We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Go here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elsie's Bar

Elsie's Bar
Ranked #37 of 196 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a cute tiny little bar. The people were really nice, both patrons and bar tender and waitress. This bar is the epitome of what you hope your travel experience will include. it was fun, good, surprising and felt like a little bit of authentic Swiss life!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nancijoporten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    27
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We read and heard great things. It seems success is not always good. It was crowded and we had very poor service. Not sure if it's a local's place and they know the ropes or what. It is a nice place inside. I guess get there early, put that's not always possible. As others said, also expensive, which I don't mind if the experience is good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winequaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
155 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fancy & Pricey Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stopped in for drinks and loved the cozy feel of the place, but quickly realized we were out of place. Everyone there was older and dressed up-some were wearing furs... So we finished our very expensive drinks and moved on to a bar that catered to a younger crowd. The staff was pleasant enough, it just wasn't a welcoming place for us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJTravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great vibe !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Extremely friendly service and a great atmosphere. Highly recommendable for a late night drink after dinner.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Louwrens M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The Friendliest Bar in Switzerland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This little gem is the most inviting locale I visited in my travels across Switzerland. The ambience is warm and welcoming and visiting with Philippe and Valerie was definitely the highlight. They are a very educated, informed, and delightful couple. Treat yourself to a wonderful time and conversation. By the way, this bar has a respectable whisky collection so do not miss out next time you are in Zermatt.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Featherlessbiped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elsie's Bar also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Elsie's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing