We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good for a budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
GreenLeadersSilver level
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good for a budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed as a family for 1 night on our way to another place. The budget hotel was real value for money. The rooms were small but comfortable and clean. There was a double bed in each room with a bunk bed on top for any kids (above 6 yrs old only).
The only odd thing about the hotel was that the shower stall was next to the bed with a translucent glass door so you couldnt shower in privacy. Also the shower stall and the toilet both didnt have any locks. The sink was open in the room.
Otherwise the room was fine. There is no room service for food or phones in the room. Wifi was free and available in all the rooms.
Location was great. Very close to the center. And also very close to the Paradiso train station. We got off at the Paradiso train station and it was a 5 minute walk from there with easy directions (lots of clear signs showing the way). Also close to bus stops.
Good deal for the money and ok for a short stay if you are not planning to stay for too long in the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    180
    96
    30
    15
See reviews for
73
168
31
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

In Lugano IBIS chain has 2 hotels. Regular "IBIS" and "IBIS Budget Hotel".

I have stayed in IBIS Budget Hotel (opened in July 2012). Although it is classified as 1* property, i had a very nice experience. First of all, the price was very acceptable (around 75 CHF + 2 CHF tourist tax) and this was the lowest price i could find in Lugano, but the service level and quality of the room was much better comparing to some 3* hotels (based on the conversation i had with my friend who have also been in Lugano in the same period).

The room is not that big, but still it was big enough for me to feel comfortable. Bed was great and i had no problems sleeping. This is a king size bed. I had a separate toilet. The shower is entered directly from the room, and the sink is in the corner of the room. So, for me traveling alone this was perfect, simple but perfect. I guess this room set-up will also we fine for couples, but in case you want to share room with the colleague maybe is better to take 2 separate rooms.

Room was extra clean. Towel are changed every day, but my advice is to bring shampoo and hairdryer, since hotel only provide soaps. My room overlooked the lake and the view was magnificent.

Hotel is located in the so-called Paradiso area. Hotel is located on 10 minutes walking along the lake to the city center + additional 5 minutes to the Congress Center + additional 5 minutes to the University.

Taxi from Railway stations to the hotel i paid 15 CHF.

I did not take breakfast, i found it a little expensive and it is served in IBIS regular hotel.

Parking is provided.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Igor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've stayed at a couple of Ibis (budget) hotels before, so I'm familiar with the formula. The no-frills offerings.The green grass motif that is cute at first but then starts to remind you of how McDonald's used to have paintings of their mascots on their walls. Etc. Etc.

But this is the worst one I've ever stayed at.

Firstly, the parking situation was incredibly confusing. There was a lack of signage all around. There are two hotels (three if you count the 'regular' Ibis and not the Budget version) using the same parking garage. There was minimal signage before entering the garage, so you didn't know in advance how much the parking was going to cost (FYI - 20 Francs per night!!). There isn't adequate signage inside the garage, so it's difficult to navigate the underground maze leading to hotel reception. (It could be partially my fault, as although it was obvious where one needed to enter the hotel, it appeared to be guarded by a key card reader - as we'd not checked into the hotel yet, I thought the door wouldn't open. I was later told by the front desk staff that it WOULD open without a key. I just didn't try the door, as based upon past experience, I was looking for another entrance way into the garage.) Anyhow, this was annoying and time-wasting start to the check in process. I'll skip the check-in process for now.

Inside the room was typical Ibis budget fare. However, it was freezing cold and there was no way to adjust the temperature. The bunk bed on top was poorly laid out, resulting in banging one's head getting in and out of the bed underneath. The construction of the toilet room door was laughable - it was a cheap piece of plywood with exposed metal hinges - a thinner version of the swinging door in the OK Corral Saloon. The door didn't even go all the way to the bottom, so there was not a lot of privacy. It felt like I was very exposed using the washroom, which is not a nice feeling when you are travelling with someone.

I paid the requisite extra money for the wireless internet. However, the password and login combo was not working when I followed the supposedly 'correct' instructions amended by the check-in fellow. But, after wasting a lot of time, I just followed the network details on the slip as printed, and they worked.

The check-in and check-out process was tedious. There was only one person working both times, and we had to wait for a long time. Another man popped into the scene, but apparently had to go elsewhere right away. There seemed to be some issue with English language comprehension with the female staffer at one point. She was pleasant enough, but it just seemed to operate at a snail's pace.

There were no restaurants in the area open a little later in the evening (I can't recall the exact time - around 10 pm?). The only option was to drive a little ways to the McDonalds. The vending machine items were limited and overpriced (yes, I know it's Switzerland, but even so.)

On the plus - it is in a good location if you want to visit the funicular. (I didn't end up using it, as I found out it was apprx 46 Francs return!) Anyhow, there were nice cafes in the area. The rooms are relatively modern in appearance as it's a newer hotel.

I know there aren't a lot of budget or low-priced properties in beautiful Lugano, so this is an option to consider. But I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank youthfulcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lugano hotels

baton rouge, la
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed at Ibis Budget, which is part of the new Novotel and Ibis Hotels. They are all connected by hallways and stairs. I chose this hotel for a quick one night layover between trains. Basically, I chose it as it was new and low priced for Switzerland. It is very basic. There is no shampoo or hair dryer, so although I was pleased to have ac, I left with my hair wet on the train the next day! The beds are hard and the sheets are rough, maybe 200 threadcount, but they were extremely clean, like no one had ever been in the room. The shower sits in the middle of the room, so dont expect privacy and the toilet door does not lock. If you know to expect accomodations similiar to a travel trailer, you will be fine. The hotel was quiet and our room overlooked the pool to the Novotel, which you do not have access to. The breakfast for 11Euros was fine, and I was real pleased to have coffee waiting for me instead of going elsewhere. I found the stay to be an adventure, but my husband thought it was too basic. The area around the hotel is nice and we felt very safe here. The check in was overwhelming for the young lady working the desk, and she could use some help with all the questions from guests, but hopefully, they will work it out since it has only been open 2 months!

Room Tip: Ask to overlook the Novotel pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherrychipc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Lugano can get really hot. My first instinct when booking a room in this area is that the hotel MUST have air condition. I found this Ibis Budget at Paradiso-Lugano. Although there is no a/c switch as such, but you can definitely feel the comfortable air once you are inside the establishment and your room. They controlled the a/c centrally however they didn't really blast it. So it was nice, and comfy. The location is also great. Within 10 minutes of walking distance from the Lugano center.

The room is well kept clean and neat...A very simple room . You DO however, need to bring your own shampoo as they only provide small soaps.

For under USD80/night, you can't beat this price in this touristy location !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spotmenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed 5 nights at the Ibis Budget. Staff is very friendly and helpful for a one star hotel. Rooms are very basic but that is all I needed and do not want to pay for more that I would no use anyway. Beds are comfortable and I slept very well with the windows shut. Wifi available foc and connection is reasonably fast. The friendly staff made my stay very enjoyable and I will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winthorp35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#17 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
0.8 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#20 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso

Property: Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
Address: via Geretta 10 | Lugano Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso 1*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing