We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Just fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omnia

The Omnia
Triftweg 41 | Auf dem Fels, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
027 966 71 71
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 196 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $94
Cuisines: European, French, Swiss, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic gourmet restaurant! Amazing food (try the Vitello tonnato), very nice design and really nice staff. The wine list is also interesting. Prices are those of a gastronomic restaurant, but I believe they are worth it! Go there!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Webm1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeClarinval, Manager at The Omnia, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Webm

Thank you so much for your kind review and the compliments. The Vitello with veal tartar, Wasabi cream and grilled sashimi tuna is also one of my favorites.

I am also grateful that you mention the pricelevel and that you deem it appropriate. We are always careful to have a fair pricing at the lower end for the Quality of the ingredients that we offer.

It would be a pleasure the welcome you back to Zermatt and perhaps I can be of assistance when you would like to stay with us in the future.

Best regards
Philippe
Philippe Clarinval
Managing Director
ph.clarinval@the.omnia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    29
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! The best Gourmet Experience in Town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was by far the best gourmet experience in Zermatt and one of the overall best. We dined with a group of 8 experienced gourmet eaters and were blown away by the creativity, quality and the presentation of the dishes. We could not wait between dishes! The food was amazingly delicious and creative. How can you describe an apple-wasabi ice cream? Or an apple-seed powder? The “creativity” and quality comes with a price tag, but is well worth the experience. Equally important to mention that, unlike all the other restaurants in town, Omni is contemporary and is located on a cliff with a breathtaking view. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
517 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Wow! Outstanding and memorable dining experience. Just go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a blockbuster. Amazing architecture in an over-the-top cliffside setting. Absolutely flawless service and outstanding food. Foodies, put Omnia on your list of can't miss restaurants in Zermatt.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Waterloonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeClarinval, Manager at The Omnia, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Waterloonie

Thank you for your kind compliments. Looking at your numerous Reviews, I see you move around and (between us... Brasserie Raymond in Bruges is also one of my favorites).

Anyway, I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Best wishes
Philippe
Philippe Clarinval
ph.clarinval@the-omnia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfsburg, Germany
Level Contributor
212 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Better then last year ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

After enough Fondue, Roesti and Raclette we spend the last evening here. Very good service excellent food and very good wine selection. Together with Heimberg and sure Chez Vroney the Gourmet Highlits in Zermatt.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank_and_Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeClarinval, Manager at The Omnia, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear member of Tripadvisor

It is very comforting to see that efforts pay off. Thank you for letting us know that you've enjoyed The Omnia even more than last year. I do hope that you will pay a visit again next year. Please let me know if I can be of assistance with arranging your accommodation.

Best regards
Philippe
Managing Director
ph.clarinval@the-omnia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but not great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After reading many reviews, we chose The Omnia for a birthday dinner, the table was reserved 2 weeks prior by email confirmation and the birthday noted. On arrival we were informed that we had no reservation, but we could be seated. The meal was good but not as great as we were expecting, the amuse bouche served 3 times was however very good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SASHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilippeClarinval, Manager at The Omnia, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear SAS Herts

Thank you for your review and your feedback. I have investigate why your kind reservation has slipped. Unfortunately it was a human mistake for which I sincerely apologize. It really should not have happened as we do have many guests visiting us on a special occasion such as birthdays or anniversaries.

Please rest assured that the necessary measures have been takes to avoid such a disappointement in the future.

Please let me know, should your travel plans lead you back to Zermatt. I will be very pleased to take care of you personally.

Yours sincerely
Philippe Clarinval
Managing Director
ph.clarinval@the-omnia.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Omnia also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to The Omnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing