We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfort food even better than my mother's!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sparky's Bar & Restaurant

Sparky's Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 194 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $35
Cuisines: Indian, Bar, European, British, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Sparky's Bar & Restaurant. Sparky's Bar & Restaurant will be opening again for the winter season from mid November 2016. See you all soon.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfort food even better than my mother's!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Such a fantastic place; the owner's welcoming and friendly, the ambience is relaxed and the food is the best comfort food I've ever had!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lobsterspop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    78
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I just got back from eating and having a couple of brews at Sparkys. I had the sausage in a red whine mushroom sauce and it was outstanding! The service was also very good. We had some great conversations with Sparky and joked with him that he should start serving a chocolate fondue because nobody in Zermatt has it. I highly recommend Sparky's if you are looking for a great meal at a great price in a kick back atmosphere. Keep up the great work!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terrynelson23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Great place to please everyone. You can pick a salad, an indian dish (I had this and found it wonderful), a thai dish, an American one, etc.. Everyone can find happiness there. On top of this, the owner was very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“delicious food with welcoming host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Sparky's ranked the first at Zermatt ,therefore we went and had a try!
first of all, the restaurant itself didnt look that fancy, so we doubt about it.
However, the host was very welcoming and friendly. the nachos and wings were really good! it was cheaper than the other restaurants that we have eaten in.
would recommend to everyone going to Zermatt!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen80811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Informal atmosphere - tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Sparky's has a very informal atmosphere, and it's a great place either for a drink or for a meal. It has space for 20-30 people and it was almost full when I visited the place. The English owner is very welcoming and is both serving the tables and by the bar. The menu is not that big, but the homemade soup was really delicious, as was the grilled peppers. There is free wifi there and the food was served without quickly and hot, just as it should be. I would certainly come back another time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peeteecruizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sparky's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Sparky's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing