We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“70th birthday celebration in Zermatt”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Matterhornblick
Ranked #75 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
salt lake city
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“70th birthday celebration in Zermatt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

Beautiful, newly remodeled and decorated rooms throughout the hotel with excellent views of the Matterhorn from the mountain side of the hotel. Friendly staff, very good breakfasts (included), and central location make this a wonderful summer vacation hotel. The staff was most helpful in suggesting hikes, making restaurant suggestions and reservations, and assisting in transportation from and to the railroad station.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain side of the hotel, about 10CHF (Swiss francs additional)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
27
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We love the family who own this place. Every year we look forward to returning. Perfect location, delicious breakfast, comfortable beds, amazing view of the Matterhorn... and the staff are so friendly... can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33turtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

Nice hotel in the Heart of Zermatt .
Kerstin and Bernhard were perfect Hosts during our stay .
Their staff Ms Sabrina also helped us since this was our visit to Zermatt .
The town is blessed with an amazing view of the Matterhorn .

They treat you as guests in their house .
Rooms were very spacious and well maintained .

Room Tip: Just in the heart of Zermatt .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karthic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2010

We had a room with balcony and a magnificent view of Zermatt and the mountains. It was a short walk to the banhof, restaurants and shops were aplenty.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chongyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

stayed in sep. for 4 nights
the hotel is situated in the center of zermatt , near the main church.
rooms are clean, modern and spacious.
we had a balcony with a beautiful scenery of the town.
breakfest was continental which was more then satisfactory
the staff was helpful in planing our hiking trips and couertious to all requests.
could not ask for more

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeevIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

This hotel is good value for money and situated in the middle of the village only a short distrance to a supermarket, main street and plenty of restaurants. You can enter the hotel from the ski locker direct to your room. Our room was a nice size and TV has channels in many languages including 5 english channels. There is a sauna, steam, jacuzzi which is nice after skiing. Breakfast is continental served downstairs. There is no restaurant, but there is cool African restaurant in the building which serves spicy fusion and good value. Plenty of other restaurants within 150m of the hotel. Overall good value, would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2008

An excellent hotel in the heart of Zermatt run by a very friendly anglophone couple, Kerstin & Bernhard Julen. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a balcony overlooking the village church. Rooms on the opposite side of the building had spectacular views over the Matterhorn. Breakfasts consisted of bread (including croissants), local harms and cheeses, cereals, fruit and the usual array of drinks. The hotel appeared to be better value for money than some of the nearby hotels that we visited (including the Antika).

The hotel is around 10 minutes walk from the train station although when laden with luggage, it is much easier to use the hotel's taxi service at a cost of 6F (as opposed to the 17F charged by ordinary taxis).

The best restaurant in the vicinity of the hotel that we found was the Stockhorn, which specialises in local meats and cheeses (esp. raclette).

We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Liked — Friendly proprietors
  • Disliked — No complaints!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamtam2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Parnass
Hotel Parnass
#23 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#37 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Couronne
Hotel La Couronne
#41 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Beau-Rivage
Hotel Beau-Rivage
#73 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristella swissflair
Hotel Aristella swissflair
#32 of 109 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#67 of 109 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matterhornblick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhornblick

Property: Hotel Matterhornblick
Address: Kirchstrasse 38, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 109 Hotels in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matterhornblick 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in a central, but quiet area of Zermatt. The base lift stations are and easy 10-12 minute walk from the hotel. The Ski Bus also stops directly at the hotel and will bring you to the various ski lifts in the morning, and back to the hotel afterwards. The start of the Bahnhofstrasse (main street), where you can meet, shop, go out and party, or just window shop, is only about 100 meters from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Matterhornblick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing