We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Firefly Hotel, Zermatt, Switzerland”
Review of Hotel Firefly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Firefly
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel, great service, great staff, has all the necessary amenities. Down to earth atmosphere; fun bar; next to bar is a room with pool table, pinball game & foozball table & sitting area. Hip scene some nights at bar. great boot/ski room. very cool pool, gym and spa also great. Room service food is delicious. well located on way to the ski lifts & funicular. Staff is always willing to help with lift tickets, restaurant reservation, salon services & transportation to & from train station, or anywhere. If you have any questions before your trip, just email them and they answer all your questions. It's a fairly new hotel, and were concerned about that. We have done a lot of traveling and stayed at fine hotels so we have a good point of comparison. But they know what they're doing. For a ski vacation, this place was ideal - we would return.

Room Tip: the room above the bar can be loud until 1:30 am, however, it's also great to pop down the stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulu c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear guests
Thank you very much for the time taken to write such a nice review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you very much for your loyalty.
We are very much looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Best wishes,
your family Kalbermatter and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 518 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hotel is very good located close to skilift.
Wonderful rooms, wonderful view, very kind and helpful staff.
Very good sauna and swimming pool.
Perfect bar with unic atmoosphere
We stayed there for one wekk in March 2013 with family. We had big room with Matterhorn view.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Elena

Thank you so much for taking your time and writing something positive for us.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the atmosphere and the style of the hotel.
Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Best regards
Family Kalbermatter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hip and stylish atmosphere, cozy rooms and amazing spa to relax after a long day of skiing. Spa has free trail mix and water, citrus scented steam rooms and a tidy, warm sauna. Staff bends over backwards to help. We had to move our trip dates three times due to work and staff was kind enough to rebook our dinner rsvps each time (for each of the 9 restaurants). If you are looking for a chic, stylish hotel that still has the cozy feel of a B&B, this is the place! This is not a budget option but best money we've spent in a long time!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lidy1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear guests

Thank you very much for the nice feedback you gave us.
We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay in our hotel. It was our pleasure to make your stay relaxing and memorable.
We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Your family Kalbermatter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed recently for a short ski break (3 days). Superb small hotel in 300 m to lifts and 5-7 minutes to the very center by foot.
The place has a unique atmosphere of being at home. All you needs are met and even over exceeded!
The rooms have kitchen area which is so great - you have everything you might need from a cup of coffee to cooking a proper dinner. The room design is so warm and natural, I really loved it.
Pool and SPA area are great too, as well as a well-equipped gym. All dinner recommendations were perfect!
Special thanks to all staff!!! You made this stay memorable. Would love to come back next year!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MakulyaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked our recommendations for dinner.
We would love to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best wishes,

your family Kalbermatter and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a short break in the summer, when the hotel is less busy than in the winter. And prices are cheaper in the summer than the ski season!

Everything is spotlessly clean, staff are friendly and helpful.

It is great to have a small kitchen area in your suite, and a fridge. Hotel staff even lent us a kettle when we asked, so we could make tea. It's great to have breakfast in your room, and there was a great choice and selection - which you make the night before. We felt really at home there. It's nice to have a balcony and we had views of the mountain as well.

The bar downstairs is the epitome of cool and a relaxed place to hang out for a few drinks. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but staff give good advice on where to go.

The spa was great as well. Fortunately, for us, no one else was ever in there when we went in - so it was an entirely private area and this made it even more relaxing. We went there every evening at around 7pm. I'm not sure we would have spent as much time in there if other people had been around. The swimming pool was a bit cold for us - it was more of a cold plunge pool! It was too cold to do much swimming in - and we were there in the summer. (Hotel Firefly, please make the temperature of the pool a bit warmer!).

Do not attempt to walk there from the station if you have luggage, as it is a bit of a trek if you're carrying stuff. We got an (electric) taxi from the station.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have nice views of the mountains, so check this when you book if it's important to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letmetakeyoudown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear guest

Thank you so much for the great review.
We are happy to hear that you had a great stay. Your kind and warm feedback shows us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay and we would like to apologize that the pool was too cold.
We hope to welcome you soon again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Family Kalbermatter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have enjoyed my stay 24 hours. There is a nice breakfast served in the room. The staff is very charming and helpful. The rooms are big and the wellness area absolutely great and most importantly not loud after a day of skiing. I will certainly visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went there during the busiest week of February, the hotel was fully booked. We had a 3 bedroom, 2 bathrooms suite with a sitting room and a fireplace, that provide the chalet atmosphere. The rooms were big and comfortable, the dining room very cozy, breakfast is served in your room every morning. The swimming pool is warm and big, made of stainless steel with the ubiquitous mood light, fantastic! The spa is nice and big. The different suite have a mood and ours was Fire. We did love the modern alpine atmosphere of the hotel, we did love the space and overall the girls at the reception . They are doing the work of a concierge in a top 5 star hotel. We appreciated that they do not have a restaurant, we were forced to brave the cold and enjoy the atmosphere of the various restaurants in Zermatt. Fantastic stay. The only draw back for us was that there was no en suite bathroom as such.

Room Tip: Try to book the suite at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmanuelleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
569 reviews
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
BELLERIVE - CHIC HIDEAWAY
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
677 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#25 of 110 in Zermatt
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firefly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firefly

Address: Schluhmattstrasse 55, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: $236 - $2,091 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Firefly 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Firefly**** is the first address in Zermatt for demanding travellers who expect luxury and lifestyle on the highest level. And as well a sign for the fact that tourism and environmental protection are not contrasts. It connects luxury, lifestyle and environmental consciousness under the same roof. With that, the Firefly sets forwad-looking impulses for a lasting tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Firefly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing