We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay at the Jaegerhof”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
Ranked #20 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was in the hotel Jaegerhof for 2 weeks. I am a ski racer from the Belgian team and the hotel was very accommodating with the ski room and a tuning table. I was staying in one of the annex buildings and the bedrooms were great, very spacious, comfortable beds, and very clean. The food is delicious, serving us some local specialities and the traditional decor is lovely. The waiters and the staff of the hotel are very welcoming, friendly and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bubblesinmywime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 259 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

The staff at the JAEGERHOF could not have been more helpful and welcoming when my family arrived in Zermatt having crossed the Alps from Italy. The rooms were comfortable and well equipped - we had a wonderful Matterhorn view from a flowery balcony - and a large bathroom with a generous bath. Breakfast was efficient and plentiful and the bar area was a very good meeting place. Easy walk from the main street but much quieter. Fully recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have Matterhorn views. Rooms for visitors with dogs available.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nonicknamesleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were more than happy with our choice of hotel. We found it charming and very comfortable, the room was immaculate and always very clean. The staff and service was of a very high standard, nothing was to much trouble, always with a smile and understanding. The food in a typical swiss environment was well presented, giving a varied home cooked menu. We will without doubt recommend this hotel. Thank-you Hotel Jaegerhof for helping to give us a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: Balcony with southern view of the Matterhorn
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThosColne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were a group of 7 people and checked in at one of the appartments at the Jägerhof. The appartments were just great. Enough space, modern, three bedrooms, three bathrooms (two of them connecting to bedrooms), kitchen, huge balcony with a fantastic view to the matterhorn, three TV. Fantastic!

The dining room is very dark. It is a wooden room with a lot of decoration. For eating very nice, to read something there is not enough light. The breakfast was nice, not too big, but with everything I need. We did not had a dinner.

The hotel is a 15-minutes-walk away from the railway station in a very quiet area. The main street with all the shops are about five minutes away.

Room Tip: We had appartment Nr. 1. But I think all appartments for 6 people are the same
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roosli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Last March I spend five days to Zermatt for skiing, the hotel was far away from the ski lifts about fifteen minutes walking distance to the nearest, so a bus use was an alternative.
The breakfast was well prepared and with great number of marmelade choices.
My room for a solo person was extremely small but with a nice view to the village.
I believe that the administration must arrange for a hotel transportation to the ski stations at least early in the morning.
In general especially the Breakfast area was cosy and country style.

Room Tip: Try to ask room with view to Matterhorn
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miltiadis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had no choice of hotel on a Crystal Tour holiday where Zermatt was the second leg of the tour.and as a result we were sent to the Jagerhof and what a shock that was. My first impression was that I had seen better student accommodation, as the hotel was dark, dingy and in need of a total refurbishment. The bedroom was very basic and had poor furnishings, thin towels and two small single beds.

We contacted the Crystal/Thomson rep asking to be moved and we were informed that there would be a cancellation and re booking fee and despite the fact that this was a very expensive holiday we were prepared to move. We were booked for half board so we had dinner that evening which was very poor and a very basic breakfast the next morning and then as we complained so much the hotel offered to move us to one of their self catering apartments and what a pleasant surprise that was.

The apartment was modern with a lovely bathroom and kitchen so we made our own breakfasts and ate out in other hotels in the evenings. I have made a formal complaint to Crystal/Thomson as it is obvious that we were put in the cheapest hotel, despite paying a large amount for this holiday and I will not be using them again to book any future holidays.

I would not recommend the Jagerhof hotel to anyone but I would highly recommend the self catering apartments.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary_mccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of tour in the apartments. Very modern and spacious! Couldn't fault the apartment. The bar and restaurant is (I think) reflection on the old hunting lodge days. Whether it was one or not, I can't confirm. Breakfast was lovely, but unfortunately I can't say the same for dinner. The food at dinner was nothing special, and I felt I ate better as a student. Otherwise, lovely staff who let me practise my fading German!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kylie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
450 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#5 of 111 in Zermatt
405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Butterfly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western PLUS Alpen Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
974 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#8 of 111 in Zermatt
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements

Address: Steinmattstrasse 85, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: $132 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy, rustic hotel with spacious, modern apartments in a quiet but central area of Zermatt. A free pick up service from Zermatt station is available. Walking distance: 10-12 minutes. Only 8 to 12 walking minutes away from Matterhorn Express, Sunnegga-Rothorn- and Gornergratbahn. The next bus stop is 3 minutes away. Lots of bars, restaurants and shops in a few minutes reachable. Free WiFi in the entire hotel! Many rooms and apartments with view of the Matterhorn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jaegerhof Hotel & Apartements reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing