We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful at the salad bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Derby

Derby
Ranked #139 of 196 Restaurants in Zermatt
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Be careful at the salad bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Spring in the alps can be quite warm. We sat outside on the terrace. Service was great and main meal was expensive but well prepared. But I recommend you pass on the salad buffet. A lot of items sit out and get touched. Tour groups lined up I guess because salad bars are uncommon in Switzerland. I don't necessarily blame the restaurant because I had 2 more meals in between but the next day I had food poisoning. So be careful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 103JonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    45
    32
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Good location, right in the middle of the main street. The food was average, nothing special. The price compared to the food that is actually being served is way to high. The atmosphere and the waiters there appeal that the restaurant Derby is expensive and is in high-quality, however the plates of food do not say so. If the price was lower, it would have been more reasonable and receive better reviews.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jooholicade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“If you deserve it, go there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

A rather expensive restaurant, but worth every penny. Location in central in the heart of Zermatt right at the mainstreet.

Mr Payne had a walliserteller, a big beer, and pepper-steak, and he enjoyed the location and view almost as much as his food.

Medium-steak was medium, not raw like in many locations. Perfect lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrPayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Awesome atmosphere;)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

After our long travel from australia we arrived tired and very hungry in zermatt. We enjoyed our diner in derby. We ate outside and enjoyed the awesome atmosphere. We were happy with the good food and the friendly servers. We recommend this amazing restaurant to everbody! (specially to couples for a romantic dinner;))

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nunilui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Debry - Nice and Swiss”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

With so much pizza in Zermatt we were happy to find this traditional Swiss restaurant. The food was good and the service fine. I enjoyed the complete meal and my wife a salad. With a glass of wine and a tea the bill was $90.60 CHF.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crewdog13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derby also viewed

 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing