We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect last night in Swizerland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect last night in Swizerland”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

When we arrived into Zermatt the weather remained overcast and grey for the whole afternoon and evening but we were able to find the Matterhorn Focus hotel on foot very easily (it is also located next to the cable car that takes you up to the Matterhorn) We booked it last minute and we weren't disappointed, it really is as unusual and unique as the photographs show. We were greeted very warmly by the owners who brought us coffee while they checked us in before we were shown to our room that overlooked Zermatt. Nothing felt like it had been sacrificed, it was contemporary but so comfy and luxurious, with a balcony, underfloor heating in the bathroom and other thoughtful touches, but don't get caught out by the panoramic windows as you can see in at night if the lights are on!! We slept very well and breakfast in the morning was one of the best, offering a vast choice of local cheeses, meats as well as pastries, yogurts, cereals, fresh fruit and artizan breads.
We had a great stay at the Matterhorn Focus and would definitely stay again (and when we left in the morning the clouds had lifted and we were treated to an incredible view of the Matterhorn bathed in the golden light of the newly risen sun.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AliandAmy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Member of Tripadvisor

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us and of course for selecting hotel Matterhorn FOCUS as your residence during your recent trip to Zermatt.

We are very pleased indeed that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we would be very honored to be your host again if your travel plans lead you back to Zermatt.

Yours sincerely

Chris & Sonja Noti and the FOCUS-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    54
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
141
337
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
martinez
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a great time in Zermatt. It really is a gorgeous hotel. You need to stay there when you are in Zermatt. Make sure you call them ahead and say you want a room with unobstructive view of the Matterhorn. Everything else was very nice. Best breakfast of our three weeks. We had a early checkout and they gave a great take-away breakfast. It is hard to find at the end of town. You can ask at the gondola place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomgar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guests

Thank you very much for the good review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the FOCUS. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kind regards and have a sunny autumn.

Chris & Sonja Noti and the FOCUS-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent a weekend at the Matterhorn Focus and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The location is great (on the outskirts of Zermatt - 5 minutes walk to the main shopping street and 10 minutes walk to the train station - but right next to the start of the main gondola - so ideal for skiers), the architecture of this hotel is very interesting and achieves the perfect balance of modern-warm-cosy. Our family suite was wonderful with two completely separate bedrooms and a living area with straight views of the Matterhorn. On the second day I had left the curtains open and was lucky enough to wake up to see the sun goes up on the Matterhorn. The service was very personal and from the moment we arrived the staff were helpful and warm. The breakfast is very good but maybe there could be few more choices, but really this is more of an observation than criticism. My husband and I had a couple of massages which were delivered by Natasha who is a very competent and enthusiastic therapist. I would love to go back this hotel in the near future!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear EvaCJ
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your experiences. Thanks a lot for the good feedback and the great compliments. We are very pleased that you have spent a great time in Zermatt and enjoyed your stay with us at the FOCUS. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again soon as our guests.
Best regards from the Matterhorn village, Chris & Sonja Noti and the FOCUS-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

To celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary, my husband and I traveled to Europe with our two sons and my mother. We stayed at several wonderful hotels, but the Hotel Matterhorn Focus was by far the best! The staff was so friendly and helpful! The decor was fantastic as was the breakfast buffet! It was such fun to swim in the indoor/outdoor pool!

When we arrived, we were given a complimentary drink in the lounge and then taken on a lovely tour. Our room was decorated for our anniversary with rose petals and a love pillow on the bed. So thoughtful!

During our stay, my mother required medical care, and the staff arranged for a doctor visit. The doctor was just wonderful, and then the staff was very concerned about my mother's well-being for the rest of our stay.

I can't recommend this hotel more highly! I just loved it! I hope to be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the family suite--Rm. 403 if I remember correctly. We had an amazing view of the Matte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateLucy792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear KateLucy792
Thank you very much for your kind review about your stay in the FOCUS. We are very happy to see, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Compliments for a job well done are always rewarding and motivate our team to go on their way to make our guest’s stay a memorable one.

We hope to be able to welcome you again at the FOCUS and send you our best regards
Chris & Sonja Noti and the FOCUS-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is our second trip to Zermatt and first time at Matterhorn Focus. Simply put, exceptional hotel with the best people we met in Zermatt. Very professional and friendly. Hotel has a modern feel, very accommodating, excellent wellness facilities, great rooms and perfect location. 3-10 minute walk to top variety of restaurants. 10 minutes to the center of town, where it can be crowded, noisy, and very busy with bikes, skateboards, carts, etc. In just 10 minutes you walk up a gentle hill to the peace and serenity of the Swiss Alps and the service of this excellent staff.
Great value, true four star facility and the very best of service and Swiss smiles. Highly recommend and from what we saw of the other hotels we considered, do yourself a favor and book this hotel early.

Room Tip: good views available of the matterhorn with South view, but if you want to save a little take the No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

+ rich breakfast buffet (big variety of breads, different juices, cheese, cold cuts, fruit, müesli, nuts, eggs and more)
+ location a few meters away from the gondola to furi and schwarzsee
+ modern, comfortable and clean rooms with a good view
+ free welcome drink
+ professional massage treatment
+ friendly owner
- wellness area is rather small, but has sauna, steam baths and a warm indoor/outdoor pool
- no dinner at the hotel, but they offer a catering service (food can be delivered to the hotel)
- 15 to 20 minutes to walk to the center of the village, where all the good restaurants are (or 5 minutes by taxi for about 12 swiss francs)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schilibili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian N, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear schilibili
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and for your detailed feedback. It was a great pleasure for us to be your host during this stay at the FOCUS.

We are very glad that you appreciated your stay and it is a pleasure to share your review with our team. To us there is hardly anything sweeter than a compliment for a job well done

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Yours sincerely
Chris & Sonja Noti, Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

After a 7 hour drive, to walk down a tunnel, go up the elevator, and have the hotel staff greet me by name was very welcoming. But not as welcoming as the complimentary beer they poured seconds later. The staff is second to none and the location is perfect. My room did not have a view but I expected that with a single room, but it did not matter. Zermatt is to be enjoyed from outside the hotel. The hotel is unique, in both style and layout, and everything about this hotel just rocks. The hotel staff pointed me to a perfect hike and the pictures I took will last a lifetime. Excellent breakfast. GREAT SPOT.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.4 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 110 in Zermatt
427 reviews
0.8 mi away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#12 of 110 in Zermatt
922 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 110 in Zermatt
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#8 of 110 in Zermatt
756 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
511 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#6 of 110 in Zermatt
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matterhorn Focus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Property: Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 131, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Business Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matterhorn Focus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design & Lifestyle in front of the Matterhorn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Matterhorn Focus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Focus Hotel
Matterhorn Focus Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing