We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the time to experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Elvezia al Lago
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
339 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Take the time to experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Good place to have a nice lunch over looking the lake. Must take a water taxi, Kurt Saladin, from Lugano, cell +41 (0) 79 621 31 22. Service was good, nice menu selection, but the outdoor patio over looking the lake is the main attraction.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harpo208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    4
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Although a lot of planning involved to get here it was well worth the journey. Rosie was very sweet and upgraded us on our honeymoon once the better room became available (top floor with dual aspect windows). We really want to go back ASAP.

Room Tip: Choose room 5 or top floor far right looking on to the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huong L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Definitely dont stop here despite the great view and location! A very nice waiter seated us at 9pm, he got yelled at by the -probably- owner, menu was limited as she probably didnt want to reopen the kitchen (sign outside said open until 10.30 pm). He served us very nicely (food was just heated as served within 5 min) and got sent home as we asked for dessert. The owner asked us what we wanted and we just asked the bill given her politness. She responded in the meanist way telling the waiter would be happy.., what a disgrace!! Treating your waiters and guest in such a way makes you wonder why people choose such a job. Or perhaps didnt you like our sporty outfits -coming back from a long hike- ? If you care for human dignity, pass your way!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Olivier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
551 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 540 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A small and charming Hotel, like a "secret hint" to enjoy. The location is just wonderful, not too far from Lugano (you may walk on the impressing "sendero de Gandria", and there is a small station for private boats in front of the hotel. The view over the lake is magnificent, the prices are resasonable. The owners are very motivated and ensure a personal service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Culturetraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
389 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Elvezia is a ferry stop away from Lugano, but a world away from any hint of city or tourists. The charming inn's terrace restaurant overhangs the lake and is the perfect place to laze away morning, lunch, or evening hours as gentle breezes blow and light changes on the water. The hotel and rooms are filled with antiques, but they are Swiss-immaculate with modern bathrooms. Ours was on the top floor and commanded a view out of tall windows over small balconies.

The rate of 180 ChF double came with the best breakfasts (cheeses, cereals, meats, eggs, breads, juices, ...) we had in Switzerland. A good rate in pricy Tincino. The dinners were wonderful--the Italian influence in full force.

Ferry rides from the front door take you to Guardia, Morcote, Lugano, and beyond. A pretty, lake-side path (car free) connects the Hotel with Lugano or Guardia.

Finally, enjoy Rosie who oversees all--she is outgoing, helpful, and truly cares that your stay is memorable.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have tall windows and the best views. Our room, number five, was on the corner and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlem
Level Contributor
108 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

Hotel Elvezia is just like the pictures it shows on the website. Romantic and a magnificent location, great views and for that area a reasonable price for the rooms.
Rosi the manager is a gem. Funny, happy and very helpful. For her we would return.
All in all we were very positve and happy with our stay.
However,some things I had mixed feelings about. We had the suite, a nice spacious room,an extra small room,own terrace(terrible loungers) and wonderful lake views. But I was absolutely astonished that the room has no curtains and no blinds or nothing to keep the sun out. Think you can't sell a room that has no curtains or you should inform your guests on forehand. Fortunately the light in September only starts pooring in at 7 am, so we didn't switch rooms. In summer it must be very annoying. On the up side it does have many windows you can open and an airco in an alcove ,but that is not sufficient to cool the entire place. What I really didn't like was that the room was never cleaned during our 5 day stay, the bathroom was and I had to ask for clean towels or else wouldn't have got any fresh ones.
The room can only be reached from the outside by mounting a lot of steps,but that is also part of the charm, beacuase you have the best view from the windows. Breakfast is fine ,same every day.and the food in the restaurant on the lake is average and not cheap. One evening I had a scorched schnitzel, which they served anyhow. Pizza and canneloni great. And sitting there is so nice that somehow you don't really mind.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank haro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

Our first visit to this hotel in July 2008 was wonderful, the second a dismal diappointment. While we did book the day before, we were not told that we would be given the only room that does not face the lake. The view is basically the unique feature of the hotel. The room was also not terribly well kept and the balcony doors would not close. My mother and I were travelling with my baby and were not given any help with our bags to and from the carpark, despite asking very politely and noticing several male staff members sitting around smoking and drinking coffee. On our arrival a nice young guy helped us with our bags upstairs but no help was given on the way down. Curiously, on our previous trip my husband and I were assisted with our bags. We also were not told that a very large group of guests would be eating in the small restaurant and, as such, only a very limited menu of tripe, rabbit pasta and pasta with meat chunks was available. Very disappointing all in all. We definitely would not return and would not again recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZurichKarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Moosmann
Hotel Moosmann
#1 of 1 in Gandria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#37 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Eden
Grand Hotel Eden
#26 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
2.1 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#21 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elvezia al Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elvezia al Lago

Property: Hotel Elvezia al Lago
Address: sentiero di Gandria 21, Lugano 6976, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elvezia al Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Elvezia al Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elvezia Al Lago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing