We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try your best to stay for a night...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat
Ranked #30 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Positioning at the highest hotel in Europe, it is amazing that we need to take the train to this restaurant. We booked the room with Matterhorn view and the mountain is so attractive and beautiful.

Atmosphere for the candle light dinner is romantic. Food quality and breakfast are at average quality.

Inside and outside of the hotel are great for you to take photos, breath for the fresh mountain air.

To conclude, it is perfect to our honeymoon.

Suggest the hotel to provide lotion to the customers as you know it is in high altitude.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 344 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Splendid!

Took a room at Matterhorn side.
It was fantastic! Lovely and Cozy. Thanks a million for effort from everyone at this hotel.

Room: Convenient, clean and very enough to stay.
Food: A bit salty or a bit too sweat at the evening but was good. Fine enough.
Service: Friendly and nice.
Cost: Great performance.

After we saw the great sight of Matterhorn, Monte Rosa etc... the hotel was a tiny part of the great moment!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juncool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A stay here is a once in a lifetime experience.

The trip begins in Zermatt when you board the cog wheel train to the hotel. The scenery on the trip up is a wonderful prelude to the experience at the top. We traveled up around 3pm and the cars were nearly empty which made catching the views from side to side easy.

The hotel is great. The rooms are very tastefully decorated and the beds are comfortable. Our top floor room looked out at the Matterhorn. What a view. The room rate includes a 4 course supper and breakfast. Both were good.

But, you go here for the scenery. Be there for the sunset and get up for the sun rise. The weather plays a role in what you will see but it's all good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drewaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

What a location, looking over at the Matterhorn! Staff is very friendly and helpful, rooms are very nice and large for european standards. It is great to be able to relax on the terrace and look at the top of the mountains in the evening and morning without mass tourists. While Zermatt is the worst (if you think Zermatt is nice you must think disneyworld in July is exotic); once you get on the cog train and into the treeline everything becomes perfect. Parking is in Tasch and you take a train into Zermatt, not the one lane road that leads into Zermatt. Trains to Zermatt run every 30 min, so easy to catch and the cog rail up to Gornegrant runs regularly during the day and hourly in the evenings. Go outside in the evening (we had clear weather the whole time) for both the sunset and Ibex coming to the salt lick. If you want to hike down from the top or to one of the lower stations, do it; we found the trails well marked and easy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bulag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The location is a one-in-a-lifetime experience. But to see the sunset on the Mont Rose and the sunrise on the Matterhorn, you need clear weather (so be lucky or make a last minute booking as we did). Also a good starting point for hiking/mountaineering, if you want the comfort of a hotel instead of a hut. From the hotel to the Stockhorn (3532 m) and back: wonderful 360° views, count 4 hours on a moderately difficult alpine trail (mountain shoes mandatory, prepare to cross some chaos of rocks and snowy parts and sometimes follow the cairns- little piles of rocks - instead of a trail, but the first part to Hohtalli can be accessed with normal hiking shoes and the trail is visible at all times).

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Val998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We (couple plus dog) just spent the weekend there. Reception service outstanding, room large however w/o fridge. Dinner ok, even if limited to two main dishes (meat or fish). Good selection of wines (we took a bottle of heida). Waiter very helpful. Breakfast ok, but could have been better. Overall the hotel lacks of amenities, no lounge, no cheminee. After all a good address.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kosmonauta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here by fluke, somehow my dad and I managed to read the Gornergrat Bahn timetable wrongly and missed the last train down to Zermatt. Luckily for us there was this hotel, a super helpful receptionist and free rooms that night we got stranded on Gornergrat.

This turned out to be the best mistake we ever made - not that we weren't booked at a nice hotel back in Zermatt, but the 3100 Kulmhotel was a lifetime experience! We were promptly given a room facing the Matterhorn, and the hotel room rate included dinner and breakfast (which was what we absolutely needed since we came up Gornergrat with nothing but our bag pack/handbag on us). It also helped that dinner was very delicious, and so was the breakfast served!

What really stood out for me at this hotel was the stunning view of the Matterhorn at my doorstep (and the surrounding mountains). I got to see the mountains at sunset and sunrise, something that nobody else can do unless you stay over night at the 3100 Kulmhotel - the first and last Gornergrat Bahn trains don't accommodate for sunrise and sunset views of the mountains!

Another thing was stood out was the excellent Swiss hospitality I cannot stop raving about - when we checked in, we were frazzled out at having missed the last train but the lady calmed us down by giving us sweets and a room with a Matterhorn-facing view. She also picked up on our need to call our hotel down in Zermatt to pick us up first thing in the morning (8.15am, first arrival in Zermatt by Gornegrat Bahn) because we really needed to rush back to pack up/check-out of our Zermatt hotel to make it onto our pre-booked Glacier Express ride at 9.15am. We mentioned in passing to the receptionist that we needed a wake-up call at 6am so we could ready ourselves for the first train back down to Zermatt, and she needed no reminding whatsoever - next morning at 6am, the phone rang. I was impressed that we didn't need to repeat our needs/wants twice during our stay here!

The room was also very beautiful (simple, but tastefully done). Wi-fi was free (and impressively good for being on a mountain top), and there were a good range of TV channels. I'd highly recommend staying here if you want the ultimate mountain view of the Matterhorn and surrounds! Best mistake we ever made getting stranded on Gornergrat indeed!

Room Tip: Get a room with a Matterhorn-facing view as best as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Mirabeau
Hotel Mirabeau
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
575 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#26 of 110 in Zermatt
217 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Riffelhaus 1853
Riffelhaus 1853
#54 of 110 in Zermatt
141 reviews
2.9 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
468 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat

Address: Gornergrat 3100m, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $300 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Hotel like a research station: The Kulmhotel Gornergrat is in the middle of a high mountain range. At 3,100 metres above sea level, life is different to life down in the valley. Outside you are surrounded by the four-thousanders. Inside, checking in is easy and convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your 3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing