We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lido Seegarten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Lido Seegarten to your Saves list
Hotel Lido Seegarten
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Lugano
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best view in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I´ve been a few times in this hotel and it always puzzles me the huge difference between the very elegant and tasty decoration of the common areas, and the ugly aspect of the rooms. Rooms with such a great view definitely deserved a more clean, contemporary decoration. In summary: a wonderful hotel if you don´t consider the rooms decoration.

Room Tip: Any room facing the lake offer astonishing views.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LuizGalando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

To have a room with view over the lake is a must. Ideal location and very dedicated staff. Delicious breakfast and food, the terrace is a beautiful place where to relax and enjoy the serene atmosphere of the lake.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

My room was booked for me as part of a conference, and I was disappointed to find that it was quite small, facing inland over the street (which however is reasonably quiet at night), and somewhat lacking in basic facilities such as a convenient electric socket for charging a phone or tablet. The restaurant has a spectacular lake view and the food is good Italian-Swiss. So "adequate" must be the verdict. Key point: when booking, ensure a lake view.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London Frequent Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location of the hotel is simply perfect!! The hotel stuff is so helpful. The hotel cleanliness and room furniture is satisfying!. The restaurant services great & delicious food for breakfast & dinner with a great atmospheric view on the lake!

You can reach the city center from the hotel within 10-15 min walking and enjoy exploring the city or you can use the bus if you're a lazy [--] :P

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I give this hotel a good rating because of the view, which compensates for any shortcomings. Do not bother staying here unless you get a room with a view of the lake. My room was big and clean, but very basic - more a 3* than a 4*. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom good, but the desk was substandard and there was not a proper chair to sit if you wanted to get some work done. The noise from the corridor and other rooms is also noticeable.

As for the service, I found it to be adequate. The restaurant is ok, particularly the breakfast (dinner was not that great in my opinion). The gym is also fine, but it is very odd to have to go up through a dimly lit corridor and ask for a key to get in there... I must say I didn't feel very comfortable in there and had to lock the door while I was working out.

Go for the lake view (I suppose this must be a terrific place to stay to enjoy the lake in warm weather)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The rooms may need some renovation soon. That is all for negative. Great location - ask for the room with lake view and a balcony (I had no. 401). Great restaraunt. Nice breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. This is not the center of Lugano, but it was not a problem for me. Take a train (funicular) to Monte Bre (3 minutes walk from the hotel) - the views are spectacular there.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank maxim_bobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for about a week, and the view from the small balcony of the room was amazing. It was a pleasure to have breakfast in the terrace right in front of the lake. The food was good, the room was quite small for the price but very clean and the view was worth it. The room was not sound-proof as they say, so I could hear every move on the corridor and from the upper level. There are no adaptors for the plugs so prepare your luggage with at least one adaptor for the Swiss plug as the standard European one doesn't fit. About 10 minutes walk to Lugano city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
1.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 506 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#13 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido Seegarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido Seegarten

Address: Viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lido Seegarten 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Lido Seegarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Seegarten Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing