We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Superiore” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Spycher

Restaurant Spycher
Ranked #12 of 196 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gourmet Grill Spycher: famous Dining with superb Quality, Tradition and creativity!Unique flambe and speciality grilled dishes and an exquisite wine list.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Superiore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

As every year we are spending a few days for the winter final in Zermatt and we are visiting the restaurant Spycher. This year the quality of food and service was even better as the years before. We had the entrecote double flambee from the swiss gourmet beef and we were surprised how good and tender the beef was what we were not suspected from swiss beef. We can everybody recommend the Spycher in Zermatt, because we eat there every year and we were never disapointed. The service is very friendly and the kitchen is on a very high level. I think the prices are fair what you pay and what you get. We can not compare the prices with italy or europe because Switzerland is an other league all costs the double.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria0358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    55
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent meat dishes and cosy atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We ate twice here, once from the a la carte menu and once from the set menu. The food was very good, particularly the meat which was extremely tender whether lamb, veal or venison. The food is not cheap but that seems to be true all over Zermatt and the set menu was actually not bad value at all.

The atmosphere is very cosy, authentic Swiss with a rustic feel. The service was generally good, on one occasion we were there with young children and the waiter was very attentive, cutting up their meat for them and providing colouring pencils.

The fact that we returned for a second meal probably says it all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mdke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Swiss Fondue and Flambe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was recommended to us by a front of house lady at our hotel, as one of her personal favourites. It is certainly very popular.

Very welcoming and traditional Swiss restaurant. We had a great time, but it is quite expensive CHF236 for 3 course (we shared a salad for the starter) and a half bottle of wine.

Overall, would definitely recommend it for most groups post-skiing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“outstanding.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Last nights dinner was in a word "Outstanding". We had the Lamb Flambe for 3, it was perfect. The Mixed Salad, fantastic. Our waiter Rui, suggested a red wine from the region, he nailed it. After dinner, the owner Bernard, visited with us and spent some time telling us the history of his restaurant and hotel. The food, PERFECT. The service PERFECT. Well worth it and now, a new stop on our annual ski trip to Zermatt.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great experience and very friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The staff really knew how to make you feel welcome and that made the difference. The food was very good but I wouldn't say great however the staff and owner made the difference, there attentiveness was wonderful. Would definitely go again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lazylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Spycher also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant Spycher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing