We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Terrible service, money grabbing hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lido Seegarten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lido Seegarten
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Terrible service, money grabbing hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I should have paid attention to the other reviews talking about bad service - the service in general is slow and very un-Swiss; my main issue is they do not allow any food or drinks (except water) to be consumed by the pool unless you bought it from the hotel (for insane prices). Even if you buy a coffee or glass of wine, you can't consume any food you brought. Unless you're willing to shell out significant sums (or not have any refreshments at all) you probably won't spend much time by the deck/pool.

The room I had was fine, quite large, although decorated based on mid-20th century style. The hotel seems targeted towards those who are retired or infirm, e.g. the shower has an alarm cord. The clientele I've seen at breakfast seems to confirm this. Stay in Paradiso if you want a more vibrant crowd.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    66
    40
    18
    8
See reviews for
16
55
17
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buford, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice hotel, directly on the lake. Close to Restaurants, Bus and Boat station, shopping and hiking. Nice size rooms, clean, great hotel staff. The breakfast was wonderful with a nice selection of food.

Room Tip: Lake view, great choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Werner6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amman
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I am a regular customer at the Lido but not out of choice. There are a few good things about the hotel such as the lake view and the superb restaurant food. Its short falling is its front desk and hideous room decor--wall-to-wall green carpets, pastel peach-colored walls, and pastel green bed and side tables. Customer service shows when you are faced with a problem, and the front desk failed me twice. The first time when my meeting ran over the schedule and I requested one-hour later for check out. The second time when I had a problem with my room and I asked for another one. Both times the front desk acted as if it was the most difficult request (and I'm a regular customer). She denied me the first time and the second time she managed to give me a worst room than the first one. The hotel has so much potential and it can easily become the best hotel in Lugano if they renovate the rooms and send their front desk staff for training! (PS: restaurant and bar staff are fantastic...they should give the front desk some tips!)

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view on the fourth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ranaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I´ve been a few times in this hotel and it always puzzles me the huge difference between the very elegant and tasty decoration of the common areas, and the ugly aspect of the rooms. Rooms with such a great view definitely deserved a more clean, contemporary decoration. In summary: a wonderful hotel if you don´t consider the rooms decoration.

Room Tip: Any room facing the lake offer astonishing views.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LuizGalando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

To have a room with view over the lake is a must. Ideal location and very dedicated staff. Delicious breakfast and food, the terrace is a beautiful place where to relax and enjoy the serene atmosphere of the lake.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

My room was booked for me as part of a conference, and I was disappointed to find that it was quite small, facing inland over the street (which however is reasonably quiet at night), and somewhat lacking in basic facilities such as a convenient electric socket for charging a phone or tablet. The restaurant has a spectacular lake view and the food is good Italian-Swiss. So "adequate" must be the verdict. Key point: when booking, ensure a lake view.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London Frequent Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location of the hotel is simply perfect!! The hotel stuff is so helpful. The hotel cleanliness and room furniture is satisfying!. The restaurant services great & delicious food for breakfast & dinner with a great atmospheric view on the lake!

You can reach the city center from the hotel within 10-15 min walking and enjoy exploring the city or you can use the bus if you're a lazy [--] :P

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrtieonafly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
0.9 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#21 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#24 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido Seegarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido Seegarten

Property: Hotel Lido Seegarten
Address: viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lido Seegarten 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lido Seegarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Seegarten Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing