We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great service with fantastic views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lido Seegarten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lido Seegarten
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Ottawa
Level Contributor
219 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great service with fantastic views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This is the fourth time k have stayed at this hotel. It offers great value in a country where everything costs a lot more than in other European countries.

The view on the lake is beautiful, the front desk and wait staff are very helpful and friendly. The quality of food in the dining room is surprisingly good for a hotel restaurant. There is variety and quality in the lunch and diner menu. No need to venture out.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalguyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    59
    31
    17
    6
See reviews for
14
47
17
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
207 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Hard to write a fair review of a hotel midweek in November. The view from the room over the water to the mountains was superb, especially in the diffuse early morning light; but the previous night in the restaurant, arriving late, had been bleak, through no fault of the hotel - it was just empty and joyless, as Novembers can be on business. Comfortable room, adequate if boring breakfast. I didn't have the courage to attempt the outdoor pool, lit at night, but should have done.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Be sure to reserve a room with a view of the Lake. The other rooms, facing the street, are long and narrow (I peeked inside one when the maids were cleaning), so be sure to spend the extra bucks and stay in the much larger rooms facing the lake -- for breathtaking views. It is evidently the only hotel with views of the lake, unobstructed by a street. The breakfasts were fine and they keep bringing you coffee, with no extra charge. Staff great too. The ambiance is a throw-back in time which is a plus for me (I dislike the slick yuppie-style places which are so rampant at the high end of the hotel scene). In fact, this hotel experience was memorable.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank MrSmartyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We recently shared a room with lake view and balcony in this marvenous hotel, the only one in Lugano directly on the lake. It boasts a large swimming pool, a pontoon and platform for swimmers in the lake, excellent facilties ans top notch service.
This is a place where you can rest happily and serenly. Excellent public rooms: bar with incredible selection, large dining room overlooking the lake. Many newspapers daily available. We only tried the breakfast buffet and it was really very good and served with class.
Highly recommend lakefront rooms: large and comfortable, balcony, etc.,

Room Tip: A lake front room is a necessity as the others are on the main road along the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SylvieR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there during 7 - 17 Nov, and opted for a lake view room. The hotel decor reminded me of a classic movie location set initially. But I was soon won over by the magnificent view of tranquility. It was qt chilly during my stay and I asked for a flask of hot water daily, which the staff obliged, even though it took them to understand what I was asking, as they spoke little English, mostly Italian.

Near to Lido are a 1-star Michelin restaurant & a short vernacular ride to Mt. Bre not to be missed. Book in advance, or even go in summer, so as not to be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hepburnfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

In comparison to other hotels in Lugano, this hotel was decent for the available rates. I took a room that faced lake lugano and it was relaxing to wake up every morning to a breathtaking view. The food prices are expensive,but then this is Switzerland. You'll probably expect that. A normal meal will easily costs you about 30 CH, the portions are big and can be shared. The staff was nice and friendly and went out of their way to help me. The rooms, however, are not quite sound proof and you can almost here what's happening in the other rooms.
Traveling to the city centre is convenient, just about 10 mins walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Nice hotel, and splendid location, on the lake of Lugano. The experience changes a lot of course if you do not get a room with lake view. The hotel can become a little noisy when is full, because ir is a little building. The food is good but kind of everpriced. Service is good, but nothing fancy or special. If you don' t get a room with lake view is not much worth the price ((the overall rating would drop in my evaluation).

Room Tip: Ask for lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bellevue Au Lac
0.9 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#23 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Eden
Grand Hotel Eden
#26 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido Seegarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido Seegarten

Property: Hotel Lido Seegarten
Address: Viale Castagnola 24, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lido Seegarten 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lido Seegarten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Seegarten Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing