We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hard to Fault” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Phoenix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Hard to Fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here in early September. We didn't find the walk from the station too difficult (7 or 8 minutes?) though I suppose if we had been lugging enormous suitcases a taxi would have been better. We were very pleased with our 'superior room' on the 3rd floor. We had a clear view of the Matterhorn from our balcony; we loved the generous, wall-mounted TV with lots of channels including Eurosport; ditto the room safe and the ample storage space. We would ideally have liked a bath rather than a shower, but this is mainland Europe, and the shower was an excellent one.
Breakfast was fine - the usual range of cereals and, inevitably, ham and cheese, plus yoghurts, fresh fruit and wonderful 'brotchen'. It even included both boiled and scrambled egg. All self-service, including the tea/coffee, but that's OK.
As others have pointed out, no free wifi in the rooms, only in the bar area on the ground floor. It's a minor inconvenience, and gave me an excuse to nip downstairs for a beer on the pretence of going to check my email.
The staff are an absolute delight - friendly, charming and helpful. They arranged for a (free) taxi back to the station when we left, and had been happy to store our cases for us when we checked out earlier in the day.
One final plus point. The Phoenix is just round the corner from the excellent Wallischerstube restaurant - which also does some great (very substantial) takeaways to eat in your room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanz1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    47
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
157
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights in a deluxe double. The bay window view of the Matterhorn was incredible, the walk from the train station was quite easy, and the staff were extremely gracious. The entire hotel was very new, very clean, and very modern, but not in any way that clashed with the more traditional vibe of Zermatt generally. If I had to come up with a complaint it would be that breakfast offerings were a little sparse, but that seemed to be a trend on this trip.

Room Tip: I don't see how you can beat a deluxe double - request one with a bay window view of the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank throw_stuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I had the superior room which was beautiful and had an awesome view. It was easy to find and not to far from the train station. Breakfast had a good selection. I picked this hotel because of past reviews. We were not disappointed. Staff was nice and accommodating .
Only minor negative is that wifi is only available in the lobby.

Room Tip: If you like to stand in the shower, ask for a room with a stand up shower, otherwise you will sit in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pagfmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It's not easy finding a reasonably priced (by Zermatt standards!) hotel in Zermatt. But the Phoenix offered that and we enjoyed our stay there. It was fresh and clean with comfortable rooms, beds and good sized bathrooms (we had 3 rooms booked for our family and all of them were consistently well presented and all had balconies). The staff at reception were very friendly and gave a personal warm welcome. The hotel offers free wifi in the lobby / lounge area. We enjoyed the breakfast in the bright breakfast room which had a selection of breads, cereals, cheeses, hams and eggs. It is about a 10 minute walk to the town centre and train station.

Room Tip: higher floors have better Matterhorn views as the surrounding houses do partially obstruct those on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greattravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong West, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel during my honeymoon trip.
Our room has a balcony facing Matterhorn which was a fantastic view.
Having a beer with some books while enjoying the scenary of Matterhorn was really an unique experience for me.
The hotel staff, Jessica, has a super caring attitude toward the guests and this really left us an unforgettable wonderful memory.
The hotel has a quiet environment as it is away from the downtown, which is wonderful for us.
There is also a restaurant nearby called Walliserstube Zermatt which serves very delicious food.
A hotel truely worth its value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Centrally located, 10 minute walk to train station. Super clean and functional. Quiet street. Super helpful staff and especially Jessica who helped us get reservations at various hiking huts to which we were going to trek. The staff is really helpful!
Very good breakfast (cheeses, breads, meats, eggs, etc) which are all needed to head out for a day of trekking. I felt that the bags we left behind while we were trekking were treated well and were securely stored.

Only one thing for improvement, which is to have wireless internet beyond the lobby and into all the rooms. Kind of a pain to have to go down to the lobby to use the net.

Room Tip: We had two rooms, one with a patio and one without at different times. Did not make a difference to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrekkerPhotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very nice hotel in Zermatt. Location is great - it's a bit away from the (very) crowded area of downtown Zermatt, though an easy <5 minute walk from there (easy to get to any restaurant and the train station). The hotel itself is very nice hardwood and stone. Most rooms have balconies (many of which overlook the Matterhorn), those that don't have balconies have large rounded corner windows with lots of glass. The room itself was average sized (not too cramped as others in Europe can be), and the bathrooms were quite large. It seemed fairly new. Definitely one of the nicest, if not the nicest, of the six hotels we stayed in Switzerland. The hotel breakfast was the best of any of the hotel breakfasts we had in Switzerland.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BlueScotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Parnass
Hotel Parnass
#19 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#23 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#18 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Phoenix

Property: Hotel Phoenix
Address: untere Wiestistrasse 11, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Phoenix 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing