We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, money grabbing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lido Seegarten
Ranked #31 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I should have paid attention to the other reviews talking about bad service - the service in general is slow and very un-Swiss; my main issue is they do not allow any food or drinks (except water) to be consumed by the pool unless you bought it from the hotel (for insane prices). Even if you buy a coffee or glass of wine, you can't consume any food you brought. Unless you're willing to shell out significant sums (or not have any refreshments at all) you probably won't spend much time by the deck/pool.

The room I had was fine, quite large, although decorated based on mid-20th century style. The hotel seems targeted towards those who are retired or infirm, e.g. the shower has an alarm cord. The clientele I've seen at breakfast seems to confirm this. Stay in Paradiso if you want a more vibrant crowd.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 202 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice hotel, directly on the lake. Close to Restaurants, Bus and Boat station, shopping and hiking. Nice size rooms, clean, great hotel staff. The breakfast was wonderful with a nice selection of food.

Room Tip: Lake view, great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I am a regular customer at the Lido but not out of choice. There are a few good things about the hotel such as the lake view and the superb restaurant food. Its short falling is its front desk and hideous room decor--wall-to-wall green carpets, pastel peach-colored walls, and pastel green bed and side tables. Customer service shows when you are faced with a problem, and the front desk failed me twice. The first time when my meeting ran over the schedule and I requested one-hour later for check out. The second time when I had a problem with my room and I asked for another one. Both times the front desk acted as if it was the most difficult request (and I'm a regular customer). She denied me the first time and the second time she managed to give me a worst room than the first one. The hotel has so much potential and it can easily become the best hotel in Lugano if they renovate the rooms and send their front desk staff for training! (PS: restaurant and bar staff are fantastic...they should give the front desk some tips!)

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ranaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I´ve been a few times in this hotel and it always puzzles me the huge difference between the very elegant and tasty decoration of the common areas, and the ugly aspect of the rooms. Rooms with such a great view definitely deserved a more clean, contemporary decoration. In summary: a wonderful hotel if you don´t consider the rooms decoration.

Room Tip: Any room facing the lake offer astonishing views.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank LuizGalando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

To have a room with view over the lake is a must. Ideal location and very dedicated staff. Delicious breakfast and food, the terrace is a beautiful place where to relax and enjoy the serene atmosphere of the lake.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My room was booked for me as part of a conference, and I was disappointed to find that it was quite small, facing inland over the street (which however is reasonably quiet at night), and somewhat lacking in basic facilities such as a convenient electric socket for charging a phone or tablet. The restaurant has a spectacular lake view and the food is good Italian-Swiss. So "adequate" must be the verdict. Key point: when booking, ensure a lake view.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank London Frequent Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location of the hotel is simply perfect!! The hotel stuff is so helpful. The hotel cleanliness and room furniture is satisfying!. The restaurant services great & delicious food for breakfast & dinner with a great atmospheric view on the lake!

You can reach the city center from the hotel within 10-15 min walking and enjoy exploring the city or you can use the bus if you're a lazy [--] :P

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrtieonafly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#24 of 45 in Lugano
301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 45 in Lugano
236 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#12 of 45 in Lugano
384 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido Seegarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido Seegarten

Address: viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: $153 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lido Seegarten 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lido Seegarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Seegarten Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing