We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Restaurant Schwarzsee
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Astoria(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Petit CHARME-INN(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$145
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$273
$255
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Hotel Butterfly(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$197
$191
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alpenblick(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$178
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemis Garni(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
$260
$249
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$315
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
135
29
4
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
29
4
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable cartwo nightsgreat viewmatterhorngondolaliftskiersswitzerlandcheesesnow
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 175 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Schwarzsee with my family and it was brilliant. You take the gondola up from Zermatt and are immediately surrounded by incredible mountains and walks. The gondola closes down quite early in the afternoon so being able to stay up there through the long summer evenings is amazing. I highly recommend staying at this hotel. There are also not many places (in Europe) you can get rooms and two meals included at this price. The staff is also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The view over Matterhorn and the Alps is fantastic from the terrace. The food is fare and good for the location altitude (2583m). You can eat 3-course menu or just take a replenish food before continuing for hiking/alpinism path choosing a traditional German-Switzerland course or an international one. If you don’t want to eat, you can enjoy a drink while relaxing with a view over the Alps. There is even a band that sings during some days (weekends especially) and they are able to make a good atmosphere. Even in summer they provide some blankets for the “frizzing” ones.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sergiu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Myself and 2 friends were hiking up to the base of the Matterhorn this summer and got a late start; luckily enough for us, the Hotel Schwarzsee had a room for us as we arrived quite late. Within a few minutes of getting settled in, Tanja and Dave brought out soup, fantastic fish, and beers to enjoy the view. I guess this place used to be self-service, but now the food was certainly first class - and well appreciated! Over beers, we enjoyed sunset views of the matterhorn and the valley and great conversation.

Woke up to sunrise on the Matterhorn out our window - life couldn't be better! Came as strangers, left as friends, and we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Zermatt. See you both next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The Schwarzsee skiing area and it's view on the Matterhorn is great but I always found it hard to find a good lunch/ drink stop on the mountain.
Of course the Schwarzsee hotel restaurant has been there for ages and I did visit it once or twice.
It used to be a cold boring self service place with people looking even more bored than in Luxembourg my current hometown :-)
But this has changed big time!
After finding out that last year that the place was taken over by Dave & Tanja, an Irish/Dutch couple the place changed 180 % !
And coming back now in Feb & March I really noticed a sharp rise in quality of food and overall professionalism!
All of the staff is very friendly and apart from that you can listen every day to live music brought to you by a band with 4 or 5 nationalities who play anything you like!
I can not rate the hotel yet, maybe this summer!
To sum up you should really stop at this place. More than one :-)
Jeeehaaaaa, Dutch Sandy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We have lunched here many times and I have to say the whole place is amazing....The food is first class the staff really lokk after you and wil go out of there way to help..and the best bit is the band Murphy Brothers with Dave, Fran ,Matt and Wayne when they play together the whole place is rocking... you guys have got this just right...well done Dave and Tanja we will be back...

If your looking for good food, great music and a magical view of the matterhorn then this is the place for you and children are well catered for...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norfolkhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews