We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Matterhornblick
Ranked #79 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Reviewed September 10, 2010

stayed in sep. for 4 nights
the hotel is situated in the center of zermatt , near the main church.
rooms are clean, modern and spacious.
we had a balcony with a beautiful scenery of the town.
breakfest was continental which was more then satisfactory
the staff was helpful in planing our hiking trips and couertious to all requests.
could not ask for more

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zeevIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Matterhornblick
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 82 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2010

This hotel is good value for money and situated in the middle of the village only a short distrance to a supermarket, main street and plenty of restaurants. You can enter the hotel from the ski locker direct to your room. Our room was a nice size and TV has channels in many languages including 5 english channels. There is a sauna, steam, jacuzzi which is nice after skiing. Breakfast is continental served downstairs. There is no restaurant, but there is cool African restaurant in the building which serves spicy fusion and good value. Plenty of other restaurants within 150m of the hotel. Overall good value, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sleepy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

An excellent hotel in the heart of Zermatt run by a very friendly anglophone couple, Kerstin & Bernhard Julen. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the village church. Rooms on the opposite side of the building had spectacular views over the Matterhorn. Breakfasts consisted of bread (including croissants), local harms and cheeses, cereals, fruit and the usual array of drinks. The hotel appeared to be better value for money than some of the nearby hotels that we visited (including the Antika).

The hotel is around 10 minutes walk from the train station although when laden with luggage, it is much easier to use the hotel's taxi service at a cost of 6F (as opposed to the 17F charged by ordinary taxis).

The best restaurant in the vicinity of the hotel that we found was the Stockhorn, which specialises in local meats and cheeses (esp. raclette).

We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bamtam2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We stayed here for five nights whilst doing some summer hiking in the area and loved the hotel. The family who own it were really friendly and helpful. They have lots of information in the lobby about the local area and were always happy to answer questions. The breakfast was really good and filled us up until the afternoon.I would highly recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank faith2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2008

Central, clean, modern, quiet, great breakfast, excellent value. What more do you want?

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank petrusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bernard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016
Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Hotel Beau-Rivage
#73 of 111 in Zermatt
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#88 of 111 in Zermatt
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#66 of 111 in Zermatt
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#45 of 111 in Zermatt
246 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Artemis Garni
Hotel Artemis Garni
#95 of 111 in Zermatt
20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#74 of 111 in Zermatt
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matterhornblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhornblick

Address: Kirchstrasse 38, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range: $180 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matterhornblick 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in a central, but quiet area of Zermatt. The base lift stations are and easy 10-12 minute walk from the hotel. The Ski Bus also stops directly at the hotel and will bring you to the various ski lifts in the morning, and back to the hotel afterwards. The start of the Bahnhofstrasse (main street), where you can meet, shop, go out and party, or just window shop, is only about 100 meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Matterhornblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing