We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Firefly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Firefly
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heaven!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Hip and stylish atmosphere, cozy rooms and amazing spa to relax after a long day of skiing. Spa has free trail mix and water, citrus scented steam rooms and a tidy, warm sauna. Staff bends over backwards to help. We had to move our trip dates three times due to work and staff was kind enough to rebook our dinner rsvps each time (for each of the 9 restaurants). If you are looking for a chic, stylish hotel that still has the cozy feel of a B&B, this is the place! This is not a budget option but best money we've spent in a long time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lidy1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guests

Thank you very much for the nice feedback you gave us.
We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay in our hotel. It was our pleasure to make your stay relaxing and memorable.
We are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon.

Your family Kalbermatter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    22
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
123
134
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed recently for a short ski break (3 days). Superb small hotel in 300 m to lifts and 5-7 minutes to the very center by foot.
The place has a unique atmosphere of being at home. All you needs are met and even over exceeded!
The rooms have kitchen area which is so great - you have everything you might need from a cup of coffee to cooking a proper dinner. The room design is so warm and natural, I really loved it.
Pool and SPA area are great too, as well as a well-equipped gym. All dinner recommendations were perfect!
Special thanks to all staff!!! You made this stay memorable. Would love to come back next year!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MakulyaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us!
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you liked our recommendations for dinner.
We would love to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best wishes,

your family Kalbermatter and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a short break in the summer, when the hotel is less busy than in the winter. And prices are cheaper in the summer than the ski season!

Everything is spotlessly clean, staff are friendly and helpful.

It is great to have a small kitchen area in your suite, and a fridge. Hotel staff even lent us a kettle when we asked, so we could make tea. It's great to have breakfast in your room, and there was a great choice and selection - which you make the night before. We felt really at home there. It's nice to have a balcony and we had views of the mountain as well.

The bar downstairs is the epitome of cool and a relaxed place to hang out for a few drinks. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but staff give good advice on where to go.

The spa was great as well. Fortunately, for us, no one else was ever in there when we went in - so it was an entirely private area and this made it even more relaxing. We went there every evening at around 7pm. I'm not sure we would have spent as much time in there if other people had been around. The swimming pool was a bit cold for us - it was more of a cold plunge pool! It was too cold to do much swimming in - and we were there in the summer. (Hotel Firefly, please make the temperature of the pool a bit warmer!).

Do not attempt to walk there from the station if you have luggage, as it is a bit of a trek if you're carrying stuff. We got an (electric) taxi from the station.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have nice views of the mountains, so check this when you book if it's important to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letmetakeyoudown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you so much for the great review.
We are happy to hear that you had a great stay. Your kind and warm feedback shows us that we are on the right path to make sure that all of our guests have an unforgettable stay and we would like to apologize that the pool was too cold.
We hope to welcome you soon again in our Hotel.

Best regards
Family Kalbermatter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have enjoyed my stay 24 hours. There is a nice breakfast served in the room. The staff is very charming and helpful. The rooms are big and the wellness area absolutely great and most importantly not loud after a day of skiing. I will certainly visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went there during the busiest week of February, the hotel was fully booked. We had a 3 bedroom, 2 bathrooms suite with a sitting room and a fireplace, that provide the chalet atmosphere. The rooms were big and comfortable, the dining room very cozy, breakfast is served in your room every morning. The swimming pool is warm and big, made of stainless steel with the ubiquitous mood light, fantastic! The spa is nice and big. The different suite have a mood and ours was Fire. We did love the modern alpine atmosphere of the hotel, we did love the space and overall the girls at the reception . They are doing the work of a concierge in a top 5 star hotel. We appreciated that they do not have a restaurant, we were forced to brave the cold and enjoy the atmosphere of the various restaurants in Zermatt. Fantastic stay. The only draw back for us was that there was no en suite bathroom as such.

Room Tip: Try to book the suite at the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmanuelleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

For 30 years we have been going with the same friends, every year to Zermatt! We have been to many different hotels, same good,some bad. We have found the the Firefly hotel, 4 years ago and after the first stay, we knew we have found IT:THE HOTEL. It is really outstanding! Our forth stay is just a few days ago and again it was just perfect!
Instead of having each, our own room and get together at the hotel bar, we have a full apartment (we are 4 couples), and we can see each other in the gorgeous living room. The apartment is very nicely decorated with a very original design. The rooms are very comfortable with great bedding.
The breakfast is set in our private dinning room, at the time you choose. It is an apartment with a full hotel service, so you don't have to do a thing: it's a real rest.
The wellness center is also great: a very nice and warm swimming pool, a sauna, steam bath, fitness center, massage if you want it.
The bar is very cosy, and the cocktails are great.
The last but not the least is the staff: there are so nice and helpful. They do everything they can to make your stay unforgettable. And your stay is really unforgettable!
I hope there will be many more year of staying at the Firefly hotel with our friends.
Thank you so much!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear guests, thank you very much for the time taken to write such a nice review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and we thank you very much for your loyalty.
We are very much looking forward to welcome you again soon.
Best wishes,
your family Kalbermatter and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ratingen, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This place clearly needs a sixth star in your rating system! The owners and their wonderful staff went above and beyond to make our family vacation absolutely unforgettable!
Awesome rooms, fantastic breakfasts that lack nothing, super friendly and helpful staff, my favorite bar in Zermatt and a wellness area you do not want to leave!!
Thank you for our best ski trip ever....and we've had many around the world!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsf4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for the time taken to write such a nice review! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We would love to welcome you ones again in our hotel.

Best wishes,

your family Kalbermatter and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firefly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firefly

Property: Hotel Firefly
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 55, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Firefly 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Firefly**** is the first address in Zermatt for demanding travellers who expect luxury and lifestyle on the highest level. And as well a sign for the fact that tourism and environmental protection are not contrasts. It connects luxury, lifestyle and environmental consciousness under the same roof. With that, the Firefly sets forwad-looking impulses for a lasting tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Firefly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing