We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Friendly Staff”
Review of Hotel Phoenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed for a week at the start of March. Had a good sized, fresh, new, beautifully done room, (Deluxe), with a stunning view of the Matterhorn. Breakfast was great and the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly.It was a fairly easy walk to the funicular for quick access to the slopes and easy walk to shuttle bus to the Gondola.
WI FI is only available in the lounge. Internet access in the rooms is by cable only, but whose smart phone or tablet has a network port? It made Skype calls home more awkward but was the only negative in an otherwise wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gladescpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelphoenix, Inhaber at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your stay and your comment here on tripadvisor.
We feel very thankful and happy about the positive comment. A big thank you
to you and all other guest for all the good comments. It makes us proud and
shows us that we are on a right way.
Josef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 379 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed in a deluxe room which had a great balcony with a view of the Matterhorn. The hotel itself is very nice and new, and our room and bathroom were large and clean. The location was good, about a 10 minute walk to the main street and supermarket. Breakfast was adequate.

The reason I cannot rate this hotel higher is that there is no wi-fi in the rooms, or even in the breakfast room, which I think is sub-standard in 2014. Wi-fi is only available in the bar area which was inconvenient as a traveller when trying to plan and look up information on the internet.

There is also no mini-refrigerator in the room which was disappointing as there is an excellent supermarket in the main street and it would have been great to have been able to store some snacks and drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tamaz782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelphoenix, Inhaber at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Thank you for your visit and review. May be your right with some of your critics and I am happy to explain why we do not have in all areas wifi and fridges. Due to ecological and economical reasons we do not have fridges or minibars in the rooms. On request we can store your snacks and drinks in our fridge in the kitchen, an alternative is also the balcony. In the rooms we have cable connection for the internet and the access to the lobby for the wifi is 24h granted also without the need of having a drink from the hotel bar. The breakfast area is one of the last "resorts" where I, as owner, personally do not want to have wifi. As it should be an area where people meet, eat and communicate with each other, without staring the whole time on their smartphones and tablets. Except of these points we are very happy that you had a good stay with us and we would be happy to welcome you again. Best wishes from Zermatt. Josef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Loved this hotel again this year! Great location, quiet and off beaten path but still just moment from the heart of everything. Rooms are clean and very comfortable, the breakfasts are great, fitness center is pristine and well-equipped. Josef and his team are extremely helpful and very accommodating. The view from Room 204 cannot be beat from anywhere!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luciegirl_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelphoenix, Inhaber at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you for your visit and review. We are very happy, especially for your returning. It gives us a very positive feedback and makes the atmosphere in the house very warm. Thank you. We hope to see you soon. Best wishes. Josef

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I can't big up this hotel enough. I've stayed in rooms at every level in the last few years & they are always immaculately clean & great to chill in after a hard day on the slopes. The staff are friendly, professional but still relaxed enough to make you feel really at home & comfortable. In the evening, it's always lovely to take a drink by the fire in the bar. I feel that breakfast could be a little bit more impressive - but it works. If (by any chance) the weather is not good on the mountain but you still need a workout...there's a great gym downstairs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvercl0ud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was our first stay in Zermatt and we did quite a lot of research before choosing our accommodation. Hotel Phoenix was definitely the best option for us. It is an amazing cosy hotel, with nice and spotlessly clean rooms. I would highly recommend one of the three semicircular rooms with bay windows. Rooms 304 and 404 are with the best Matterhorn view. The hotel is just a few minutes walk to both the Sunnega Express and the city downtown. The owners of the hotel were very firendly and complied with all our requirements when arranging the booking. Hotel Phoneix offers also a Ski special, which includes 4/7 nights stay with breakfast and 3/6 days international ski passes for two persons, which was a great value for money. Overall we had a great stay there and will definitely opt for the same hotel in case we go back to Zermatt.

Room Tip: Semicircular rooms with bay windows. N304 & N404.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stiliyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I stayed in this hotel from January 21-26, 2014 for a ski holiday. The hotel is very modern: great ski room with boot warmer, large rooms, amazing gym, fast internet and a great breakfast buffet included. The hotel was also generous in paying for our transportation to and from the train station.

Although I give this hotel 5 star, if I could suggest one improvement, it would be the beds, which are too small and not up to par with the Simmons Beautyrest beds used in many North American Hotels. In any case, I've come to expect such beds when travelling in Europe. I believe that this would be a worthwhile and low cost improvement for the hotel.

I look forward to returning back to this hotel next winter and couldn't imagine a better experience for Zermatt.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melech99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had never been to Zermatt and had to rely on Internet to book our hotel for the Christmas holidays. it could not have been better. The location was superb for hiking, skiing, shopping and eating. Our room was one of the superior rooms with a wonderful view of the Matterhorn, the village and the young, eager sledders climbing up the hill beneath our beautiful windows. Our room was spacious with an entry area, had a modern bathroom with lots of closet space and a large sitting area. Moreover the breakfast was excellent and the lower level also provided a well- equipped work out room. Additionally, a ski storage was provided at the entrance so there was no lugging of ski eqipment to your room. There was also a reception area and a well-stocked bar as part of the hotel lobby.

Importantly, the Inn Keeper was available to help make dining reservations and answer questions about the area. He even left boxes of candy for ech guest from a famous Zermatt chocolatier for Christmas Eve. We are from the United States and were extremely pleased with the hospitality.

Room Tip: Defintely choose a superior or deluxe room. They are a good value witrh amazing windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjvmontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpenlodge
Alpenlodge
#14 of 110 in Zermatt
236 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#30 of 110 in Zermatt
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenix

Address: Untere Wiestistrasse 11, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: $167 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Phoenix 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing