We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Beautiful Zermatt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Matterhornblick
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Beautiful Zermatt”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hotel Matterhornblick is a very nice hotel located in central Zermatt, very close to the downtown restaurants/bars and ski lifts. The rooms are very clean and the staff are friendly - always willing to help you in any way they can. The breakfast is also very good. I highly recommend a stay at the Matterhornblick when you are in Zermatt.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked this hotel at the very last minute - 3 days in advance in fact - and paid CHF 260.00 for our one night stay; this price included breakfast too. This was for a double room with an en-suite bathroom and balcony (beautiful view from our balcony of the Matterhorn). We stayed in room 201 and can therefore only comment on this room. The only small criticism we have is that the mattresses are average (not bad / not great). To be fair / balanced with our review, we did not raise this small issue to Hotel Management as we were only staying for one night and did not want to make a big deal out of this matter.

CHF 260.00 was good value for money as access to the Spa was included also (even tho we did not make use of the facilities). This did not include taxi transportation to/from the train station (CHF 17.00 for 2 people with luggage per trip).

Safe and secure facilities for skis, poles and boots & boot warmers are available to all guests.

Breakfast was a good; a broad selection of hot and cold food choices. Excellent service from the waitress too !

Even tho we only stayed for two days we found all members of staff to be very polite and helpful.

The hotel itself is very well located. Close to the train station (5/10 mins), the slopes (which are accessible on foot or by the free buses which run frequently), and the centre of town for the vast array of bars and restaurants.

Some of our top tips with regards to places to eat / drink are:

1. Papperla Pub, for Apres-Ski drinks. Excellent atmosphere and super live music...great fun to hang out as a couple or with a group of friends.
2. Lounge Bar, 1st Floor of the Hotel Post for pre dinner drinks or after dinner drinks (great area to chill / relax)
3. Stockhorn Grill, amazing Chateaubriand and super wine list (including gorgeous wine from Valais). Book in advance !
4. Elsie's Bar, for an after-dinner cheeky Irish Coffee
5. Broken Post Hotel, for a little bit of late night dancing

All of the above places are less than a 3/5 minute walk from the Hotel.

In summary, we would recommend this hotel to our friends and family at the price we paid. Zermatt is an all round fantastic ski resort.

TIP: if you are travelling with heavy bags/skis/luggage definitely pay CHF 17.00 for a taxi from the station to the hotel as the snow can be slippery to walk on and the journey can feel much longer than it actually is on foot !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KT_Tripexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Apartment for 4 at Chalet Ritz (annex to Matterhornblick). It was a clean and comfortable, with self catering facilities. We found the location to the extremely ideal, between the commercial part of the town (5mins walk), and place to embark on the Matterhorn Express (to Klein Matterhorn) (110-15 mins walk, depending on whether you stop to take photos of the beautiful scenery). Although we could not see the Matterhorn from our room, we didn't really mind. Also, the hotel is next to the church, so, if church bells bother you, then maybe this is not the place for you. But, again, we didn't mind. The hotel is an east 12 minute walk from the train station, so you do not really need to hire a taxi (expensive CHF20 for a 4 minute ride). I absolutely love the muesli that they serve at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

The matterhornblick was recommended by friends who stayed here a year ago. What a charming hotel. Very up-to-date without losing the friendly Swiss feeling! The room is clean, a good size, with a balcony. Staff are very friendly and helpful with restaurant suggestions. Spa adds a nice touch. Great breakfast with a large menu selection. Good coffee. Lobby area has a small bar with TV and Internet access. Free Internet access in rooms as well. Located just off main road behind the church--easy walk from train station.

Room Tip: Ask for south facing room on higher floors for mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinSAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This hotel is located near the centre of Zermatt but not so near as to be disturbed by noise from people leaving restaurants and bars at night. The rooms in the hotel have been recently renovated and have a light, modern chalet style. Our rooms had balconies, one room had a view over the river, and the old cemetery and the other room on the opposite side of the hotel had a view of the Matterhorn.

On our second night we stayed in a studio apartment in the Chalet Ritz which is part of the same property. This apartment, while not quite as modern as the hotel rooms, was very comfortable and included a fridge, cooking facilities and a dining area. It also had a balcony. We deliberately left the window open while sleeping so that we could listen to the sound of water rushing along the nearby river.

The hotel owners were very nice and arranged for us to be both picked up and dropped off at the train station. This was much appreciated as two of our group were over-80.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMcPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Really nice & spacious rooms which must all have been renovated a couple of years ago. Rooms were very clean, and hotel staff really nice. Not the biggest breakfast, but since we only stayed for two nights, wasn't a problem.

Hotel is located in the heart of Zermatt, just about a 3min walk to the bus station which takes you to all the ski places. The wonderful "Papperla Pub" is located about 5min away from the hotel. So also close to loads of great restaurants.

If you don't care about super fancy hotels, but a nice, comfy & clean place, where you don't want to spend CHF700.- a night, then you're right here. Will definitely go back there!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vak0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

As long as you realize that even relatively inexpensive in Zermatt is expensive for the majority of us, the Matterhornblick is a great mid-range place for families. We stayed in one of their apartments in the chalet behind the hotel and enjoyed the best of both worlds. The apartment was large by vacation standards, very comfortable for 5, and allowed us to eat in which is the only way to keep a budget in Zermatt. But we could also enjoy the hotel amenities of a great breakfast, apartment cleaned and serviced daily, and enjoy a great spa in the afternoons. The location is fabulous - a quick walk to everywhere and very close to the ski bus. They pick you up for free from the train station, but for some strange reason charge for returning you there on the way out. If that's the biggest complaint, then you know its a great place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adanim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parnass
Hotel Parnass
#25 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#38 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#42 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Hotel Beau-Rivage
#73 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#34 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#70 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matterhornblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhornblick

Property: Hotel Matterhornblick
Address: Kirchstrasse 38, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matterhornblick 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in a central, but quiet area of Zermatt. The base lift stations are and easy 10-12 minute walk from the hotel. The Ski Bus also stops directly at the hotel and will bring you to the various ski lifts in the morning, and back to the hotel afterwards. The start of the Bahnhofstrasse (main street), where you can meet, shop, go out and party, or just window shop, is only about 100 meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Matterhornblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing