We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, shabby room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Carlo Garni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
102 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great location, shabby room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Let's start with the upside: this location is tough to beat--right on the main shopping street in sunny Lugano, steps from the lake shore, and an easy walk from the funicular (make sure to take the funicular down from the train station, not a cab). And the staff were very nice. An aside: I found generally that people in Ticino were more reluctant to speak English than elsewhere in our travels--but would gladly switch from Italian [which I don't speak beyond a few phrases] to German [which I do].

The bad news: our room was strangely configured (with the shower and a water closet flanking the entry (you step from the shower into the room), and a sink around the corner into the main part of the room. Very odd and impractical. Paint and furnishings badly need updating. The beds and breakfast unfortunately ranked at the bottom of our lodgings on this trip (9, spread across Switzerland and Germany). Very likable staff and an unbeatable location make this worth considering--but the owners here are missing an opportunity, it seems.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street side of the building, but the street noise wasn't bothersome at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wrb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    49
    27
    4
    7
See reviews for
34
30
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel by its proximity to the train station (and funicular), its room rates, and TripAdvisor ratings. The hotel is family-owned and has only 20 rooms. We arrived early on the train and were allowed to check into our room by 8:30am. The front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was small, but adequate and amazingly quiet. There was no AC, but there was a small fan that helped cool the room at night. The small analog TV had no English channels. The sink, toilet, and shower were separate from each other. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the boat docks and the old town area. The breakfast was minimal, but adequate (breads, fruit, biscuits, juice, coffee, and tea).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First the good : very central location, free wifi, very sweet and helpful elderly gentleman on reception.
The bad: everything else, with special mention to the lack of comfort in the rooms, terrible beds and bed linen that must have been the cheapest possibly available 25 years ago.

The hotel would make a perfect prison, all it would need is biggest locks on the doors.

Room Tip: An upgrade is possible, by getting arrested and spending the night in police cells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holte2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lugano hotels

New Delhi, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We booked this hotel for the proximity to Lugano lake & Funicular station . During our 2 day stay we were provided excellent service & out of the way care in many small things like the right plug for the Laptop , complimentary tickets to swiss miniature , use of hotel kitchen & making arrangements for sight seeing . The owners are a caring lot ,will recommend stay at this hotel & would love to come back in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VIKAS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Good, clean and friendly hotel, very situated right in the middle of the town centre and minutes from the waterfront. Rooms are nothing special but clean and adequately equiped. The staff were very friendly and very helpful which always makes a big difference. Some noise from the street below at night but have experienced far worse. Breakfast is a simple affair but does the job! Would go back, would recommend to friends/family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Forced, (bullied) into paying 100 euros for an old key that broke in my room door lock. Key broke with no obvious difficulties with lock. I was threatened with being charged for the room they offered me, as I could not gain access my room, the key it self , and the labour to fix the lock. We argued about this my entire 3 night stay. In the end, I paid 100 euros, only because my friend had booked the room, and they threatened that had her passport details. I was stressed with this, everyday of my stay in Lugano.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjaParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

It would have been useful to know that the hotel was near the funicular when we arrived at the train station, as the taxi was about CHF 18 and funicular around CHF 1! The hotel itself is quite basic, and the room was small, but adequate. Just outside is the top shopping street and the lakefront is nearby. Wi-Fi and a basic breakfast were included.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#24 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#37 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Acquarello
Albergo Acquarello
#35 of 45 in Lugano
3.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.4 mi away
Hotel Colorado Lugano
Hotel Colorado Lugano
#28 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 stars 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo Garni

Property: Hotel San Carlo Garni
Address: via Nassa 28, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Carlo Garni 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel San Carlo Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing