We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Stella Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo Stella Hotel
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Monaca, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and it was wonderful. The hotel is in a convenient location close to the train station. It is very pretty, very clean, and quiet, and the rooms are quite comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and is in a beautiful room with outside seating. The artwork throughout the hotel is very pretty! The owners are so nice and helpful. We highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    43
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
34
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here with our two teenage girls. Very nice hotel, reasonably priced for Switzerland, very good location in Lugano, just a short walk from the train station and "downtown" Lugano. The owner and staff were very nice and friendly. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in November. It was just what was offered and it looked just like it was pictured in the site. I enjoy art quite a bit and the art pieces around the hotel, in the bedroom, around the hallway and all over made the stay much more enjoyable. The hosts are quite informative and very helpful. It was great to chat with them and learn a bit more about Switzerland in this Italian city. Hope you like the picture. Mr. Frog got my attention from the first time I visited the website and then I had to snap a pic with it :)

Room Tip: Ask the host, you'll get an honest answer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globoterraqueo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed at Albergo Stella for one night before boarding the Palm Express to St. Moritz. I went in November, during off season, and expected Lugano to be very low key. As soon as I arrived, someone helped bring my bags upstairs and I was immediately checked in by the very friendly, welcoming owner. My room was perfect for one person: very comfortable, nice, and clean. I had booked the room at the last minute and I noticed that some other rooms had balconies or views of the back garden: I'd suggest asking for one of those if possible. My room was facing the street but it was still very nice - no complaints! The hotel is a 5 min walk from the train station and also very close to downtown Lugano and the lakefront. Breakfast was fantastic. I really liked the carefully selected artwork and overall aesthetic of the hotel: simple but elegant for what it is. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the garden, or a room with a balcony, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We very much enjoyed our two nights at Stella. The hotel is a very short walk from the train station in a quiet space in between office buildings. The hotel's staff, led by Daniel, was extremely friendly and welcoming. Our room was small (especially the bathroom) but had a huge and beautiful balcony what we enjoyed using. Every morning they put out a nice fresh continental breakfast. We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 2 nights. This small, family owned hotel is just up a little from the train station and the lakefront. No one was at the desk but they were readily available. And helped with the luggage-thank you! The breakfast was simple but fresh, nice choices and served in a bright, aerie room.It was raining while I was there so couldn't take advantage of the pool but it looked nice. My room was simply furnished and very clean. No problems with water pressure or availability of hot water-plenty of both! My room was facing the street so I could hear street noise with the window open. Couldn't hear anything with the window closed. I never heard any of the other guests either. The friendly and knowledgeable owner arranged for an early morning taxi ride to the airport. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank 70catem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We are lucky that we booked in this hotel,good location,near for everything,all good restaurant around and all activities just nearby,the room was fine,very clean and you will ashame to use their towels and beddings so white and clean,the Best breakfast we had and the important the owner was there and he was a nice guy,thanks Daniel
Tips: Don't hesitate to ask him for anything you wanna know,where to go and where to eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ida Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#17 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.1 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Stella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Stella Hotel

Property: Albergo Stella Hotel
Address: via Francesco Borromini 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Stella Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 100 meters off the central railway station of Lugano, we welcome you to our privately managed hotel called „ALBERGO STELLA“In our centrally located « 3* Garni Hotel », 14 comfortably furnished rooms, as well as a rich breakfast will be awaiting you.All rooms contain air conditioning, shower, WC, hair-dryer, minibar, safe, phone, radio, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi .Surrounded by a Mediterranean garden you may refresh yourself in our swimming pool after an exhausting day or you may comfortably spend your day there.Smoke Free HotelNo domestic animals please.Without elevator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Albergo Stella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing