We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, money grabbing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lido Seegarten
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Terrible service, money grabbing hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I should have paid attention to the other reviews talking about bad service - the service in general is slow and very un-Swiss; my main issue is they do not allow any food or drinks (except water) to be consumed by the pool unless you bought it from the hotel (for insane prices). Even if you buy a coffee or glass of wine, you can't consume any food you brought. Unless you're willing to shell out significant sums (or not have any refreshments at all) you probably won't spend much time by the deck/pool.

The room I had was fine, quite large, although decorated based on mid-20th century style. The hotel seems targeted towards those who are retired or infirm, e.g. the shower has an alarm cord. The clientele I've seen at breakfast seems to confirm this. Stay in Paradiso if you want a more vibrant crowd.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    70
    47
    20
    8
See reviews for
17
57
19
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice hotel, directly on the lake. Close to Restaurants, Bus and Boat station, shopping and hiking. Nice size rooms, clean, great hotel staff. The breakfast was wonderful with a nice selection of food.

Room Tip: Lake view, great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amman
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I am a regular customer at the Lido but not out of choice. There are a few good things about the hotel such as the lake view and the superb restaurant food. Its short falling is its front desk and hideous room decor--wall-to-wall green carpets, pastel peach-colored walls, and pastel green bed and side tables. Customer service shows when you are faced with a problem, and the front desk failed me twice. The first time when my meeting ran over the schedule and I requested one-hour later for check out. The second time when I had a problem with my room and I asked for another one. Both times the front desk acted as if it was the most difficult request (and I'm a regular customer). She denied me the first time and the second time she managed to give me a worst room than the first one. The hotel has so much potential and it can easily become the best hotel in Lugano if they renovate the rooms and send their front desk staff for training! (PS: restaurant and bar staff are fantastic...they should give the front desk some tips!)

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ranaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I´ve been a few times in this hotel and it always puzzles me the huge difference between the very elegant and tasty decoration of the common areas, and the ugly aspect of the rooms. Rooms with such a great view definitely deserved a more clean, contemporary decoration. In summary: a wonderful hotel if you don´t consider the rooms decoration.

Room Tip: Any room facing the lake offer astonishing views.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LuizGalando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

To have a room with view over the lake is a must. Ideal location and very dedicated staff. Delicious breakfast and food, the terrace is a beautiful place where to relax and enjoy the serene atmosphere of the lake.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My room was booked for me as part of a conference, and I was disappointed to find that it was quite small, facing inland over the street (which however is reasonably quiet at night), and somewhat lacking in basic facilities such as a convenient electric socket for charging a phone or tablet. The restaurant has a spectacular lake view and the food is good Italian-Swiss. So "adequate" must be the verdict. Key point: when booking, ensure a lake view.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London Frequent Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location of the hotel is simply perfect!! The hotel stuff is so helpful. The hotel cleanliness and room furniture is satisfying!. The restaurant services great & delicious food for breakfast & dinner with a great atmospheric view on the lake!

You can reach the city center from the hotel within 10-15 min walking and enjoy exploring the city or you can use the bus if you're a lazy [--] :P

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrtieonafly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
1.0 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#23 of 45 in Lugano
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Eden
Grand Hotel Eden
#28 of 45 in Lugano
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido Seegarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido Seegarten

Property: Hotel Lido Seegarten
Address: viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lido Seegarten 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lido Seegarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Seegarten Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing