We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“One of a kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Ranked #7 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend with a couple of friends at the Matterhorn Focus... We were all delighted!
The design with glass fronts allowing the hotel residents to enjoy the astonishing view is really special... our friends were visiting Zermatt and they were amazed.
The hotel manager and the people working here would do anything to make you comfortable. We asked for an additional bed upon arrival, and it was late, but they still made sure to make our wish come true.
The breakfast is really great, you can enjoy different kinds of Swiss cheese and pastries, fresh and delish.
Romm service and snacks options are quite limited but ok... there are also several restaurants just around the corner if you like to have a dinner out.
Would definitely recommend it and would love to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    52
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
126
302
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

No complaints at all. Great room, great view, and great service! The hotel is not a normal set up, but trust me, you'll love it! Our room had an amazing view of the Matterhorn, and that was just the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Having just returned from two nights, you simply must go.
Beautiful hotel, excellent service, superb design with the most magnificent views.
Don't be tempted to have a room without a Matterhorn view - simply mesmerising.
Should be on everybody's bucket list.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandydaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Matterhorn Focus for three nights after finishing a trek through the Alps. We wanted a relaxing, luxury hotel to end our trip and we weren't disappointed! Here's what we loved the most and a few things we might have changed:

+ friendly, knowledge staff who clearly enjoy their job and take pride in making guests' stay as great as possible; their recommendations for dinner and day hikes were spot on
+ room was not huge, but well thought out and designed with comfortable furnishings
+ wonderful smelling bath products
+ despite being a bit small, the shower was great
+ the spa area was a relaxing oasis; rain or shine it was the place to be
+ cozy bathrooms made lounging in the spa that much more comfortable
+ having free fruit and other purchasable snacks in the hotel lobby is a nice touch
+ breakfast was to die for and there was a whole section devoted to gluten free bread--best gluten free bread I've ever had! thank you thank you!

- bit of a walk from the center of Zermatt (but close to one of the main lift stations); make sure to alert them to your arrival so you can make use of the hotel shuttle
- exterior of hotel seems to have taken a bit of beating (maybe from the weather?); a few places in the pool area and around the back appeared a bit rundown, nothing critical, but unexpected for a four star hotel
- we wish the spa area had had better instructions for using some of the services; sometimes it was unclear whether you had to switch on a button or just go in to the treatment room and sit

Overall we definitely recommend visiting Zermatt and staying at this hotel. Our experience was wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PetiteLinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is one of the most delightful hotels we have ever stayed in. Our room had a view of the Matterhorn from the patio, gorgeous! We were in the old part of the hotel and it was really to our liking, but the furniture desperately needs updating. Outdoor chairs on patio were on their last legs. Sofa inside kind of falling apart, and the mattresses were appalling. We HURT badly. Having given vent to this, I have to say the spa is beyond belief, with wonderful steam room, relaxing room with lovely ceiling lights like stars, heated seat, great indoor, outdoor pool, afternoon buffet of tea and drinks and snacks. Breakfast was TERRIFIC. Staff was so friendly and helpful!!!! It is a fantastic hotel, and even with its problems, one of the great stays!

Room Tip: Pay for a view of the Matterhorn. It's WORTH IT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel chief manager cares about guest satisfaction very much and explain that many guests do not like too many things put in this design oriented hotel. So there is no fridge and hot water maker in the room. But if you need it, they can bring it to the room. Be sure to ask for it if you need it and they will be happy to bring it to the room.

All things good especially the warm swimming pool with jacuzzi, and the rich breakfast. Just one thing cannot be solved is the extremely good sound and wind proof glass wall, that almost block the wifi completely, so you almost can't get internet connection at balcony.

If you care about full Matterhorn view, maybe you also need to raise your wish in advance, as not every room facing Matterhorn has unobstructed view. Our room for example, has great Matterhorn view but with a big cable tower in front of it.

Anyway, it's difficult to satisfy every guest since every traveller has different preference, but Matterhorn Focus seems not able to accept less than 100% satisfaction, and they treat it very seriously to achieve that high goal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 111rao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
527 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent 4 nights here in a room with a Matterhorn view. We were in Building C in Room 407. We had an unobstructed view of the Matterhorn which we could see half the time we were there. The other half, the Matterhorn was covered in clouds.

The room was clean and functional. The bathroom was a good size. It had a shower with great water pressure. There is a safe and slippers in the room. Also, the flat screen tv is the largest I have seen in any hotel I have stayed at.

Car pick up is from 8am-7pm. We arrived on a train at 7:13 pm. They made an exception and picked us up at the train station. Also, there are free phones you can use to call the hotel. When we left, our train left at 7:39am so they called a taxi for us and the charge was CHF 17. I wished the hours of operation for free pick up was expanded a bit since they are a bit of a walk to the train station.

If you want to walk into town, there is a set of steps right before the Matterhorn Express lift, take it down and turn right. Alternatively, there is an elevator across from the lift that says TAXI/BUS. If you take it down, turn left. Then you will end up pretty much at the same place as the steps. In both cases, you have to cross the bridge and take a right. When the road forks, take the higher road on the left. Continue straight and it will lead you right into the heart of town - Bahnhofstrasse where everything is. The Gornergrat Bahn (train) and Funicular to Sunegga are in town. Only the lift to the Matterhorn Express which we used to get to Glacier Paradise is next to the hotel.

We bought the 3 day peak pass for 190 CHF and had unlimited use of all lifts, gondolas, trains, funiculars and free access to Glacier Paradise. We thought it was a better deal than buying separate tickets and we could go multiple times depending on the weather. If you've never been to Zermatt, the weather is very unpredictable. One minute we are riding the train up to Gornergrat and we only had a 1 hour window to take pictures of the Matterhorn before it got cloudy and rainy again. We took the Gornergrat Train three times. It was a fun way to go up the mountain. There is a 5 CHF deposit for the pass. If you return it, they will give you the 5 CHF back.

When the weather is good, don't walk but RUN to the nearest lift, gondola, train up the mountain. We had excellent weather the first day. The Matterhorn is beautiful. You don't want to miss it when you have good weather.

We used the pool once. It was a nice touch. Half is inside and half is outside. Didn't stay outside for long as it was raining.

All in all, this is a small and nice property. I wouldn't saying that the staff is overly friendly but we had no specific complaints. I would stay here again.

I enjoy reading and writing reviews. If you found this review helpful, please give me a helpful vote.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.5 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 359 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#10 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
0.8 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matterhorn Focus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Property: Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 131, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Business Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matterhorn Focus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design & Lifestyle in front of the Matterhorn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Matterhorn Focus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Focus Hotel
Matterhorn Focus Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing