We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great Lamb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Schaferstube

Restaurant Schaferstube
Ranked #5 of 195 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We had a great meal in this little restaurant it is down stairs in a hotel, our only complaint was that it was very warm & on a nice day there were no fans or open windows which could of made it more comfortable. We ordered a rack of lamb which came out in two separate serves It had a nice flavor & was cooked perfectly the owner is passionate about his lamb & it shows. If you like lamb give it a try you won't be disappointed

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frenchcutlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    141
    34
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Of lamb, of men”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you crave either lamb or sheep meat, this is terminated lamb or sheep heaven. Excellent service and preparation. Very friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank Shogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ditto on this being lamb heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We loved the dinner at this restaurant so much that we came back again the next evening for our last evening meal in Zermatt. The family that runs this restaurant also raise sheep in fields surrounding Zermatt so lamb is their specialty and did it ever show given the lamb dish that I ordered twice. Not only were the servings large but it was the most tender lamb that I have ever eaten and the wild garlic mousse that they served on top of it was fabulous as well. This was clearly the best meal that we ate during our 9 day vacation in Switzerland. Highly recommend eating here to visitors to zermatt

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lamb Heaven!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Seeing the Matterhorn welcoming us as we crossed the river was already a sign of things to come.
The moment we entered the doors, we were greeted by the friendly owners and a cosy & warm ambience.
After reading the reviews we had to try the lamb. We started off with the Lamb carpaccio ... we have tasted the good beef versions before buy this was really good too with no overpowering smell of lamb.
The rack of lamb was simply put ... THE BEST LAMB we have tasted. And we love our meat believe me. Juicy and tender and done just right ... A rosy medium rare ... We were simply in lamb heaven.
Overall a wonderful experience and although the price was a little high, I guess a slice of heaven does have its price!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkandFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

It is a great place for meat lovers. Best lamb I ever had in Zermatt. The dishes deliciously made with tasty flavor. I have been to this restaurant with my family and we all were satisfied of the food. The staff was friendly too. I would recommend it and if I will return again to Zermatt I would definitely go to this restaurant again. Don’t miss it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hamda123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Schaferstube also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant Schaferstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing