We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, incredible food, amazing service”
Review of Hotel Villa Selva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Selva
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Reviewed February 7, 2011

stayed just one night, highly recommend this hotel. room was huge, clean, quiet. service perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 90 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

Recently, my husband and I stayed at this lovely gem of a hotel. We were very pleased with the location(minutes walking to the center of town or taking a funicular) and the room. Our room, on the second floor, had a view of the lake and surrounding mts. It was also very light and cheerful which we loved. The breakfast was a little more than adequate....platter of different kinds of bread, cheese and ham, coffee/tea, juice and upon request, for a small fee, you could have an egg. We did have dinner at the restaurant and the pasta was fine. Unfortunately, due to lack of warm weather, we couldn't use the pool or sit in the lovely garden. Although, the owner was nice, she also seemed very aloof. Lugano is a lovely area with lots of pedestrian only streets, pretty parks and great walking along the lake. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene6529073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

A 2 star hotel in the center of Lugano, a nice place to stay very economic and simple at a very good rate ( why pay more unless your looking for all the comforts ) .The rooms are simple and have been renewed all with double glazing, also new bathrooms. It has private parking, park and swimming pool. The breakfast is basic but good no fancy buffet. The owner Mrs Foletti is very pleasent and helpfull. Every time I go to Lugano I always stay here. If you are lookig for a clean, bassic and not expensive hotel I highly recomend this.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LaSpeziaItalyTuristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2008

I stayed here for a few days for work and then with my husband in June. Its a short walk from the train station, and the garden ( patio) is lovely. The rooms on the front and side of the house can get very loud ( even with double windows) so you may want to ask for a room on the back) Pool is cool and refreshing.
The rooms are clean, ikea furnished ,not luxe by any means- but totally servicable in a house that has character. We did not eat at the restaurant but it seems to draw folks from the surrounds for long leisurely meals.
Breakfast is classic European and the coffee is good.
The owner is a bit terse; not sure if she did not like us or it is just her personality?

Stayed: June 2008
4  Thank CasaBallena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2006

I have stayed at the Hotel Villa Selva two times in Lugano, Switzerland. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a/c in summer. The grounds are well-landscaped and lush. The pool is nice with lounge chairs around it. Dinner is a great value and very delicious. You can hang out inside the restaurant to watch tv like we did while the World Cup was going on. The woman who runs it is very sweet and speaks decent English. Overall, a great value and nice place. The only downside is it isn't as convenient as hotels near the train station or downtown. We easily walked the 15 minutes from the train station to get there but for some people they may not like this.

2  Thank kcinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gorro72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ocrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#11 of 45 in Lugano
384 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#22 of 45 in Lugano
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Albergo Stella Hotel
Albergo Stella Hotel
#21 of 45 in Lugano
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Besso Lugano
Hotel Besso Lugano
#36 of 45 in Lugano
110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Hotel Delfino Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
251 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Victoria au Lac
Hotel Victoria au Lac
#41 of 45 in Lugano
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Selva

Address: Via Tesserete 36, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: $143 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Selva 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing