We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Change of Pace”
Review of Myoko

Myoko
Reserve with
Myoko is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 208 Restaurants in Zermatt
Price range: $19 - $75
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Fresh sushis and sashimis, experience the Teppan-Yaki grill and other exquisite specialities from the land of the rising sun.
Reviewed July 22, 2018

We were so happy to have sushi after travelling for 4 weeks eating Norwegian and Swiss food. (Nothing wrong with these dishes, but a change was welcome.)

We would have never tried sushi in the Alps, had I not read favorable reviews on Trip Advisor! The sushi was excellent. We had about 8 types. All were good!

It was a quiet restaurant and the service was superb. The owner or manager talked to us to see how we liked the food. He said that there is a high percentage of tourists from Japan, so hence the success of their restaurant. I believe there is some sort of "sister city" relationship between Zermatt and a town/mountain in Japan. The mountain there is named Myoko.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ClaireWilson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 277 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2018

We strolled by the sign for this lovely restaurant, doubting that you could get really fresh sushi in the middle of the alps and we were so pleasantly surprised we will likely eat here at least a few more times during our trip. Husband had the fresh salad and it was the best salad we have yet had anywhere in Zermatt -- so fresh and full of delicious surprises like fresh broccoli, great sprouts, and a plethora of fresh vegetables with a delicious homemade ginger dressing. He then had the lobster and although it may have been cooked a wee bit too long (a bit chewy) the seasoning and flavor was out of this world. As a vegan I ordered soup and fresh vegetables and was full from these two dishes. The service was kind and spot-on caring for us, and we had such a lovely evening. It's totally worth it if you like sushi to find Myoko.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beth Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2018

The last thing I expected to find in the middle of the Alps was excellent sushi and Myoko was a delightful surprise. I am somewhat of a sushi snob from NYC where I am afforded access to some of the best sushi outside of Japan. The freshness and quality of fish at Myoko is on par with some of the better sushi restaurants I have dined at. The staff was friendly and efficient. They have a small but decent sake selection. The decor and ambiance is simple..almost sparse; much less grand than other restaurants in town and the food is pricey...then again EVERYTHING in Zermatt is expensive. If you are looking for a deal, find another town to visit. Overall, Myoko is one of the better restaurants to dine at in Zermatt, the quality of the sushi overcomes any weaknesses.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RobertB0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

Food was good but a bit pricey even by Zermatt standards. Staff were friendly and fairly efficient, but made a couple of blunders that lessened the experience for us. Portions are on the smaller side, so if you've been skiing all day and are starving hungry you might think twice. If you want something light and tasty it might just be the place. Loved the fact that you can book online.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank SimonT981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2018 via mobile

Visited with family - Teppanyaki chef was the highlight for the children - lots of juggling, fire and entertainment - great food plus decent wine and saki list. We had prawns, chicken, vegetables and rice.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank JCW1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myoko also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Myoko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing