We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly exceptional”
Review of Le Mazot

Le Mazot
Ranked #64 of 197 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“Truly exceptional”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

One of the highlights of eating out in Zermatt. Exceptional cuisine; great atmosphere and environment; and friendly staff. We had two evenings and it was hard to say which was better. No one had a bad dish, and there were several that were unusual and creative.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sailing_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    39
    17
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“intimate and good food”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Friendly staff, great grilled food, something for everyone even children. it gets very warm inside as the place is small and they grill for all to see so I recommend layering as I was VERY warm.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank HHD2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheers to a Great New Year's Eve Experience”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We reserved a table with Le Mazot for New Year's Eve due to their largely positive reviews and also that, in my communications with them, offered us the option of ordering the prix-fixe menu or a la carte. Most other restaurants in Zermatt forced you to order their tasting menu, which is often far too much food for me to be able to appreciate. (My boy and I especially love restaurants that allow us to share a tasting menu but each order the respective wine pairings.)

The food was quite lovely. The amuse bouche seemed a bit out of place with Asian noodles but tasted just fine, but the soup course was delicate and very well-balanced. The duck three ways was exceptionally delicious. The lamb, which everyone raved about, was solid, but perhaps the hype had me expecting over-the-top perfection. Perhaps the best plate was the preparation of the venison. Tender, flavorful, outstanding.

Other noteworthy items -- we were offered a complementary aperitif because we had to wait a bit past our reservation time for our table. The right thing to do, but not always done. And finally, when we'd left the restaurant close to midnight (and the turn of a new year), we realized that quite a crowd had gathered nearby to enjoy the fireworks show that rather organically seem to develop in the heart of the valley. We thought it'd be even better enjoyed with a glass of bubbles, so we hurried back in to request a glass of champagne to-go. Obviously, a nontraditional request, but one that was graciously fulfilled. We enjoyed a truly memorable NYE experience from beginning to end.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sleugers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Steak In Town!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Very welcoming hostesses who checked regularly to make sure we were happy about the food and that we needed anything.

Steak was great. They have a Le Mazot Menu which included appetizer, main and desserts which was value for money. Delicious grilled food as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Koh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
365 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Cozy Little Restaurant and Very Good Food!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Had a great lamb dinner here the other night. The atmosphere inside this small restaurant was wonderfully cozy. The wood fire oven gave the room a warm glow. The food was delicious and the service excellent. Advise that you make a reservation, as space is limited. The little bar is a great place to relax while enjoying an evening cocktail.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heartstoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mazot also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Le Mazot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing