We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Chez Vrony

Restaurant Chez Vrony
Ranked #1 of 195 Restaurants in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $48
Cuisines: French, Swiss, European, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Mountain Restaurant
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We booked a large table for lunch and were not disappointed. You can walk down to the restaurant for non skiers, as some of our party did but I would recommend taking ski poles as the walk is quite steep. The food and atmosphere is fantastic with prices to match, which is what you would expect in such a well known alpine restaurant. The platter of charcuterie was fabulous, J's Truffle risotto delicious and fragrant. Look forward to returning next year.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    671
    161
    39
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Place to be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

it is my fav. Restaurant in Zermatt and area. Staff super friendly. Foood very very good. You have to make a reservation as if not you will not be able to get a table. you have to try the burger. It is the best i ve ever had. Vrony and Max are realy good hosts. ill def. go back. and you have the best view to the matterhorn.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My family have been to Zermatt for the last 20 plus years and we always stop here for lunch or a quick drink. The food is wonderful and the staff are always pleasant and very efficient. It is such a charming place, with a fantastic view of the Matterhorn. On a sunny afternoon you can just let life pass you by on the terrace with a long cool drink. Heaven on earth!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElaineMaryAinslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best view and best food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I just spend all the winter season working in Zermatt. I love going skiing every days off, I went few time during the season and every time I loved more and more this restaurant! It has a wonderful inside but in the sunny day the terrasse is the best you can get! Absolutely the best view! Regarding the food I can say just nice things! My favorite dish was the Vrony Burger, the best I ever had, the bread is so crunchy and fresh, the meat just melt in your mounth and the cabbage and carrots salad inside the burger is the best! I had also the Rösti (average) and the tartare ( really good). Dessert don't miss the Toblerone mousse with passionfruit. I can't wait to go back to Vrony! Always book a table the day before!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank athy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
119 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountain hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

So, you've read the reviews, and, providing you can ski a tricky blue run - you will be heading to Chez Vrony if you are in Zermatt.... that was how we found ourselves there on an afternoon in April in the middle of our ski day.
We only had tea (which wasn't in fact that nice) but I really wish we could have stayed for food. All of the dishes that swished past our table looked divine, and if it hadn't been for the fact that we were missing one of our number who was meeting us in the village we would have eaten there in a shot.
I heard that Richard Branson had his NYE party there... if it's good enough for Richard...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank l1ttlem1ssf1nch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Chez Vrony also viewed

Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
Zermatt, Canton of Valais
 

Been to Restaurant Chez Vrony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing