We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location lots to do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lugano

Lake Lugano
Book In Advance
$68*
and up
Three Lakes Day Tour from Stresa
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great location lots to do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

a busy city with commerce and banking at the fore. Good walks to be had to and in the centre, especially the pedestrianized old parts. We walked round to Mont Bre and beyond, excellent walking with good places to stop and refresh. Local Lido recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,251
    507
    84
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in the small town of Ascona - right on Lake Lugano. Italy and Switzerland share a border there.
The town is lovely with many small local restaurants right on the lake front. We had the most amazing lemon pasta that we'd ever eaten in our lives. It's a local specialty - just wide noodles, lemon zest, lemon juice, cream and salt and pepper - amazing!
There are ferries that go up and down the lake stopping in many small towns - you pay one price and can get on and off as much as you like. The lake is pristine.
We also visited many of the other lakes - each one is sppecial but this one beats them all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos, SP
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxing place!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just amazed about it's green gardens, wonderful promenade and calm waters. Don't forget to grip a Gellato and enjoy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ThiagoBilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,ky
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“water taxi to gondoria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We ride water taxi to Gondoria was very fun ride. About 20min ferry ride and we ate a lunch at Gondoria which was fishing village.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank yummyRichmond_ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

To see this site is to know there is a heaven. The mountains, the crystal clear lake and all the quaint homes force you to look at every nook and cranny. Heavenly homes, churches, gardens all draw attention.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank aleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Lugano also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Lake Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing