We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than a home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Firefly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Firefly
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Ratingen, Germany
2 reviews
“More than a home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This place clearly needs a sixth star in your rating system! The owners and their wonderful staff went above and beyond to make our family vacation absolutely unforgettable!
Awesome rooms, fantastic breakfasts that lack nothing, super friendly and helpful staff, my favorite bar in Zermatt and a wellness area you do not want to leave!!
Thank you for our best ski trip ever....and we've had many around the world!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsf4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for the time taken to write such a nice review! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We would love to welcome you ones again in our hotel.

Best wishes,

your family Kalbermatter and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    22
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
123
134
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stay here for 2 nights in Aug with my family of four plus another couple. We had a wonderful 3 bedroom suite. The Firefly is both modern, high design and warm! The 3 bedroom suite provided plenty of room for everyone. Everything was spotlessly clean. There were bathrobes for everyone (my kids love hotel robes!).

The in-room breakfast was really wonderful. We used the order form to order the night before and since we were traveling with a Swiss couple, they requested local items that were not on the menu. All of our requests were provided. Food was yummy and the service was great.

The spa was also very nice and you must check our the aluminum pool!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SantaMonicaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed two nights in the Hotel Firefly in Zermatt. Our suite was just fantastic. Very nice designed with old wood and modern elements. They have a very modern gym for workout and a nice spa to relax. The staff is helpfull and they organize you all your wishes. They recommended us the best insider restaurants in Zermatt. Just ask them. We will be back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jonas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel Firefly is so lovely and cosy, you don't want leave it!
We spent there almost a week and everyday was a delight.
The location is perfect: about 3-4 minutes of walking to the Matterhorn Express cablecar and about 7-10 minutes to city centre, and still you will hear the morning sounds of the church :)

The rooms are spacious and design is fabulous - very modern, but still you have a sense of living in a real swiss chalet. And you even can see the Matterhorn from one of the windows.
There's no lack in towels, bathrobes or amenities, housekeeping service is very good.
The fireplace makes suites even more comfortable.
They also give a rucksack for use while you stay at the hotel, which came in very handy to us.

We really enjoyed the in-room breakfast - pastry, yoghurt and home-made jam were delicious!
The staff and the hostess are so friendly, sweet and charming, always eager to help you! But, most of all, we liked the cat of the house :)

I'd rate the hotel with 4 and a big plus stars!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene-renidens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerna, Luzern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Together with a couple of friends we arrived in Zermatt and had a most heartly welcome at the hotel firefly! The suites are tastefully furnished and with a view to remember. Relaxing hours in the very nice spa and wellness area, a homemade dinner in the suite and a couple of drinks in the cosy hotel bar made it overall just a perfect weekend. The rich breakfast brought to the room was the creme of the top! Not to speak of the hikes in the nature around the famous and impressing Matterhorn or 'Horu'... Many thanks to the Family Kalbermatter, you're doing just a great job!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Marc

Thank you for the nice feedback on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear, that you had a nice stay in our hotel Firefly and that you enjoyed the time here. It is a pleasure for us to know that we will stay in such a good memory.

We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Your Kalbermatter family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here in August 2012 and had a great experience. Zermatt is gorgeous and has so much to offer. The hotel is modernly decorated and the beds are like heaven. I loved that they delivered breakfast to your room every morning- what a great feature! The staff were very helpful amd gave great dinner recommendations. The train station pickup was so easy and the champagne upon checkin was a perfect way to start the weekend. But the most amazing thing about this hotel was the spa. We were the only ones in there every time we went and it was incredible. The pool is great, and the steam rooms and sauna were so relaxing. We hope to go back one day!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cls2486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear guests,
thank you very much for the time taken to write such a nice review.

We are very pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we hope to welcome you soon. Again of course with a nice glas of champagne...

Best wishes,
Your family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at the Firefly in Zermatt in the second weekend of July and it was a real treat!
The suites are very uniquely designed, with different themes, I asked for the theme "water" because my husband loves the blue color, and we got what we asked for, the suite was as great as the pictures on their website, and the view of Zermatt was even more beautiful than what we thought.

The hotel is strategically located in the heart of Zermatt, very close to the cable cars stop, and to many wonderful restaurants and shops.

The Nespresso machine in the room, and the complementary fruit basket as well as the wide range of DVDs available for guests were a really nice addition... we could go hiking in the morning and then come back and relax in our big bed watching a film that we selected from their DVD selection on this huge LCD screen!

And one last thing, the hotel does not have a restaurant, but do not let that discourage you because when I asked for an in-room dinner to be arranged the super friendly staff offered to arrange for a delivery of whatever we choose directly to our suite! we ended up enjoying the Matterhorn view and dining out, but the staff reaction made us feel that they are ready to make anything to make sure that their guests are satisfied.

The breakfast is served to your suite based on the selection you make the night before, very fresh and amazingly tasty.

It is definitely a great hotel and we will be coming back :)

Room Tip: Suites are themed with quite strong designs, so make sure to check the different designs on the webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FireflyZermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Firefly, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Christa

Thank you very much for the time taken to write such a nice review.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and we would love to welcome you again sometime soon.

Best wishes,
your family Kalbermatter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.2 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
#5 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#6 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Schlosshotel
Schlosshotel
#11 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firefly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firefly

Property: Hotel Firefly
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 55, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Firefly 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Firefly**** is the first address in Zermatt for demanding travellers who expect luxury and lifestyle on the highest level. And as well a sign for the fact that tourism and environmental protection are not contrasts. It connects luxury, lifestyle and environmental consciousness under the same roof. With that, the Firefly sets forwad-looking impulses for a lasting tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Firefly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing