We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated " best restaurant in the city"”
Review of Ristorante Capri

Ristorante Capri
Ranked #107 of 198 Restaurants in Zermatt
Price range: $100 - $300
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Overrated " best restaurant in the city"”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

It's not very bad. But 3 hours service :( 5 compliments and very ordinary not testy expensive food it's not what we need in ski resort.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    9
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Brive-la-Gaillarde, France
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fur coat and no knickers”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Looking for a place a little bit special we decided on this restaurant, it looked the business and although the prices were high even for Zermatt we thought it would be a gastronomic experience in the mountains. Sadly we were wrong the cooking was at best average at worst mediocre, in a four course menu we were served 2 dishes with the same tomato sauce and 2 dishes with cabbage. Main course consisted of 5 cubes of pork belly corn puree and stuffed cabbage, for dessert the looked forward to Rum baba was a disappointment in presentation and content. Whilst the service was friendly and informed my pet hate is having the conversation talked over by the waiter who can't wait a couple of seconds to announce his dish, this happened several times. I loved the atmosphere the surroundings and the location, table settings were sparkling, chairs very comfortable in all a lovely place to spend an evening with good friends but unfortunately the food is punching above it's weight and leaves you feeling slightly bemused at the rating of a Michelin star. This is way below the standard we have come to expect from the red book and with a final bill of 769 Swiss francs for 4 ( Wine total 174) it cannot be considered value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Way over priced and disappointing”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

It was supposed to be fantastic and it didn't quite make the mark and the pricing was crazy . Yes it's Switzerland, Yes it's a Michelin Star , Yes they want it to stay exclusive , but ...
The menu was of food that was avery superior level of every day food ( belly pork ) I want to go out to sample new things , especially at this price. It was well executed , but just too predicatable in its fixed menu . The prices were absurd . Such a shame for what could have been an excellent evening as the staff were so good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foffle089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield MO
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Michelin One Star”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We ate here our last night in Zermatt. The menu features southern Italian cuisine and seafood. Interestingly the menu is printed in Russian as well as English. We ate a delicious whole roast Fish. The service was friendly. Although the restaurant is expensive the wines were reasonably priced. With the sommelier's help we chose an excellent Italian Pinot noir.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruthela1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Typical high end restaurant”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The capri, situated in a five star hotel, is a typical gourmet restaurant. The food is very good, the atmosphere a bit uncosy and stuck up but not bad at all. Prices are very high. The service speaks chiefly italian and some english, german however is hardly ever spoken by the staff, which is rather weird considering that it is in the swiss mountains. The service is attentive but rather cool and on distance. Also we thaught that there were to many fancy extras but not enaugh care on the "basics". Eg the wine was served and decanted with a lot of bells and whistles and (exaggerated) formalities, but when the waiter wanted to fill our glasses he spilt the wine all over the table. Sure, that was an accident that could have happened everywhere, but the discrepancy between fancy formalities and errors in the basic things is an epitome for how we experienced the night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Schdero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Capri also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Ristorante Capri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing