We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albergo Stella Hotel
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for only one night during my travels in Switzerland. With the recommendations of Rick Steves and TripAdvisor, I decided to go with this hotel. When I got to Lugano, I realized I had to walk up a little hill to get to this hotel. Being tired and frustrated, I got to the hotel and realized no ramp....I had to lug the bag up the stairs. Then I checked in and they did not have an elevator BUT....Daniel, the owner helped me carry the bag up to my room. The room was PERFECT! (And there really wasn't that many stairs...)
The room was clean and the bathroom was also. The room also had a balcony which was pretty big, overlooking the pool area. And not to mention, an AC unit! (I've included some photos)
The breakfast was good. The staff is extremely nice. And things were really clean here. It's in a very quiet area and not a far walk to the station.

I would definitely recommend my friends and others to this hotel. And if ever in Lugano again, this is where I would stay. Thank you Daniel!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Albergo Stella Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 112 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is a very nice and very friendly hotel in Lugano, within a very short walk from the main train station. The hotel is quite small, I think around 15 rooms, and it is family managed. You really get to enjoy the famous Swiss hospitaliy here. The rooms are very nice, clean and well equipped. Breakfast was really nice with good swiss cheese. The owner, Daniel, go out of his way to be helpful, and he gave me endless useful tips.

Room Tip: If you have plenty of luggage, ask for a room at a lower level.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yossi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel is well located very close to the station. The people in charge are very friendly, they help with everything. In the breakfast they serve everything in a very nice shape and they bring all kinds of coffee. The hotel is very clean. Happy to be in such a place while traveling for work purposes!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bilge_k_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Rosebonomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Habitaciones muy silenciosas
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank juanirubia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambre 25 et 26 avec terrasse et vue sur la piscine
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Misyl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer zum Garten hin wählen!
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andreas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#14 of 45 in Lugano
357 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Hotel Delfino Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
236 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Stella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Stella Hotel

Address: via Francesco Borromini 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range: $145 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Stella Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 100 meters off the central railway station of Lugano, we welcome you to our privately managed hotel called „ALBERGO STELLA“In our centrally located « 3* Garni Hotel », 14 comfortably furnished rooms, as well as a rich breakfast will be awaiting you.All rooms contain air conditioning, shower, WC, hair-dryer, minibar, safe, phone, radio, flat screen TV, and free Wi-Fi .Surrounded by a Mediterranean garden you may refresh yourself in our swimming pool after an exhausting day or you may comfortably spend your day there.Smoke Free HotelNo domestic animals please.Without elevator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albergo Stella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing