We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in Zermatt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dufour Alpin Zermatt
Ranked #46 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

What a great hotel! The balcony rooms with a Matterhorn view are spectacular. The furnishings are comfortable and the hotel is very clean. Breakfast was great and the reception staff were very helpful. They will pick you and your luggage up at the train station and get you comfortably settled into your room. Outstanding!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 124 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel Dufour is a nice place to stay when visiting Zermatt. As stated in other reviews the service is first rate, one gets the feeling nothing is too much for the staff. The selection at breakfast is good. The location is good only a short walk from the town and the views of the Matterhorn fantastic.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the Matterhorn is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This quaint hotel was perfect for our weekend stay. Clean rooms with a balcony looking directly at the Matterhorn. Friendly service and adequate breakfast. Within walking distance to shopping area and train station although hotel will pick you up from train station upon request before 10pm.
The owner is helpful in recommending a walking tour according to your interest. We did what he suggested, went up to Gornergrat and walked down to the Riffelsee where you can take wonderful pictures of the Matterhorn. Continue down to Riffelberg where you can get a bite to eat and then take the train back down to Zermatt. Breathtaking views of the mountains, would recommend sturdy shoes with vibram soles to go down trails.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamCu7677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is situated OK in town - there is quiet and calm. 10 min. walk from the railway station. You can choose room with views of the Matterhorn. From breakfast restaurant are also view of the Mastterhorn. Everything seems nice and clean. The room and beds are good. Breakfast is with fine selection. Total price reasonable in relation to Zermatt. Can definitely recommend.

Room Tip: You can choose room with views of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poultrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at the Dufour for 3 nights the week-end before Easter and had a lovely time. We chose the hotel on the basis of the good reviews and the price of the basic room, knowing that Zermatt is a very expensive place. When we arrived at the railway station, we phoned the hotel from the free booking phone (right in front of you once you cleared the train platform) and were picked up in less than 10 minutes.

We were warmly welcomed by the owner, and all the staff makes you feel at home. The hotel is composed of two connected typical chalets.

The room was huge, compared to what we were expecting, and with a nice and clean bathroom. The flat screen TV had a nice selection of channels in German, English, Italian, French. The room was always warm.

The breakfast room is lovely and the buffet was excellent: soft boiled eggs, a good selection of local cheeses and cold cuts, local breads and toasts, butter, several jams, yoghurts, fresh fruit salad and fresh fruit, cold water, juices, cereals, dry fruit and grains. All deliciously fresh and the buffet was constantly refurbished with anything that was about to miss. The only item not included in the buffet was cakes.

In the afternoon, a free tea and cookies service is set up in the bar. We really enjoyed it as an after-ski treat. If you are lucky to be there on Monday evening, you will also enjoy the "meet the owners' cocktail". Don't miss the old family photos in the bar!

The hotel is situated at the end of the main shopping and restaurants street, about 3 blocks away from the Church. The shuttle stop that takes you to the three main ski departure stations is one block before the Church, but you have to go down a steep stairway. If you have children, you might prefer to order a taxi directly from the hotel. I believe it costs about 15 francs.

The hotel also has an agreement with a nearby hotel (about 2 blocks away), and you can use their pool and spa. It is a lovely pool, and it is very handy if the weather is bad or if you don't want to ski. So don't forget your bathing suit.

In conclusion: a lovely small hotel with excellent value for your money. I would certainly return there and will recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room number 6 is very large, although it does not have a view on the Matterhorn. Rooms with view on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piper0031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very welcoming and helpful staff, lovely breakfast area with great Matterhorn views. I enjoyed the array of local and tasty breakfast breads, yoghurts, cereals and more but some may miss a cooked breakfast option. Comfortable, clean rooms with everything you need - good bath/shower with ample hot water, extensive TV channel selection, good size balcony with good views. Tea/coffee & biscuits in the afternoon is a nice touch after a good day's skiing and the neighbouring spa which guests have access to is a real treat.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vaughansl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have been to the Hotel Dufour for the past 6 years during the Christmas season. You are greeted by the most friendly staff- Andreas, Cornielia and Sereina who will ensure your stay is memorable.
The hotel is located in the Steinmatte area of Zermatt close to bus pick up, attractions, pubs, restaurants and of course- the perfect view of the Matterhorn!
The rooms are spacious and are well appointed- all with balconies facing the Matterhorn. The restaurant is for a bountiful combination of fresh breads, croissants, yogurts, compots, eggs, sliced meats and cheese all served with coffee, capaccino or tea.
You will love the venue and also if you are interested, they have an agreement with the Hotel Beau Site for use of their swimming and spa facilities and also offer a half board possibility which is well worth it!
See my review on Hotel Beau Site for more info

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Wellness
Hotel Eden Wellness
#17 of 111 in Zermatt
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#4 of 111 in Zermatt
416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Capricorn
Hotel Capricorn
#40 of 111 in Zermatt
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#34 of 111 in Zermatt
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#45 of 111 in Zermatt
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Hotel Beau-Rivage
#75 of 111 in Zermatt
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dufour Alpin Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dufour Alpin Zermatt

Address: Riedstrasse 35, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: $162 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dufour Alpin Zermatt 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dufour, a typical Valais hotel with its own unmistakable character. Privately run hotel with friendly family atmosphere and a warm welcome. The hotel stands out for its sunny, quiet and yet central location. Chill out in our lovely garden with sunbathing area. Relax in the wellness centre and large pool at the ****Parkhotel Beau-Site. (Free admission for Dufour guests). The hotel has 15 comfortable standard double rooms furnished in chalet style, including 3 large guestrooms for up to 4 people. All rooms come with bath or shower, WC, hairdryer, cable TV with info channel and radio programmes, self-dial telephone and minibar. Most rooms have balconies and views of the Matterhorn. Our varied breakfast buffet will set you up for an exciting day in Zermatt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Dufour Alpin Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing