We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service & out of the way care.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent service & out of the way care.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We booked this hotel for the proximity to Lugano lake & Funicular station . During our 2 day stay we were provided excellent service & out of the way care in many small things like the right plug for the Laptop , complimentary tickets to swiss miniature , use of hotel kitchen & making arrangements for sight seeing . The owners are a caring lot ,will recommend stay at this hotel & would love to come back in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VIKAS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    63
    31
    6
    8
See reviews for
45
36
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Good, clean and friendly hotel, very situated right in the middle of the town centre and minutes from the waterfront. Rooms are nothing special but clean and adequately equiped. The staff were very friendly and very helpful which always makes a big difference. Some noise from the street below at night but have experienced far worse. Breakfast is a simple affair but does the job! Would go back, would recommend to friends/family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Forced, (bullied) into paying 100 euros for an old key that broke in my room door lock. Key broke with no obvious difficulties with lock. I was threatened with being charged for the room they offered me, as I could not gain access my room, the key it self , and the labour to fix the lock. We argued about this my entire 3 night stay. In the end, I paid 100 euros, only because my friend had booked the room, and they threatened that had her passport details. I was stressed with this, everyday of my stay in Lugano.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjaParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lugano hotels

Thailand
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

It would have been useful to know that the hotel was near the funicular when we arrived at the train station, as the taxi was about CHF 18 and funicular around CHF 1! The hotel itself is quite basic, and the room was small, but adequate. Just outside is the top shopping street and the lakefront is nearby. Wi-Fi and a basic breakfast were included.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKKMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo Ca
Level Contributor
163 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent 2 nights here and were very satisfied. Moderate price for expensive Lugano and a great location. Funicular to the train (1.10 CHF -must pay in CHF) only a short walk in pedestrian area which has many stores and restaurants. The lake promenade is one block away.
The entrance is narrow between store fronts and there is no lobby except the front desk.
Our room # 31 had a carved natural wood decor with large wardrobe closet. Room no smaller than most for a "garni" hotel. Very clean, of course. Super nice staff at front desk. Simple breakfast. We would return if in Lugano again.

Room Tip: Room 31 small but comfortable, no view except across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Goldig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I recently stayed here (October 1-3, 2012) and was very happy with my room. I'm not sure why some reviews say the decor is outdated; room 43 had perfect Swiss decor. The room was large and fully equipped. The bathroom (and the entire room) was exceptionally clean. Having just arrived from Venice, Italy I found this hotel fantastic. Beppe and his wife were the perfect hosts, as were all staff we interacted with. Breakfast is standard European fare, perhaps chain hotels offer something more "western". (Croissants were excellent!). Would absolutely stay here again. Perfect, safe location for female travelers.

Room Tip: Room 43 was quiet, clean and included a small view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PSIMKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is nothing fancy, but centrally located and clean. Breakfast was the typical ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, bread, etc. but it was plentiful.

Be sure when arriving by train to walk across the street and take the funicular down. At the bottom, walk to your right. We were tired from traveling and elected to take a taxi which basically drove us down the hill and charged us a flat fee of 20€.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyn405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#21 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#38 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.2 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Acquarello
Albergo Acquarello
#34 of 45 in Lugano
3.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo Garni

Property: Hotel San Carlo Garni
Address: via Nassa 28, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Carlo Garni 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel San Carlo Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing