We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small and personal hotel!!”
Review of Hotel Villa Selva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Selva
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Small paradise in Lugano, centrally located:beautiful garden with very nice pool. Nice and very clean room. And we enjoyed very much the home cooked food, having dinner outside under the pergola. Everything has a personal touch. The owner and her staff are very friendly and helpful. This kind of unique hotel you find very rarely these days. Excellent quality for a fair price, especially for Lugano standards.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4apies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 89 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago. Went back and forth about what I thought about the hotel. Some pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Very nice pool and gardens! Really exceptional for a 2-star property.
2. View of the lake from our bedroom window. Though somewhat marred by construction (see more about construction below).
3. Furnishings are simple (perhaps even a little spartan), but the room and bathroom were really impeccably clean.
4. Close to a bus stop.
5. We ate dinner there one night and it was delicious, and unlike at breakfast, portions were generous and we were even offered seconds!

Cons:
1. Not the property's fault, but there is some major construction going on right next door, making it quite noisy in the gardens and pool.
2. Breakfast is adequate, but really monotonous. Same bread, ham & cheese, jam & butter, everyday. It would not cost much more, nor increase the staff's workload much to vary this at least a little. Also, what was served was not offered abundantly-- exactly one super-thin slice of ham per person...
3. Location is out of the way-- very walkable from the train station, but not really walkable to (and especially back from-- it's uphill) the lakeside area.
4. No credit cards-- this was not a huge problem for us, but was not communicated to us ahead of time. Could be a problem for overseas visitors who can't withdraw a large sum of cash!
5. My biggest complaint would be the lack of a warm/gracious welcome. Though the owner and staff were not exactly unfriendly or rude, we just never felt like valued guests. Everyone who worked there just seemed tired and grouchy. Many requests we made were initially met with resistance. For example, when we asked for a crib for our 3 year old, the owner initially said no, that cribs were only for 2 year olds and younger. When we asked whether we could eat take-out pizza in the garden, we were initially told no. All this resistance just made us feel unwelcome.

Overall, though we had an adequate stay, I would look for a different hotel if we were to return to Lugano.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with 2 adult children. We were so happy to find this place. The price for the small apartment we rented was fantastic. We loved the location, about a 15 minute walk down the hill to the centre of town. We also enjoyed the breakfast, the gardens and swimming in the pool, which was very refreshing. We would definitely stay here again. It was a very relaxing and memorable experience and we even extended our stay from 2 nights to 3 nights, as we were all having such a good time.

Room Tip: We liked having rooms facing the lake for the views, which were exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDonMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Difficult to find inititally, easy to drive by the parking. Lovely gardens, swimming pool and restaurant. Rooms clean and good value for money. No Credit Cards. Wifi 5CHF.

Good Grappa from the grapes all over the covered garden.

Will be back!

Room Tip: Aircon in the rooms, but ask for a lake view room (now obscured). The road is quite close on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank upspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Nice hotel, higlhy reccommendable for travellers attending conferences at the local EOC

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlavioAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

stayed just one night, highly recommend this hotel. room was huge, clean, quiet. service perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

Recently, my husband and I stayed at this lovely gem of a hotel. We were very pleased with the location(minutes walking to the center of town or taking a funicular) and the room. Our room, on the second floor, had a view of the lake and surrounding mts. It was also very light and cheerful which we loved. The breakfast was a little more than adequate....platter of different kinds of bread, cheese and ham, coffee/tea, juice and upon request, for a small fee, you could have an egg. We did have dinner at the restaurant and the pasta was fine. Unfortunately, due to lack of warm weather, we couldn't use the pool or sit in the lovely garden. Although, the owner was nice, she also seemed very aloof. Lugano is a lovely area with lots of pedestrian only streets, pretty parks and great walking along the lake. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene6529073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Albergo Stella Hotel
Albergo Stella Hotel
#20 of 45 in Lugano
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#11 of 45 in Lugano
367 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#15 of 45 in Lugano
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#14 of 45 in Lugano
284 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
1.5 mi away
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Hotel Delfino Lugano
#18 of 45 in Lugano
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Selva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Selva

Address: Via Tesserete 36, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: $147 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa Selva 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Selva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing