We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Outstanding food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Max Julen

Chez Max Julen
Ranked #18 of 196 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lutry, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

title says it all, go for the Chateaubriand to share, two services with two different side dishes on each service.

the restaurant has two floors, upstairs is very hot, go for the ground floor.

a huge spider decided to ruin my dinner experience; nevertheless, seeing panic in my eyes, the staff (big thumb up for the croatian lady :) had excellent reaction and moved us fast at the bar with a complimentary glass of wine.


Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cmercier66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    62
    16
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really tasty meat!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Liked the atmosphere, the food, the staff, the wine! All was good! Outfit is casual so no need to dress yourself up, but it was still a restaurant:-)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kadri74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing meal in Zermatt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I dined here on our last night in Zermatt. We had half board at our hotel and figured we should venture out at least one night for dinner, so we made reservations ahead of time. Definitely a good decision. We were seated immediately. The staff were friendly. We were seated next to their grill, which was more or less like sitting at the chefs table. We were able to watch as our Chateaubriand was being prepared. The steak was huge and cooked to perfection. To give you an idea about portion size, the Chateaubriand was enough for 4 servings and that included vegetables as well. They were very accommodating when making mixed drinks for us as we had a special request. The restaurant was busy and not exactly a romantic setting but the food was served in a timely fashion and there was no rush to leave.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OrvosVagyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Impressive meal, unexpectedly in two parts (20th Mar 2013)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

During my recent chalet skiing holiday there was the evening the great chalet host had the night off from cooking. The reps recommended Max Julen for an excellent steak meal and they were right. The helpful staff were friendly from the start to the end of the evening. It was a great chance to practice my German again and there was only one phrase I couldn't remember during the evening. Next time the waitress spoke to me she initially started in English but then caught herself and restarted in German again - a nice touch. The surprise was how the steak meal was presented. They carved the steak to show me to make sure it was cooked as I wished. While eating my main course I started to notice the other patrons getting a second course. Then my waitress told me she would just top up my french fries as the second half of my steak was coming shortly. She wasn't kidding, the second half of my main course arrived shortly thereafter. Great food and service throughout the evening...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krasnoyarsk
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Deer hunter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Best meat we tried last year. May be not the cheapest one, but deer was excellent!!!
Others steak were pretty good also!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SlavaKrasnoyarsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Max Julen also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Chez Max Julen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing