We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super room with great view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Le Mazot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Mazot
Ranked #93 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Atlanta
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Super room with great view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We spent two nights in a room with a great view of the Matterhorn. At night we left the window open at the top and were lulled to sleep by the sound of the river running just outside. The climb up the stairs is steep and difficult if you have large bags or are older.

The restaurant was very good with meats grilled over a wood fire.

The WIFI worked very well.

We were happy here and would return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
24
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed two nights at this little hotel in Zermatt and was very pleased. The Swiss couple that runs the place are very friendly, and speak several languages. The hotel is about a five minute walk from the train station (some places in town you'll be walking quite a ways and uphill.)

I'm a solo budget traveler, so I opted for an inexpensive single room with a basin in room, with the WC/shower in the hall (but it's only shared with one other room). All the other rooms have balconies I believe.

The breakfast was typical European continental with bread/rolls, cheese, ham/salami, butter, jam, yogurt, muesli/cereals, coffee (or order Milchkaffee, and you'll get a little can of coffee and a can of hot milk), juice.

This place also serves dinner, and the menu looked really good. I had to picnic my whole trip in Switzerland since I'm on a budget, but the food they were offering looked pretty great, and was priced similarly or less than what other places offer.

Hotel Le Mazot is definitely worth it and gets an "A" rating.

There's no luggage storage here, except in the Ski room which isn't locked. You can risk it (probably without any problems) or you can take your stuff to the train station, go down the stairs, and use the lockers. A large locker (big enough for two large Rucksacks) costs 10 CHF for 24 hours.

Room Tip: Solo travelers can save by staying in a single room with a shared WC/shower. You won't spend mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceejinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somewhere In Wa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Antoinette (one half of the team that runs this charming hostelry) gave us a warm greeting at the door and took care of the paper-work in double-quick time. We were delighted with our room. Every inch or square centimetre was put to efficient use. Windows from both the bed and bath-rooms had stunning views of the Matterhorn. Our decision to eat in the hotel's restaurant turned out to be a wise choice. Not only was the dining-room lovely, with charming Austrian-made furniture, but the food was outstandingly good. Roger, the chef, is the other half of the dedicated duo that imbues this hotel with elan and energy. Sadly, we spent only one night at Le Mazot prior to embarking on the Glacier Express next morning. We shall seek other opportunities to return and experience more of Zermatt's many charms, and will definitely stay at Le Mazot again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Therese R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights in September, 2012 and couldn't have been more pleased with our room.
First of all, it was an easy walk from the train station and lifts, but a couple blocks from the noise of the main street. Our room had a huge private balcony with a view of the Matterhorn where we enjoyed a glass of wine and snacks in the afternoon. (Note to owners: a small table and a couple of lounge chairs would have made it even better!) The old town was to the right, the Matterhorn straight ahead, and the river to the left.
The hotel only offers a few rooms with a keyed private entrance off the street and a restaurant on the ground floor. We didn't eat there, but enjoyed a great pizza and salad at the restaurant Vieux Valais right across the street.
Our room was clean and comfortable and well maintained. The included breakfast was served downstairs in a cheery room--typical buffet fare.
We were there for the hiking and enjoyed a different route each of the four days. It had snowed the night before we arrived so some of the trails were covered in snow, but well marked by signs. It felt less touristy than Grindelwald (our next stop) and lots of mountaineering/trekking types all around.
This was my fifth trip to Switzerland, but my first time in Zermatt and I had read that it was difficult to get to and a "one mountain town". We found it easy to reach by train and we were blessed by great Fall weather. Sometimes the Matterhorn would be in the clouds, but they always parted for long views of what is really a unique, majestic mountain. I think the Jungfrau area is gorgeous and offers more diversity of hiking options, but it also is more touristy. Zermatt has a "sporty" energy and I'm glad I didn't listen to the naysayers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hartomine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just perfect for 2 Aussie 60 year old budget conscious backpackers touring Switzerland. Away from the hustle and bustle of the bigger resorts.
Beautiful view of the Matterhorn from our cute little room (with en suite)
We dined just across the road in a wonderful garden restaurant where we received VIP attention.
The sound of the river was absolutely wonderful....lay in bed watching the Matterhorn and the night full of stars, before falling into a deep slumber.
Breakfast next morning was to die for - absolutely nutritious and delicious.
Clean and every thing you need. Highly recommend this perfect little piece of paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here one night and enjoyed it. Small rooms, although it was enough for me. The staff was very helpful when I interacted with them. The breakfast was good. Everything was very clean here. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jszafraniec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Great little hotel, cosy, perfect location, good value, good service, friendly staff and nice breakfast.. I had a lovely time here but I'm a light sleeper & my room was right next to the river which sounded like Niagara falls with the window open so didn't sleep too well of a night. If I stay here again I'll opt for a room on the other side of the hotel ;)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareyMcbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Parnass
Hotel Parnass
#22 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Hotel Garni
City Hotel Garni
#100 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#67 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#37 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Perren
Hotel Perren
#44 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#68 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Mazot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Mazot

Property: Hotel Le Mazot
Address: Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Mazot 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Le Mazot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing