary welcome drink upon arrival -to be enjoyed at the Ruden Bar in the hall or outside on the terrasse of the Lusi restaurant- sets the tone for a stay where you simply have to lean back and enjoy. The warm welcome from the staff makes you feel that this is your home away from home.
I stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms that in my opinion perfectly marry old world elegance to modern times.
The floor, walls and closets are made of Swiss Pine Wood, one of the most precious and expensive woods. Its aroma reminds me of dry needles in autumn sun and Swiss Pine Wood has an undisputed health benefit of lowering your heart rate during sleep and affording deeper sleep.
Having no carpets these rooms are also great for allergy sufferers.
The color concept and the carefully chosen materials in the room are a feast for the senses. The Venetian Mirror that turns out to be a flat screen TV, the Bang Olufsen Phone, the water for the bathroom sink that shimmers blue or red depending on temperature, the state of the art shower, the wall with its intricate carvings in the main room,...this a room where no cost has been spared to engage the senses and envelope its inhabitant in luxury.
By chance when I arrived Zermatterhof had a party later that evening called "Summernights Party" and rightly so. Sitting outside of the hotel, watching the sun go down behind the Matterhorn, eating, drinking, dancing and as a perfect ending watch a fire artist who could make poetry with fire, felt indeed like a summer nights dream.
I will be back for sure very soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franzan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafael_biner, Manager at Grand Hotel Zermatterhof, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member!

We would like to thank you that you have taken the time to describe such a detailed and beautiful picture of Zermatt and of the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof. The village of Zermatt is a place right out of a fairy tale and additionally, the mountains allow very sporty vacation. Did you know that Zermatt has 38 peaks of more than 4000 m, which represent exactly half of the 4000er peaks in the Alps?

We are delighted that you always feel like at home during your stays at the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof. Happy guests are the best motivation for the entire team and being able to give you such an unforgettable experience is an even greater satisfaction.
We look forward to welcome and spoil you again soon.

With warm regards from the fresh mountains

Rafael Biner and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Friendly staff in a lovely, though old, building, with a nice spa and limited gym. Swiss food is famous for its quality so we booked half board, expecting the fine dining promised in the brochure. We brought the extra clothing requested for gentlemen to wear jackets and ties, despite the additional weight.
When entering the main restaurant on the first evening, which was full of Japanese, we were very surprised to be firmly shown out and into a restaurant attracting passers-bye from the street and with a different type of menu., without a word of explanation. At no time were we given any written explanation though we were informed, when we asked at reception, that it was out of high season and not efficient to open the fine restaurant for small numbers. The hotel did not wish to repay the difference in cost between the restaurants and our holiday was somewhat spoiled by having to eat for seven days from the same limited menu, which rightly does not claim "fine dining" because it is a different purpose and experience.
Our strong advice would be to check that the restaurant will be open before committing to half board.
The lack of air conditioning is a problem on a hot night in the summer.

Room Tip: Decide whether you mind being woken early by the church clock. The lack of air conditioning can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FelixP227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rafael_biner, Manager at Grand Hotel Zermatterhof, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

We would like to thank you that you have taken the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and at the same time, we would like to apologize for the misunderstanding. It is true that in summer, we open our fine dining restaurant two to three weeks after the hotel opening and our guests can profit from our more casual and summery Restaurant Lusi with its terrace full of flowers and a unique view to the Matterhorn. During that time, additionally to the normal Lusi menu, a daily changing menu is offered to our hotel guests.

Dear Tripadvisor member, we understand your disappointment and would like to apologize once more. Therefore, we would like to offer you and your wife a nice dinner in the Restaurant Prato Borni the next time you stay with us.

Yours sincerely

Rafael Biner and the entire Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#16 of 110 in Zermatt
474 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Zermatterhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Zermatterhof

Property: Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 55 | 3920 Zermatt, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#11 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#16 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#17 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#20 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#41 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Zermatterhof 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Today the Grand Hotel Zermatterhof welcomes illustrious guests into its five-star surroundings in exactly the same way as it has done ever since 1879. Enjoying a central but peaceful location, this traditional luxury establishment offers classic elegance and all the comforts of modernity. The hotel has 77 individually furnished rooms and suites with magnificent views of the surrounding mountains, promising both peace and space in an exclusive setting. And for the ultimate in luxury, guests can avail themselves of the hotel's wellness zone, Vita borni. Here, you can experience an atmosphere of wellbeing with a spacious pool, saunascape, treatment rooms and a private spa for couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Zermatterhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing