We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will not forget the birdcage!”

Restaurant Chez Heini
Ranked #19 of 198 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $95
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You will not forget the birdcage!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great food, friendly people, atmosphere and owner. What more can you ask for? Located outside of the central village core but easy to get to by bus or foot.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    48
    30
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“VIP Table - almost on the fire!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

A ridiculous restaurant fit for Euro Trash!

Looks great and boasted about by the locals for its crazy atmosphere. After booking a week in advance, via our concierge, we were greeted on arrival by a tall disorientated chap, who was confused by our suggestion that we had booked a table. We informed him of the booking name, but he insisted on informing us that our names were probably incorrect, and started to furnish us with new names! Finally we were wafted to a table one meter from an open fire where the food was being cooked. Oddly enough my wife suggested that sitting next to a ragging fire, spitting fat was not her first choice for an evening meal. We requested to be moved to another table, but the confused and disoriented chap believed that our night could be resurrected by locating the table next to the bar and service walk way - enough to say we left!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank C_A_S_S_of_LONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quite an experience”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

A group of 11 dined at Chez Heini March 6, 2013. The food was outstanding, decor and after dinner show eclectic but very special. Well worth the price. Reservations are a must.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A special and fun night out with great food”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Best lamb ever in a fun atmosphere with great service, and a show by the owner/chef at the end. Was a very nice and special night out. Thank you Dan and staff!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 49roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Expensive but great!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had a lovely dinner last Saturday, one of the best lamb in town, a must try plum desert! If you are not a meat lover try sole, also great!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MakulyaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chez Heini also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant Chez Heini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing