We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“deliecious and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Findlerhof

Findlerhof
Ranked #3 of 197 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“deliecious and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

great terrasse to sit outside, very fine food (try the veal chop) superb wine list, rather expensive, reservation needed

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rjk_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    41
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Charming Mountain Restaurant, so worth the effort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Zermatt is the Premier League of Mountain Lunches, and Findlerhof got the Gold Medal from the Mrs. Note: while Mr. gives the prize to Fluhalp by a nose for dramatic setting, Mrs. gives it to Findlerhof for charm. The passage through the village of Findeln is adorable, but definitely grab that rope during some of the treacherous parts of the path. Food is stunning, exquisite view of The Mountain, and great sense of accomplishment getting there, and staff absolutely charming.

Reservations a must.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonLifeisGood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I don't usually follow the advice of travel / food articles, because I often think that my high expectations won't be met. Can't say enough about the Findlerhof. The view and location are amazing, the food is outstanding and the service was excellent. We stopped in while skiing and they were willing to squeeze us in for lunch. The lunch was really great and I never cared about how much we paid.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NH48K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best lunch/view/terrace in Zermatt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We loved Findlerhof! We had lunch twice on the terrace and the food was as spectacular as the view. Pasta du patron, lamb, steak tartare, sashimi, everything was delicious and just right. Also the way the terraces were on different levels, the place disn't feel crowded at all. It is a bit of a challenge to climb down but definitely worth it. Also the prices of drinks were very reasonable compaired to other much less classy places in Zermatt.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tourist22300910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“The best skilunch you can ever have”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Fidlerhof is definately worth a visit if you are in Zermatt area - remember to book in advance. Located in a picturestic "mountain village" with Matterhorn in background, your expectations are high for the food and it does not disappoint you. Friendly service, great and plentifull portions are excellent and the deserts delightfull (try the suprise desert, definately worthwile).

Helpful?
1 Thank Vennu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Findlerhof also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Findlerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing