We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Modern option in traditional village” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Ranked #6 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Modern option in traditional village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Quirky and modern decor greet guests as they ascend to the lobby by elevator from the access tunnel. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the rooms were quiet and clean. Breakfast was outstanding, and the location is excellent for hiking south up the valley. I only had a few minor complaints: the cable car tower does occlude views of the Matterhorn from many rooms, and the sound of the cables moving is noticeable from 8-5pm. The lack of a restaurant can be tiresome when you are exhausted from a day of hiking, and then you need to walk 10 min to eat, but it's manageable. The shower is a bit small (and no tub), and the room had a bit too much furniture for its size, but overall, we were quite satisfied and I would recommend this hotel, caveats aside.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CicadaAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    51
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
129
311
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here for Christmas 2011 and loved it. Great location close to the gondola and a beautiful easy walk to the main village every night. Rooms are fantastic and decorated like no other I have stayed in. Lovely hosts and outstanding pool, spa and wellness centre. Will be coming back soon. Dining open for breakfast only but wasn't an issue as we ate out every night in the village.

Room Tip: Matterhorn view rooms are sensational and worth the money. We had a valley view room and it was equa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueDog333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

So they don't have a restaurant in the hotel but restaurants are nearby enough. They do sell sandwich so you can have a bite in your room, which has GREAT view of Matterhorn.
We only stayed over night and left early for summer ski, but they'd let us use their shower after check out. Great location for skiing as the lift is right at the door step. They have indoor/outdoor jacuzzi too. The room was spacious with bathrobe and slippers with Nespresso machine. We also stayed at the Kulm hotel at the top of mountain but we both agreed this Matterhorn Focus is way better and the Matterhorn looks prettier too from this angle. Breakfast was fantastic too.

Room Tip: Make sure to get Matterhorn view. Worth the extra you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millie2london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Matterhorn Focus for two nights this week, booked on the basis of availability, and reviews on this site. Because we booked relatively late, there were only suites available, and we ended up with the Dom suite, which is on the top left hand corner of the hotel as you face the Matterhorn. As it is the furthest away from the Matterhorn, it also meant we could get unobstructed views (and photographs) of the Matterhorn, whereas perhaps the ret of Sitting on our balcony in the evening, looking at the changing light on the mountain, and waking up to the view of the mountain from our bed, were lovely experiences. If only there had been a mini-bar in the room, it would have saved us having to go down to the bar every time we wanted a drink.

The suite was large, with a comfortable seating area, and bathroom with a lovely bath, and separate shower. Lots of storage, and reasonable lighting. Bed very comfortable. We could have happily stayed longer. Only minor quibbles were, given the price, we missed having a sewing kit (which for once I needed) and a shower cap (surprised not to find this).

Breakfast was excellent. Reception staff were helpful, reserving us a restaurant one evening, and helping us find an electronics shop where we could buy a flash drive, and recommended a couple of walks. They have good maps. Lack of a restaurant wasn't an issue for us, but if the weather had been bad, then it might have become a problem.

The taxi service to and from the station is efficient and friendly. On arrival from Tasch, there is a large board with all the hotels listed. Find the name, and ring the corresponding number on the phone there, and they will pick you up.

Location is at the far end of town. If you're planning on going to the Matterhorn Glacier Paradise, then you can't get a better location! We asked at reception, and they recommended we go to Gornergrat instead - the station is opposite the main station at e other end of town. In summer this wasn't an issue - it's maybe 10-15 minutes walk, downhill. It's an easy walk back too, even though it is slightly uphill.

All in all a positive experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in the Matterhorn suite which was perfect for our family of four, including à 9 and 2 year old. We had an Outstanding view of tha Matterhorn, even from pur bathtub :) Perfect location for summer hiking before relaxing in the indoor/outdoor pool and my favourite - the wellness center, with à peppermint room! The staff were friendly and welcoming and we definitly be back :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieinAix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is located in Zermatt, a getaway town to Matterhorn, which is basically filled with hotels. It is perched on a hillside with a modern design. The building is constructed with steel and glass and the interior is largely modern and sufficient maybe a bit tacky with the ostrich feathers on the headboard. We booked a corner one bedroom with a view of the Matterhorn so that we can have plenty of space for our toddler son. The space is actually quite nice but the view is somewhat disappointing. Our second floor room is right under a cable tower which directly blocks the view from the window and the terrace. I am not sure if any room in the hotel will circumvent that giant tower. However, the heated pool sort of redeemed the lackluster of the view. Staff is friendly and very nice to our kid. Breakfast is also very nice.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room without seeing the cable tower unless you find that interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingSocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Chose this hotel in 2012 for an April 2013 stay, I don't believe it was number one back then on trip advisor... For us, this was simply the best ski hotel we could hope for. Superb service, friendly staff, good breakfast, awesome pool with mattehorn view. Our suite had a balcony with mountain view with windows everywhere. Thank you for such nice memories :-).
PS: the hotel is right next to a major ski lift, location cant be beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartyQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear guests

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and of course for selecting hotel Matterhorn FOCUS as your residence during your spring ski trip to Zermatt.

We are very pleased indeed that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would be honored to be your host again if your travel plans lead you back to Zermatt.

Yours sincerely

Chris & Sonja Noti, Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#1 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#5 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.5 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#9 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matterhorn Focus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Property: Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 131, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Business Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matterhorn Focus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design & Lifestyle in front of the Matterhorn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Matterhorn Focus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Focus Hotel
Matterhorn Focus Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing