We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and remote” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elvezia al Lago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Elvezia al Lago to your Saves list
Hotel Elvezia al Lago
Sentiero di Gandria 21, Lugano 6976, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Switzerland
Level Contributor
409 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
“Charming and remote”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A small and charming Hotel, like a "secret hint" to enjoy. The location is just wonderful, not too far from Lugano (you may walk on the impressing "sendero de Gandria", and there is a small station for private boats in front of the hotel. The view over the lake is magnificent, the prices are resasonable. The owners are very motivated and ensure a personal service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Culturetraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
290 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Elvezia is a ferry stop away from Lugano, but a world away from any hint of city or tourists. The charming inn's terrace restaurant overhangs the lake and is the perfect place to laze away morning, lunch, or evening hours as gentle breezes blow and light changes on the water. The hotel and rooms are filled with antiques, but they are Swiss-immaculate with modern bathrooms. Ours was on the top floor and commanded a view out of tall windows over small balconies.

The rate of 180 ChF double came with the best breakfasts (cheeses, cereals, meats, eggs, breads, juices, ...) we had in Switzerland. A good rate in pricy Tincino. The dinners were wonderful--the Italian influence in full force.

Ferry rides from the front door take you to Guardia, Morcote, Lugano, and beyond. A pretty, lake-side path (car free) connects the Hotel with Lugano or Guardia.

Finally, enjoy Rosie who oversees all--she is outgoing, helpful, and truly cares that your stay is memorable.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have tall windows and the best views. Our room, number five, was on the corner and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haarlem
Level Contributor
91 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Hotel Elvezia is just like the pictures it shows on the website. Romantic and a magnificent location, great views and for that area a reasonable price for the rooms.
Rosi the manager is a gem. Funny, happy and very helpful. For her we would return.
All in all we were very positve and happy with our stay.
However,some things I had mixed feelings about. We had the suite, a nice spacious room,an extra small room,own terrace(terrible loungers) and wonderful lake views. But I was absolutely astonished that the room has no curtains and no blinds or nothing to keep the sun out. Think you can't sell a room that has no curtains or you should inform your guests on forehand. Fortunately the light in September only starts pooring in at 7 am, so we didn't switch rooms. In summer it must be very annoying. On the up side it does have many windows you can open and an airco in an alcove ,but that is not sufficient to cool the entire place. What I really didn't like was that the room was never cleaned during our 5 day stay, the bathroom was and I had to ask for clean towels or else wouldn't have got any fresh ones.
The room can only be reached from the outside by mounting a lot of steps,but that is also part of the charm, beacuase you have the best view from the windows. Breakfast is fine ,same every day.and the food in the restaurant on the lake is average and not cheap. One evening I had a scorched schnitzel, which they served anyhow. Pizza and canneloni great. And sitting there is so nice that somehow you don't really mind.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank haro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Our first visit to this hotel in July 2008 was wonderful, the second a dismal diappointment. While we did book the day before, we were not told that we would be given the only room that does not face the lake. The view is basically the unique feature of the hotel. The room was also not terribly well kept and the balcony doors would not close. My mother and I were travelling with my baby and were not given any help with our bags to and from the carpark, despite asking very politely and noticing several male staff members sitting around smoking and drinking coffee. On our arrival a nice young guy helped us with our bags upstairs but no help was given on the way down. Curiously, on our previous trip my husband and I were assisted with our bags. We also were not told that a very large group of guests would be eating in the small restaurant and, as such, only a very limited menu of tripe, rabbit pasta and pasta with meat chunks was available. Very disappointing all in all. We definitely would not return and would not again recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZurichKarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

I am thinking back about our stay this summer for 4 nights at the Hotel Elvezia with great fondness. The location is out of a movie. Very quiet, but so close to the city, wonderful views of the lake and the mountains on the other side. We did some great hiking there, leaving from the hotel. The food at breakfast was great, and the owner always very gracious. Will go back any time...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelleCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

This little hotel is a romantic and charming one. Simple and in one of the most beautiful places of Switzerland... You wake up seeing the lake and the bird's songs... You feel like home, there. I recommend it.
Just one another thing: you must walk about 7 minutes to reach the hotel, because there is no street, but the way is good and very very beautiful, and there is a stand to get your luggage.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaY4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2007

What a nice surprise! We loved our stay thanks to this hotel in great part. Will come back!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
Helpful?
Thank fernandofel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
2.7 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#13 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Moosmann
Hotel Moosmann
#1 of 1 in Gandria
4.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
2.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
2.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elvezia al Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elvezia al Lago

Address: Sentiero di Gandria 21, Lugano 6976, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Elvezia al Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elvezia Al Lago Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#