We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An astounding getaway in a getaway town”
Review of CERVO Zermatt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CERVO Zermatt
Ranked #10 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Zermatt is already a magical place disconnected from the outside world, free of motors and with crisp, clean air. CERVO just takes the experience to an even higher level. Although we do not ski, we found the ski elevator and tunnel very convenient for exploring the town on foot (watch yourself on the icy patches in winter, though!).

The rooms were beautiful, the service impeccable, and the views gorgeous, especially on a crisp, serene winter night. We would recommend this getaway to anyone, skier or not.

We traveled in January 2011, not 2012, but forgot to post the review...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 688 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

Lot of positive things have been said about the Cervo in different reviews, I can only add that this place is very close to a perfect hotel. You have a great view over Zermatt, with a ideal situation at the end of the ski slope down to the village. The rooms and the spa(s) are beautiful, modern with a "natural" look and feeling.

The hotel staff is very friendly and helps out with a late dinner, which is not something very common in Switzerland. The quality of the food in the restaurant is also at a high level.

I visited 16 hotels in Zermatt so far during my stays in this wonderful village, and this hotel gets my first choice for now. Even the famous Riffelalp Ressort, where I stayed a few times, looks a bit old-fashioned compared to the Cervo.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roblux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

For a few relaxing days, it was just perfect !
Very friendly, helpfull staff, beautiful rooms with breathtaking views, very nice SPA,
excellent breakfast, great care of details, we're impressed and looking forward to enjoy another stay.
Many thanks

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philfisgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review. My husband, son (10 years old) stayed at the Cervo for nine days towards the close of the ski season. The accommodation was fabulous (we had a suite), the food was great, and the staff were helpful and accommodating. we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charmane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stayed at the Cervo for 9 nights. The staff were most unaccomodating in assisting with ski lessons and told us to call the instructors ourselves, after assuring us on our pre-booking calls that this was a concierge service they offered to guests. Furthermore, they attempted to add a surcharge when we went asked to pay for the lessons on our final bill.

The hotel plays loud music to attract crowds to their bar area daily. This affords the guests no lounge in which to sit apres ski, as the many intoxicated visitors stumble through the restaurant and facilities.

Spa faciliaites cannot be exclusively booked and are for the usage of all guests. Nudity is encouraged, once again allowing for no privacy.

The food served and the actual rooms were good, but I certainly would not stay there again and we feel their 4-star rating should be closely reviewed based on the lack of service they deliver to their international guests.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank N H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfl79, Inhaber at CERVO Zermatt, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear N H H

Thank you very much four feedback.

I am terrible sorry about your poor experience you had at the CERVO.
I personally will make sure to learn of our faults and to improve our services.

However I would like to give you a detailed feedback on all on your comments:

Ski lessons:
Our team coordinates with pleasure ski lessons with the different ski schools.
We are depending on the flexibility of the ski school and sometimes changes of lessons are just not possible. Regarding the payment: you have always the possibility to pay with no surcharge at the ski school or in cash at the hotel. As an extra service for our guest you can also pay with credit card with a small surcharge at the hotel. In your case with have not charged you with any surcharge.

Après Ski:
Yes we do après ski. It is part of our lifestyle and concept and also mentioned on our webside.
I would say our après ski is the most sophisticated in the Alps. With different bands and DJ's with are entertaining our guests. As we have 6 chalets with rooms and one main chalet with the restaurant and après ski, the après ski is well separated from the rooms.

Spa:
Each chalet has a private spa. Therefore only 5 to 11 rooms share the spa area and privacy is guaranteed. Spa culture all over the world is different. Being a hotel with an international clientele of course there are different ways to use the spa. However we have some guide lines that should help to respect the different cultures. If you wish a 100% privacy we suggest you our spa suites with steam room and outdoor hot tub.

Star rating:
We are rated from the two official hotel associations in Switzerland with 4.5 and 5 stars.

Unfortunately we can not turn back what happened. Hopefully you can give us a 2nd chance and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and give to greatest experience ever!

Best regards

Daniel F. Lauber
Hotelier & Hunter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed at the Cervo last week in a family group of 8 (including 2 children) and had a sensational holiday. From the many pre-trip phone calls until the moment we left, the staff could not have been more welcoming or better organised. I tend to mention those who give exceptional service by name, but dare not do it here for fear I might forget someone (everyone was exceptional!)
We often found ourselves describing the Cervo as having the most generous service we have experienced - we were made to feel at home at the same time as being pampered by everyone we came across. Every request was met with a smile and a genuine desire to help make everything perfect - nothing was to much trouble for the Cervo family.
 
We thoroughly enjoyed the food at the restaurant and at the bar - cancelling various reservations we had made in favour of staying in.
 
The massages we received from Maria were fantastic - Thank you.
 
The rooms were beautiful, comfy, spacious - immaculate. While I'm able to understand some previous comments about the bathrooms, I have to say this was not an issue for us and the subject never came up (we were staying in 5 different rooms). We took up all of Chalet IV and we all had impressive Matterhorn views.
 
The hotel's location was excellent - the Sunegga lift was extremely convenient. Unfortunately, I was a complete beginner, but those who ski red slopes will delight at being able to ski right up to the ski room and bar. The lift that takes you down to the centre of town was amazing - allowing us to experience Alpine isolation at the same time as being in the thick of things.
 
I cannot wait to return to Zermatt and cann't imagine staying anywhere else! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buba2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I've stayed in a lot of hotels, and I have to say, I have rarely met a more kind, helpful staff than at the Cervo. They accommodated our every need, which was not so easy, as we were a group of 7 adults and 8 children! I had to change our reservation a dozen times, and they never seemed exasperated with me. Our group had the only children in the hotel at the time we were there, and we never got a single remark or roll of the eye when they would run, jump, or say something too loudly. Whatever we needed help with, they were ready with a suggestion and helped in any way they could - restaurant reservations, packed lunches, children's special needs, etc. The rooms were large and spotless and every one of them had a view of the Matterhorn. Every evening, the turn-down service would give us a small present. I know this seems irrelevant, but that little extra something makes you feel special. It delights. Beds and cots were amazingly comfortable too.

The ONLY thing that I found disconcerting was the panel between the bathroom and bedroom. Basically, you could see right through it. Imagine slats of a wooden blind that are kept in the open position. This was the bathroom "door". If I had been staying with my children or husband in the room, it would have been no big deal, but given the fact that I was with someone that wasn't in my immediate family, I would have preferred some privacy. That said, by day 3, we were no longer too disturbed by the peep show bathroom situation. We just gave up on modesty and laughed about it, considering ourselves truly initiated into the "european" lifestyle. I would imagine however that some might feel quite uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank summerfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#19 of 110 in Zermatt
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
479 reviews
0.8 mi away
Matterhorn Focus - Design Hotel
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CERVO Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CERVO Zermatt

Address: Riedweg 156, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#8 Family Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range: $369 - $940 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — CERVO Zermatt 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LIKE HOME: CERVO When you enter the CERVO, there’s not a revolving door in sight. No, to enter the CERVO you take the small almost private entrance – appropriate to a homely chic chalet, which has been family-owned for generations. Once inside there’s a simple table. A telephone. And a warm welcoming smile. In fact you feel much more than welcome. You feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your CERVO Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cervo Zermatt Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing