We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“You will not forget the birdcage!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Chez Heini

Restaurant Chez Heini
Ranked #11 of 196 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $90
Cuisines: Swiss, Barbecue, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You will not forget the birdcage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great food, friendly people, atmosphere and owner. What more can you ask for? Located outside of the central village core but easy to get to by bus or foot.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    41
    25
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“VIP Table - almost on the fire!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

A ridiculous restaurant fit for Euro Trash!

Looks great and boasted about by the locals for its crazy atmosphere. After booking a week in advance, via our concierge, we were greeted on arrival by a tall disorientated chap, who was confused by our suggestion that we had booked a table. We informed him of the booking name, but he insisted on informing us that our names were probably incorrect, and started to furnish us with new names! Finally we were wafted to a table one meter from an open fire where the food was being cooked. Oddly enough my wife suggested that sitting next to a ragging fire, spitting fat was not her first choice for an evening meal. We requested to be moved to another table, but the confused and disoriented chap believed that our night could be resurrected by locating the table next to the bar and service walk way - enough to say we left!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CassSwallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quite an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

A group of 11 dined at Chez Heini March 6, 2013. The food was outstanding, decor and after dinner show eclectic but very special. Well worth the price. Reservations are a must.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A special and fun night out with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Best lamb ever in a fun atmosphere with great service, and a show by the owner/chef at the end. Was a very nice and special night out. Thank you Dan and staff!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 49roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expensive but great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a lovely dinner last Saturday, one of the best lamb in town, a must try plum desert! If you are not a meat lover try sole, also great!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MakulyaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chez Heini also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant Chez Heini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing