We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean and Great Location”
Review of Hotel Zurigo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Zurigo
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The wasn't the easiest place to get to from the train station but it was so close to a lot of great eating places and pedestrian walking and shopping areas. Just a short walk to the lake. Quite and clean, breakfast was average.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Zurigo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 136 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

The 3 best things about this hotel are its location, its location and its location (just few steps from Lugano's pedestrian streets). And also its underground parking. The rest is just OK and could offer more or better, given it isn't cheap. The things that would be candidate to be improved are the reception (a smile and a nice word never hurt), the room door's phonic isolation (you can't miss any word of anyone speaking in the corridor ... I assume they will also benefit from your in-room conversations!), the 80's furnished bathrooms and the breakfast (the room has no charm, tis noisy and the choice is limited). With few investments and just a little more friendly attitude, this place would be stunning. But the logic of profit is probably stronger there than the desire to please customers...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardL142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

in a very expensive city as Lugano a very clean, right in the center small hotel that can accommodate non spoiled visitors
No air-condition for humid and hot summer days
Best room the one with the balcony, minutes away from bus terminal the lake and central square
you won't see the staff very often so keep the key with you
Breakfast is very basic .Why don't you go to the opposite little coffee shop and have a corneto and a fantastic Caputchino
Knowing now
I would defiantly go back and spend my money wondering in the Morcote area

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikolakopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Good basic unfussy hotel in Central Lugano We used it as a central location to tour the Swiss and Italian lakes.Basic clean rooms,reasonable breakfast A hotel for real travelers and a short walk to centre of Lugano and lake

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0ny1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

In a good location just a bit away from the centre and by the bus station, with easy motorway access and great underground parking. I had a new, comfy and good sized room in the new top floor, which was spotlessly clean and had a platform for opening the suitcase, which is rare these days. The bathroom is a small, but beautifully formed prefabricated pod, but has a good sized shower with plenty of hot water, w.c. and basin and the towels were changed daily. I found the feather duvet too warm and it was changed for a blanket by the very friendly chambermaid. The free wifi was not accessible from the room but I could get a signal outside in the corridor where there is seating. Breakfast is plentiful and efficiently served.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quiet and those on the top floor are brand new.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Biba854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The room was very small and basic: the bathroom is tiny and very similar to the one you would get in a caravan. In addition the room at the front of the hotel was very noisy due to the busy street. The staff were not very friendly and at times quite rude. I'm afraid, but also the breakfast is really lousy. ... and the price you pay for such a treatment is really high (180 francs for a double room). This is one of the worst hotel I've ever been to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fratami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Ideal location for long walks along the lake and the old city center. 1 minute walk from central bus station, which was very convenient to go longer distance. Very decent level of services - renovated, clean and quiet rooms that are functional and sufficient. Enjoyed a solid breakfast and helpful staff. Off-season price is perhaps a bit expensive for the offerings, however we saved on taxi and other extras due to its great location. Would stay there again! Bravo

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room on the top floor
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#13 of 45 in Lugano
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Acquarello
Albergo Acquarello
#33 of 45 in Lugano
287 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#34 of 45 in Lugano
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#26 of 45 in Lugano
68 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#36 of 45 in Lugano
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Stella Hotel
Albergo Stella Hotel
#20 of 45 in Lugano
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zurigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zurigo

Address: Corso Pestalozzi 13, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: $165 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zurigo 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Zurigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zurigo Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing