We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simple and cosy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Selva

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Selva
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Simple and cosy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I spent one night in this small hotel with my seven-year-old son, whilst driving up to Germany. The type of structure is more 'guest-house' than hotel, with only a few bedrooms. The rooms have no TV, air-conditioning, are small, but clean, cosy and comfortable. The general feeling is that of going to stay at the house of a friend. The garden is lovely with a swimming pool, to the delight of my son.
My son and I also had dinner at the restaurant. There is no written menu provided at the table (prices are written on a slate board in the reception) and the service was poor, even if the food was well-prepared and tasty. I had the feeling that I was 'penalised' and not taken seriously for being my myself with a child as we had to wait almost an hour to have our plates cleared after our second course. My son requested another portion of a vegetable side dish, served with the second course, only to be told that there was none left, when just afterwards the same dish was served to the table next to ours. We had to wait another 40 minutes to be served dessert. Dinner was at 20.00 and we finished eating at 23.00 - a bit long for three courses. As mentioned, despite the poor service, the food was good. Breakfast was served at the table on a tray - no self service - and it was not particularly abundant. No croissants :-(
The hotel does not take credit or debit cards, so you need to have enough cash ready if you are going to sleep and eat there. I thought that considering that it was more guest-house than hotel, the price was a little high for the services offered. I would go again, simply for the fact that it had a homely feeling. My only request would be that the service becomes a little friendlier too.
The hotel is located outside of town - a ten minute walk to the station and then a minute or two on the Funicular railway. Otherwise it is a 20 minute walk into the centre of Lugano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gastrobologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
23
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Small family friendly B&B . Clean and homelike atmosphere,close to Center. Loved by locals for Dinner. Home cook meals not cheap but tasty.Staff speak Russian was very handy!
Recommend for longer stay.

Room Tip: Do not stay on top floor in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bokglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Small paradise in Lugano, centrally located:beautiful garden with very nice pool. Nice and very clean room. And we enjoyed very much the home cooked food, having dinner outside under the pergola. Everything has a personal touch. The owner and her staff are very friendly and helpful. This kind of unique hotel you find very rarely these days. Excellent quality for a fair price, especially for Lugano standards.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4apies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago. Went back and forth about what I thought about the hotel. Some pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Very nice pool and gardens! Really exceptional for a 2-star property.
2. View of the lake from our bedroom window. Though somewhat marred by construction (see more about construction below).
3. Furnishings are simple (perhaps even a little spartan), but the room and bathroom were really impeccably clean.
4. Close to a bus stop.
5. We ate dinner there one night and it was delicious, and unlike at breakfast, portions were generous and we were even offered seconds!

Cons:
1. Not the property's fault, but there is some major construction going on right next door, making it quite noisy in the gardens and pool.
2. Breakfast is adequate, but really monotonous. Same bread, ham & cheese, jam & butter, everyday. It would not cost much more, nor increase the staff's workload much to vary this at least a little. Also, what was served was not offered abundantly-- exactly one super-thin slice of ham per person...
3. Location is out of the way-- very walkable from the train station, but not really walkable to (and especially back from-- it's uphill) the lakeside area.
4. No credit cards-- this was not a huge problem for us, but was not communicated to us ahead of time. Could be a problem for overseas visitors who can't withdraw a large sum of cash!
5. My biggest complaint would be the lack of a warm/gracious welcome. Though the owner and staff were not exactly unfriendly or rude, we just never felt like valued guests. Everyone who worked there just seemed tired and grouchy. Many requests we made were initially met with resistance. For example, when we asked for a crib for our 3 year old, the owner initially said no, that cribs were only for 2 year olds and younger. When we asked whether we could eat take-out pizza in the garden, we were initially told no. All this resistance just made us feel unwelcome.

Overall, though we had an adequate stay, I would look for a different hotel if we were to return to Lugano.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with 2 adult children. We were so happy to find this place. The price for the small apartment we rented was fantastic. We loved the location, about a 15 minute walk down the hill to the centre of town. We also enjoyed the breakfast, the gardens and swimming in the pool, which was very refreshing. We would definitely stay here again. It was a very relaxing and memorable experience and we even extended our stay from 2 nights to 3 nights, as we were all having such a good time.

Room Tip: We liked having rooms facing the lake for the views, which were exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDonMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Gallen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Difficult to find inititally, easy to drive by the parking. Lovely gardens, swimming pool and restaurant. Rooms clean and good value for money. No Credit Cards. Wifi 5CHF.

Good Grappa from the grapes all over the covered garden.

Will be back!

Room Tip: Aircon in the rooms, but ask for a lake view room (now obscured). The road is quite close on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Nice hotel, higlhy reccommendable for travellers attending conferences at the local EOC

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlavioAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Colibri
Hotel Colibri
#20 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Maraini Resort
Maraini Resort
#27 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Moosmann
Hotel Moosmann
#1 of 1 in Gandria
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#37 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
1.6 mi away
ibis Lugano Paradiso
ibis Lugano Paradiso
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Selva

Property: Hotel Villa Selva
Address: Via Tesserete 36, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Selva 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing