We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is nothing fancy, but centrally located and clean. Breakfast was the typical ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs, bread, etc. but it was plentiful.

Be sure when arriving by train to walk across the street and take the funicular down. At the bottom, walk to your right. We were tired from traveling and elected to take a taxi which basically drove us down the hill and charged us a flat fee of 20€.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lyn405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Carlo Garni
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 136 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

The room was very outdated. It looks really old and It's in desperate need of some renovation. The breakfast wasn't worth having, it would be better if they just didn't serve it. Very disappointing indeed. But then again, staff were very friendly and the hotel is very central.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a very pleasant one night stay here, en route from Switzerland to begin a cruise in Venice. It is handily situated, just one street back from the lake and we had two rooms, one of which was smaller and more recently renovated - the other being larger and still perfectly satisfactory.

We had booked online and had great communication from the office, and upon arrival the front desk staff were particularly helpful and efficient.

The rooms were both very clean, as was the breakfast room with the meal being a good start to the day. I would thoroughly recommend the San Carlo as a good place for travellers wanting a solid, if not flashy, place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel is in the centre of Lugano, near the Lake, near two commercial centres and near everything. It's easy to arrive to the hotel from the train station by using the funiculare, and while coming from the train station isn't a big deal, going back with luggages could be really tiring (the train station is the peak of the city).

About the staff: They were absolutely helpful in everything, from providing a good breakfast, checking all the time if you needed something else, to help me making a call because I had lost my ID card in the last hotel we were staying at.

Breakfast: it's not a buffet, but you get bread, croissants, cheese, orange juice, marmalade, butter, coffee, tea or chocolate, and, of course, water. The breakfast room is really clean, like everything else in the hotel.

Rooms: Clean, big enough and slightly outdated. We were in the first floor and as we left the window open during the night, we could hear some noise in the street but we could sleep perfectly fine.

I'd highly recommend this hotel and I'd definitely come back if I travelled again to Lugano. It might be a 2* hotel, but it felt better than other 3* hotels that I've been at.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TripMember081820154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

This Garni hotel is an excellent value: great position for visiting the city, a parking lot is just a few meters behind the hotel, so it is very comfortable to get there. Rooms are small and not very attractive, they are no-frills but are very functional and have all you really need: cleanliness, good shower, comfortable beds. Breakfast is a little bit limited in choice, but tastes good. The owners are very friendly. A final word... the hotel is open all night long.
In brief: a good value.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlop_oOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Given Lugano's outrageous rates, €150 paid for evening (family of 3) seemed reasonable. Location cannot be more central and convenient, provided you are not driving or do not rely on taxis. Agree 100% with other reviews here: very friendly and helpful staff at reception, that made our stay even more enjoyable. The rooms are O.K. in size, the furniture is outdated and a bit worn out, but nothing disturbing. So... thumbs up for San Carlo Garni...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed at the Hotel San Carlo for two nights in August 2011. The fantastic location puts you in the heart of Lugano, on a pedestrian-friendly street just a few minutes from the Piazza della Riforma, the lakefront, and the funicular to the train station. Rooms were quirky but clean -- a good choice if you're used to affordable European accommodations, but perhaps a little sparse if you've only traveled stateside. Perhaps the best part of Hotel San Carlo was the staff -- we spoke very little Italian, so we were grateful for the reception staff who spoke wonderful English and even helped us learn some Italian phrases. Good breakfast included, with coffee, juice and pastries served in the hotel's breakfast room.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
4  Thank maggie_mlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#36 of 45 in Lugano
74 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#14 of 45 in Lugano
357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#23 of 45 in Lugano
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#7 of 45 in Lugano
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Carlo Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Carlo Garni

Address: via Nassa 28, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: $108 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Carlo Garni 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Carlo Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing