We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Spectacular view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lido Seegarten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lido Seegarten
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Spectacular view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I give this hotel a good rating because of the view, which compensates for any shortcomings. Do not bother staying here unless you get a room with a view of the lake. My room was big and clean, but very basic - more a 3* than a 4*. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom good, but the desk was substandard and there was not a proper chair to sit if you wanted to get some work done. The noise from the corridor and other rooms is also noticeable.

As for the service, I found it to be adequate. The restaurant is ok, particularly the breakfast (dinner was not that great in my opinion). The gym is also fine, but it is very odd to have to go up through a dimly lit corridor and ask for a key to get in there... I must say I didn't feel very comfortable in there and had to lock the door while I was working out.

Go for the lake view (I suppose this must be a terrific place to stay to enjoy the lake in warm weather)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    60
    34
    18
    7
See reviews for
15
51
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The rooms may need some renovation soon. That is all for negative. Great location - ask for the room with lake view and a balcony (I had no. 401). Great restaraunt. Nice breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. This is not the center of Lugano, but it was not a problem for me. Take a train (funicular) to Monte Bre (3 minutes walk from the hotel) - the views are spectacular there.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank maxim_bobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for about a week, and the view from the small balcony of the room was amazing. It was a pleasure to have breakfast in the terrace right in front of the lake. The food was good, the room was quite small for the price but very clean and the view was worth it. The room was not sound-proof as they say, so I could hear every move on the corridor and from the upper level. There are no adaptors for the plugs so prepare your luggage with at least one adaptor for the Swiss plug as the standard European one doesn't fit. About 10 minutes walk to Lugano city center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraDora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Good service and nice lake view. The hotel is very good located as the city center is just a 5 minutes walk. However, our room was quite small and pretty dull. Overall, considering the average prices for Switzerland, it was a fair value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
207 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I suspect that high summer must be when this place gets going - as quiet in May as it was in November, and perhaps understandably the staff were keen to get late guests out of the restaurant as quickly as they could. But the food was well cooked and exactly what a late traveller wanted - simple salad and pasta. The bar was as far from party atmosphere as one can get, short of raving alone. The view in the morning was good for restoration of the soul, as was the swimming pool. But the breakfast needs improvement: another hotel that needs to discover the value of an egg chef!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The best part about staying in this hotel is the beautiful view of the lake. Make sure to book a room with a few. Apart form the view the hotel is average. It is not too expensive (for Lugano), but the rooms are small and dull.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BK1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed only one night and will certainly not stay there again. Except the lake view - I could no experience anything that was worth the price for the (very small) room. Dinner - exceptional expensive, but not really worth the price. Breakfast - I choose to have some other place around.
If you need to work, with having a table / desk, you will need to book a different room then I had.
Service - rather unfriendly, certainly not supportive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kudrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
1.0 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#24 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#10 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido Seegarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido Seegarten

Property: Hotel Lido Seegarten
Address: viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lido Seegarten 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lido Seegarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Seegarten Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing